We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Candlewood Suites Kenosha

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Candlewood Suites Kenosha to your Saves list
Candlewood Suites Kenosha
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10200 74th Street, Kenosha, WI 53142   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Kenosha
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
86 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“nice location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

The location was great the staff knew where to get a good breakfast at a great price. The flat screen and wireless are great. The common areas need to be cleaned especially the carpet. Also this chain still has that aweful coffee.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    18
    5
    5
    2
See reviews for
20
6
2
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Thomasville, Georgia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2011

This has to be the worst $150 that I ever spent. It's a Motel 6 masquerading as something else.

The positives -

* The red-head gal at the desk, who was actually nice & pleasant

The negatives -

* Terrible bed with terrible bedding. Had an extremely uncomfortable sleep on coarse, pilled, polyester sheets.
* Cooling system. Was extremely loud & uneven. Did not maintain temperature in the room.
* Plumbing. Sinks that are slow to drain. Toilets which sometimes flush, other times don't.
* Employees. Who use the BBQ station for a smoking station, apparently inviting their friends who drink alcohol at all hours of the day, including morning.
* Parking lot. Which is being used to store bikes & trailers. It's also being used for sexual encounters mid-day, broad daylight hours, in the back. Classy.
* Housekeeping. Which appears to be good on the surface, but is truly lacking when you look in dust-filled corners, at dusty mirrors, at hair-laden bathroom surfaces, at what appears to be mold in the bathrooms. Plenty of bugs are on the first floor too. Just yuck.
* Fixtures & Furnishing. Fixtures are tacky, construction-grade 20-buck items from Menard's. Furnishings are a cheap veneer & show excessive wear, chips, tears, nicks. The florescent-type overhead lighting is the heighy of tacky. No, take that back. The vinyl chairs are the height of tacky.

If this is the best place to stay in Kenosha, I feel sorry for those who visit Kenosha. On my next trip, I'll choose the Marriott in Racine or a property in Gurnee or North Chicago for $150.

I gave Holiday Inn & its properties an opportunity to win-back my business after a terrible stay in FLA about 7 years ago. I won't give them another opportunity again. I don't recommend. I won't be back ... to this property or any other Holiday Inn property. Ever. Again.

Room Tip: Try another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burbs of Chicago
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2011

Used this hotel for one night during the Illinois Age Group swimming championships in July 2011. Upon Arrival told there were no more double bed suites so they gave us 2 adjoining king suites which was even better. The suites are nicely appointed and the kitchen area is a bonus. The suites were large and comfortable. Air conditioner was a little loud but it was tolerable. Very little noise heard from others around us. Very close to shopping and restaurants. Front desk staff super friendly and accomodating. Only draw back to making this super family friendly is the lack of a pool.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mold, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2011

We had a king studio which had a fridge, stove top, and microwave. However the room was clearly set up for one person rather than two. Only one bedside table, and one light by one side of the bed. The bed was almost against the wall on the other side making it tricky for the oher person to get in and out. Despite having silverware, glasses, and plates there was no corkscrew which was a bit irksome. The guest laundry is free which is a plus point but out of three washers and four dryers there was only one of each available as apparently the maids were using all of the others. Maid service was weekly not daily too, which is unusual at this price point. But despite all that it was clean and the staff were friendly and efficient, and it was in a relatively quiet area so no road noise. All in all "OK" but there are other similary priced hotels in the area that have a fridge and a microwave and are, in my opinion, better. If you need/want a stovetop though, I guess it's fine.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2011

Needed a "home away from home" during the power outage in northern Illinois. Stephanie at front desk/reservations offered a good rate and flexible options for check-out, depending on how much notice we were able to give. One bedroom suite large and comfortable with full kitchen and neat dining/work table. Everything was sparkling clean. Free washer and dryer--what a help! No restaurant, but 24-hour convenience shop. Only problem we had was that the living room was freezing but the bedroom was stuffy and hot--we couldn't control the temp very well. Front-desk staff during our 2-day stay hard-working, warm and welcoming. Thank you Stephanie for your kindness!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
101 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2011

My spouse and I stopped overnight at the Candlewood Suites in Kenosha while traveling through the Midwest. The room was clean, large, and comfortable. The suites include a full kitchen, which is a very nice addition for longer stays. Being in town for one night made this less handy for us, but I think it's a plus, since it would be easy to prepare meals, warm up leftovers, etc. I thought the rate was a little high, but there's no question that the overall quality is quite good.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2011

I have not one bad word about the hotel and the staff to say. The rooms were very clean and we did not want for anything. Any questions that we asked were answered immediately and with respect. the kitchens were stocked with the basics and the diswasher was an added plus. the hotel was quiet as well and close to malls and restaurants. The free laundry was a very nice suprise. multiple washers and dryers helps espically when you don't want to haul home dirty laundry.

Anytime i go to that area i know where i am staying. 10 of us stayed there and not one has a complaint. we were able to use the patio area with barbecue to have a small get together and the children used a park nearby as well. Having a little store in the lobby was and added plus as well. the items were reasonably priced too.

thank you candlewood for making our trip as success!
Brenda

Room Tip: military discounts, as well as other special rates
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ebush69, Director of Sales at Candlewood Suites Kenosha, responded to this review, June 20, 2011
Thank you for your comments, Brenda! I am so happy you enjoyed your stay here and all of the amenities Candlewood offers. The full kitchens, Candlewood Cupboard, and patio with grills are Candlewood standard at all properties. I am glad we could accomodate your entire family. Please come back and visit!!

Ellie Bush
Operations/Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kenosha
1.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Kenosha
1.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Executive Inn
5.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Harborside Inn & Kenosha Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#3 of 9 in Kenosha
3.5 of 5 stars 85 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express - Pleasant Prairie
Holiday Inn Express - Pleasant P...
#1 of 4 in Pleasant Prairie
4.5 of 5 stars 151 reviews
1.0 mi away
La Quinta Inn Pleasant Prairie Kenosha
La Quinta Inn Pleasant Prairie K...
#3 of 4 in Pleasant Prairie
3.5 of 5 stars 155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites Kenosha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Kenosha

Address: 10200 74th Street, Kenosha, WI 53142
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Kenosha
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Kenosha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Candlewood Suites Kenosha 2*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kenosha, WI Hotel is Ideal for Relocating Families and Corporate Housing Conveniently located halfway between Milwaukee and Chicago, Kenosha is a beautiful city that offers a variety of attractions. If you are planning an extended business trip or your family is relocating to the area, the Candlewood Suites Kenosha is the perfect place to stay. Just three miles from our extended stay hotel in Kenosha is the Kenosha Regional Airport. You will find getting to major business parks such as the Lakeview Corporate Park and Kenosha Business Park easy, as they are both within five miles of the hotel. We are near many major corporate businesses. While staying with us, you can spend a day outdoors hiking the trails in Illinois Beach State Park. Or, spend a day shopping at the Prime Outlet Mall, which is just three miles from our lodgings in Kenosha. Historic downtown Kenosha offers a variety of eclectic shops and restaurants. This beautiful district is just six miles from our extended stay hotel in Kenosha. 'Consider us home' while you stay at our brand new Kenosha, WI hotel and enjoy our top-of-the-line amenities. Each of our suites has a full kitchen with cookware and dishes. Our hotel also includes a 24hr convenience store. You can relax and watch a complimentary DVD from our lending library. Our hotel in Kenosha has all the amenities you need, so you can feel like you are at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Candlewood Suites Kenosha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Kenosha Hotel Kenosha

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Candlewood Suites Kenosha, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.