We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a neat place and so much history” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Helen Jeffris Wood Museum Center

Helen Jeffris Wood Museum Center
426 N. Jackson St., Janesville, WI 53548
(608) 756-4509
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 15 attractions in Janesville
Type: Historic Sites
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: It's true, Abraham Lincoln was once a guest in Rock County's most famous residence, the Linoln-Tallman House. But there is so much more to see than that!Discover how the house was built, why the Tallman family moved to Janesville from New York, their connection to abolitionism and the Underground Railroad and much more!Take a step back into the 19th century on one of our two specialized tours or walk over to the Helen Jeffris Wood Museum Center to see new exhibits about topics in Rock County history!
DeForest, Wisconsin
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“What a neat place and so much history”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

I have lived in the area most of my life and have never toured this "hidden gem" in Janesville, WI.
We had a great time and were amazed at all the history in this place. It is incredible what this place looks like inside. I cou;dn't even begin to try and explain what it looks like because you have to see it to understand just how neat this place is. The tour was very interesting because not only did you learn about the house but, all of the ingenuity for it'e time. This is a place you must see if you are in the area.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    4
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Monroe, WI
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A historical tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We arrived at a time when there were members of the historical society present and in period correct clothing, explaining the history of the building as well as some of the people involved. Mrs. Lincoln was even present!
Taking a tour of this house would be interesting enough, but having the people there acting out their parts, gave a visitor a better feeling of what it was like to live there at the time when Lincoln visited.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middleton, Wisconsin
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“worked there one summer at an ice cream social”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

As a teenager in high school, I volunteered to help at an ice cream social. We got to get up in the attic and wear dresses of the time and as a young teen could fit into the very petite clothes of the times.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janesville, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Step Back in Time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

It was great. I took my two daughters (ages 9 and 7). They loved it. It is a great historical site. You learn a lot and the kids talked about it for days. Great guides. Highly recommended.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brodhead, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
39 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Hey - Abe Lincoln slept here!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2012

The Tallman House is like many historic houses to be found it towns and cities across America. The house is maintained as it would have looked in the 1860s, around the time Lincoln, a family friend of the original owners, stopped to spend the night. The Tallman House hosts a variety of history and related gatherings during its open season.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Helen Jeffris Wood Museum Center also viewed

 

Been to Helen Jeffris Wood Museum Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Helen Jeffris Wood Museum Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Helen Jeffris Wood Museum Center to your Saves list