We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Landmark of a Restaurant! Never Disappointing!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Prime Quarter Steak House

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Prime Quarter Steak House
1900 Humes Rd, Janesville, WI
(608) 752-1881
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 145 Restaurants in Janesville
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Janesville, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“A Landmark of a Restaurant! Never Disappointing!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

We were there last Friday night with reservations. We took 2 couples out to eat with us. They were engaged & we were celebrating our 26th wedding anniversary. Met at the bar for cocktails which were made well. Got seated and decided to grill our steaks first and then proceed to the salad bar & baked potato. The food was great, what he heck, you grill it yourself which is fun around that big warm charcoal pit. Love the grilled garlic bread. We sat down to eat and our waitress Dana was not very attentive. We had to ask for our bill and no mention of an anniversary till we were all standing and putting on our coats, then came the waitresses with a small cake with a candle in it, then they left. Never asked the occasion - nothing. We were also there to celebrate the engagement of both couples joining us & our anniversary. That was disappointing. The décor could use some updating. We've been going here for decades and it's still the same. We'll be back for sure.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    15
    3
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Montana
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Glad we stumbled on this”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

Our first choice place had a 45 minute wait, so drove around looking for something appealing. What a great find. The steaks (ribeye and tenderloin) were definitely choice. We didn't realize it was a "cook-your-own" place, but the staff explained everything, made it sound fun, and it was fun! Good salad bar. What I will do different next time is have salad, and then choose and cook steak. By 8PM, it started to fill up, so glad we got there early. Very competent staff.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stillman Valley
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“We finally slowed down and relaxed!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

We actually took our time, sat down had a drink before dinner, watched the SEC championship with beer brewed in Wisconsin and took in the aroma of grilled steak. The place was decorated festively and my wife said, "This is like a scene from a movie."

The steaks were awesome (you cook em yourself), couple of baked potatoes, garlic bread (you cook), and a salad. We did not count calories and just enjoyed. It was full on Saturday night, a lot of good energy and laughter. We spent almost 2 hours at dinner- which never happens- and for once we didn't feel rushed or pushed.

Dana was our server, she was excellent.- Can't wait to come back.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Dinner with friends”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

We all had the ribeye which was good. We had the chef cook the steaks and they were all done to our liking. Like another reviewer said its nothing special just an average steak house. The beer was warm. Dessert was good. A good night out with friends.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“So-So Steak Joint”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

All-in-all, Prime Quarter is very average. It's not bad, but nothing special. The steaks themselves are very large, but not the highest quality. I seriously question their claim that they are "choice" grade, as they have a lot of connective tissue and not much marbling. The "grill your own" concept is a nice gimmick, but I'd still rather have my steak seasoned and grilled by a professional chef. That said, price-wise, it is quite reasonable. It's about $15 to share a steak, which is enough for most people, or $25 if you want to have one all to yourself. I might go back, but I'm not in a big rush to return either.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Prime Quarter Steak House also viewed

 

Been to Prime Quarter Steak House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Prime Quarter Steak House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.