We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel and excellent service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chalet Stella Alpina - Hotel and Wellness SPA

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Chalet Stella Alpina - Hotel and Wellness SPA to your Saves list
Chalet Stella Alpina - Hotel and Wellness SPA
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Regione del San Gottardo, Ronco, Bedretto 06781, Switzerland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ronco
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great Hotel and excellent service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

Three friends stayed here for two nights in July. We loved the hotel and the view from our room was amazing. When we got out of our car we heard the cow bells and were surrounded by mountains. The staff were very friendly. We really enjoyed the breakfast and felt there was great variety. The cheese fondue was amazing! The home made breakfast cakes were the best. The cost of the 'spa' was quite high (19.50 francs), but we did enjoy sitting in the hot tub and looking out at the mountains. We did find the hotel was not as close to places we were planning to visit as we had thought when looking at it online. We left a day early (sadly) but were given a half price deal for the last night.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    36
    10
    6
    4
See reviews for
11
58
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

Great little find nestled high in the Swiss Alps - food was excellent and the staff wonderful. We were surprised at first when we were asked if we had a reservation - walked in around 7:30 pm the place was packed for dinner -

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tahiti, French Polynesia
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
162 hotel reviews
Reviews in 134 cities Reviews in 134 cities
237 helpful votes 237 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

We already stayed and reviewed Stella Alpina in Trip Advisor back in 2007. We finally got the chance to return and have found very positive upgrades. This time, we got rooms 1 and 7 and we were particularly pleased with room 7, a family duplex suite that can sleep 6 people, with balconies overlooking the beautiful mountains. What is new from our last visit is a wellness zone, which we didn't get the chance to check out, a wonderful outdoor patio to lounge or eat at, and a small local food boutique. Most importantly, as vegetarians, we really enjoyed their extensive vegetarian and vegan menu at the restaurant. About half of their dishes cater to non-meat eaters and the vegan food is delicious. Since only half of our family is vegetarian, it was great that the menu had enough choices to please all of us. We particularly enjoyed the blueberry and porcini mushroom risotto (with vegan cheese), the exquisite seitan with Marsala sauce, and the vegan and organic wine. Even though a la carte prices are not cheap (3-course dinner with one bottle of wine was CHF 75 per person - we were told that the CHF 39 / person cost for half board would have amounted for even more due to supplements for our choices from the menu), the quality and uniqueness of the preparations, as well as the attentive service, fortunately can justify for it. While breakfast was pretty bland in comparison to dinner, we appreciated the soy cappuccino and vegan apple cake. Otherwise the rooms have a fair value, and we love Stella Alpina and its gorgeous surroundings. We will definitely return, hopefully soon, and recommend this Ticinese gem to anyone who loves hiking in the summer, snow shoeing in the winter, or just taking a romantic break.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

We booked a triple room which was described to be bigger. In fact, it was the size of a standard room with a queen and a single bed.
The bathroom needs make over, especially the shower. Breakfast was disappointing, only little choice. The home made cake was good though.
Staff mostly didn't speak English which was horrible when we wanted to check out and tried to explain that we had been charged twice for the drinks.
The "spa" is a total rip-off: 19.50 SFR per person per day for a hot tub and a tiny sauna. They didn't say so when booking the room so this makes it even worse.
I wouldn't stay there again, but I know there is only few other options in that area.

Ristorante Caseificio del Gottardo just a short drive away is a good recommendation for a basic, but cheap dinner.

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stellaalpina2012, Direttore at Chalet Stella Alpina - Hotel and Wellness SPA, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear customer, we are very sorry for not having met your expectations.
Have you reserved a superior triple room. It 'a nice room, but not' as big as a suite. We invite you to see the pictures on our website, "the Superior Triple Room."
Not all the staff knows the English language, but for a hotel of its category and not 'required. We have, however, 'for this reason, translated restaurant menus in all languages​​, and written information in the rooms in the English language.
The price of our small spa and 'written on all websites where you can reserve a room of our hotel, on our website and in the information book in the room. The price and there 'was announced at the time of check-in. If it was too expensive for you were not obliged to enter into this wellness area.
We are sure that you will appreciate the cleanliness of the rooms and the quality 'of the food in our restaurant.
The breakfast 'buffet. Jams, 5 kinds of cereal, eggs, butter, nutella, fresh fruit, salami, cheese, bread, white bread, house-made 2 cakes, honey, milk, orange juice, yogurt classic, soy yogurt with fruit, and more yet. Perhaps the buffet and 'too poor?
We are a team of people who work with such passion and honest '. The restaurant you recommended to readers of tripadvisor is BIG, It also contains 500 people, as a fast food. Our restaurant is pretty, small and famous for the quality' and for the good kitchen.
Thanks anyway for your review and ... goodbye.
Mauro - direttore , chalet stella alpina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vilnius, Lithuania
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014 via mobile

We liked this hotel very much. The place in in the middle of nowhere, but at the same time the comfort you have is amazing. It should be nice for skiing during winter. Hotel has a small, but cosy sauna and jacuzzi. Breakfast is really good. Dinner was very enjoyable with good wine and service. Rooms have tea/coffee amenities.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sun City, Arizona
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

We were driving in the area and stopped for dinner. Everything on the menu was available and superb. We were the only diners and the service was prompt BUT not rushed. The wine list was fine. We were so very satisfied. The atmosphere, ambiance were excellent.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

We just tried the restaurant and not the Hotel, the atmosphere is very nice, the food is ok, we did expect more because everything is home made and it is but the bread for example was not well baked and was half row, pity! In my opinion they overprice the place taking the advantage that it is the ONLY place there, so if you are hungry, it is there or nothing! And I think this is not fair and it is a dangerous game on long term.... We took for example a "Minestrone soup" in a small soup bowl, average taste, not good, not bad, for 13.- CHF, ( Swiss Francs) !!! Definitely to much !

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stellaalpina2012, Manager at Chalet Stella Alpina - Hotel and Wellness SPA, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Google Translation
Siamo veramente spiaciuti di non aver soddisfatto le Vostre aspettative.
La assicuro che Il fatto che in questa stagione invernale siamo l'unico ristorante della zona non significa che ci possiamo permettere ogni liberta'.
Il fatto di non offrire alla nostra clientela prodotti precotti o di produzione industriale certo non puo' farci vendere un minestrone a 5 franchi. La quantita' delle zuppe e' standard pressoche in tutti i ristoranti Svizzeri. Sono reduce da una cena di pochi giorni fa ad Andermatt e la zuppa del giorno (sicuramente non fatta in casa-liofilizzata) mi e' costata chf 14.50. Cosi' come a Zurigo, anche se in qualche osteria costerebbe sicuramente meno.
Il nostro ristorante offre qualita' e piatti interamente prodotti in casa. ...Purtroppo e' quasi impossibile accontentare tutti. Anche se noi ci proviamo! :-))
Il servizio che le abbiamo offerto, (ricordo bene), le assicuro che e' stato dato con il massimo impegno che lei ci richiedeva.
Grazie comunque per la sua recensione che terremo in seria considerazione per il futuro.
Cordiali saluti e arrivederci.
MAURO
Direttore
CHALET STELLA ALPINA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chalet Stella Alpina - Hotel and Wellness SPA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet Stella Alpina - Hotel and Wellness SPA

Address: Regione del San Gottardo, Ronco, Bedretto 06781, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Bedretto > Ronco
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ronco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Chalet Stella Alpina - Hotel and Wellness SPA 2*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel Chalet Stella Alpina is beautifully situated in the heart of the Swiss Alps, 1,500 metres above sea level in the Ticino, south of the St. Gotthard Pass. Our non-smoking restaurant serves the best Italian cuisine and typical mountain specialties. The valley is perfect for hiking, horseback riding and relaxed walks. In winter, excursions with a horse-drawn coach are offered. The area is ideal for every kind of winter sport. Hotel Rooms: 10. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Chalet Stella Alpina - Hotel and Wellness SPA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chalet Stella Alpina - Hotel and Wellness SPA, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.