We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Traditional Northwoods Breakfast” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Rustic Roost

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Rustic Roost
8355 U.S. 2, Iron River, WI 54847
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 11 Restaurants in Iron River
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Iron River, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Traditional Northwoods Breakfast”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

If you like eggs, biscuits and gravy, toast, etc. this is the place to go. I've been here several times for breakfast, once for lunch. They are definitely better at breakfast. The breakfast food is traditional. The service is great. The prices are cheap. The only downside is little in terms of healthy choices/hard to find something that isn't slathered in butter, gravy or syrup. But sometimes, that's the way breakfast should be, right? Very northwoodsy... expect to see plenty of snowmobilers in the winter and ATVers in the spring/summer/fall. Family friendly place with plenty of room to spread out.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    3
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
DULUTH
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great food and service with a smile”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

We have been to the Rustic Roost a number of times for breakfast and for lunch. The food is always delicious. The service was excellent and the waitresses are friendly and most accommodating. My husband even asked them to make him up a huge burger by ginding up a sirloin steak and charging him accordingly. Which they did and he was very pleased with both the burger and the cost. We will absolutely go back again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Lovely place for breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

We stayed at a nearby hotel so this was a great place to have breakfast. And what a breakfast it was. Wonderful and hot with big slices of bacon and perfectly cooked eggs and warm toast. Lots of fresh coffee too. The waitress was very nice.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Cozy setting. Breakfast is great, lunch is mediocre.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We stopped to eat at Rustic Roost in October 2011 while staying at a cabin on nearby Iron Lake. The setting of the restaurant was cozy, the service was good, and the food was average. Their breakfast is definitely better than lunch/dinner. The pancakes were huge and delicious. However, the beef commercial lacked flavor and the instant potatoes on it were too watery.

The restaurant was clean enough.

All in all, we would eat here again, but we'd probably give one or two other places a try first.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rustic Roost also viewed

 

Been to Rustic Roost? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rustic Roost, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.