We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great meal” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Winzer Stube

Winzer Stube
516 2nd St, Ste 100, Hudson, WI 54016-1597
715-381-5092
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 78 Restaurants in Hudson
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: German
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Hudson, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“great meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

I and a friend went on a Wednesday and one area of the menu was 1/2 price. WE had many selections and the food was delicious and it was a very relaxing place to visit and eat.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    27
    6
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portage, Wisconsin
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Day Trip to Hudson”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

Visited relatives in Hudson last week. Looking for a place in their touristy northside and found this German restaurant. Basement enterance, nice beerhall feeling, posters, music and the smell of kraut. Large menu selection but opted for sausage plate which we can't get near home. Knockwurst and thuringer from a local butcher shop (RJ"s) spaetel and red kraut. Very good. A nice meal at a fair price. I"ll be back .

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stillwater, Minnesota
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“It's OK...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Went on a Monday... Restaurant seemed slow and the bar had a couple of guys having a beer. I sat at the bar with a friend, had some apps, nothing special about them except they were half off, but the cheese curds were more batter than cheese. My entrée Pork chops was ok more like ham chops to me but whatever, the sour kraut was nothing special and the German Potato Salad could be good, I think, but this batch may have been hanging around the restaurant a few days to long as it tasted just overly reheated... All in all its an OK place, it seems a little worn out as far as décor, but they do have a nice German Tap Beer Lineup, if your into that, but nothing to brag about...

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Best German food in the Midwest outside of Milwaukee”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Ate here for the first time last evening.

Winzer Stube has great authentic food, large portions, and good service. The veal strips and beef tenderloin were done perfectly – very tender and tasty.

Can’t wait to get back to try the schnitzel and sausages.

It was noisy in the bar area – especially when the accordion player is nearby. For a quieter location, ask for a table in the Ratskeller Room. Large selection of beer and great value priced wine list. Red wines were mostly French and Spanish – all below $30 a bottle.

I grew up in Milwaukee where German and Polish families are predominant. This may be the best German restaurant in the Midwest outside of Milwaukee.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Great Happy Hour offers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Was only here for the daily happy hour, but it was worth the visit and saved having to buy dinner. Many German beers are only $2.50. We had Cordon Bleu sliders, pickled herring, potato cakes, and reuben sliders. And we missed the cheese curds, they sold out. Am told they are really good. Anyway, two beers and all the food for 22 bucks. There are also other things on the happy hour menu. Observed other diners having full dinners and the plates were huge. This is the kind of place that shouldn't be missed by people if you like German food.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Winzer Stube also viewed

 

Been to Winzer Stube? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Winzer Stube, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.