We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not to Shabby” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hudson House Grand Hotel

Save Saved
You added Hudson House Grand Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hudson House Grand Hotel
1616 Crest View Drive, PO Box 146, Hudson, WI 54016   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 8 hotels in Hudson
Auburn, Washington
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Not to Shabby”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

This place looks like it is out of the 70's. The rooms are ample and clean. There is wifi available but found at times it was difficult to connect to. My friends enjoyed the hot tub and pool. Seems the hotel could do a little sounds proofing. The nights they do concerts the customers and get loud in the halls and hear them in your room.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    12
    6
    4
    6
    6
See reviews for
14
6
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Elm Grove, Wisconsin
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

My husband and I stop here on our way home from dropping the kids off at college in Minneapolis every year. Love the wood ceilings in the older wing. Very clean, comfortable and quiet with an up north vacation like feel to it. Lots of nice restaurants close. Like the made to order breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

My son and I recently stayed here for 3 night while he was trying out for hockey.
Very clean and comfortable, especially the big recliner that I wanted to take with me!
Free breakfast, not the pre-made, but made to order!
Staff very friendly, priced right and great location.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson, Wisconsin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

It very nice to know that when it came to the wedding reception for my Daughter, It was all under control with working with Carla and her ideas ahead of time. The food, rooms and reception area was great. We had a number of guest that commented on how they loved the reception area and the food, and they spoke very highly of the service from the wait staff. Thank you Hudson House Grand Hotel for making apart of my Daughters special day a success with or your hospitably expertise and idea's.

I would and will highly recommend the Hudson House Grand Hotel,

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cook
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

The room was very nice and the staff was very pleasant and helpful. The breakfast included with the room was very good with excellent waitress.

This facility needs some soundproofing done yesterday. People in the next room talked all night long and we could hear them. Makes it hard to sleep. Also people actually running in the hallway. When in the hallway, light could be seen around the door to the room, so you know they don't fit tight enough to help with sound.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Osceola
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

We just held our 2nd rug hooking retreat at the Hudson House Grand Hotel. Breakfast was great, the lunches were great with awesome service, and the rooms were pleasant and very clean. It was a pleasure to work with the staff in coordinating this event for 36 women--I did not have a single complaint for the second year in a row. We especially appreciate the wonderful lighting in our work rooms. We also enjoyed the atmosphere and hospitality in the hotel's fireside lounge. We are looking forward to next year's rug school at the end of January 2014 at the Hudson House Grand Hotel.

Room Tip: The large suite room with the jacuzzi is a great space with vaulted ceilings and wonderful privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amery, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

This was our first time dining or attending a show at the St Croix Off Broadway theatre located in the Hudson House Grand Hotel.

We were sooooo pleased! Dinner was excellent! The appetizer was great and large enough for two. We both had prime rib, cooked differently, and they were both cooked perfectly. We had a bottle of wine recommended by our wait staff and she got that perfect too!

The show was funny and exactly what we expected it to be. Then after the show, they had a live band (Function Junction) set up in a banquet room just for us. They handed out the party hats and noise makers and gave us each two full glasses of champagne to toast in the new year.

We stayed till it closed down. We didn't stay overnight as we had doggies to get home to, but I wish we would have. The place is awesome. We will definately be back next year for this event!

Oh, you can find the dinner theatre's schedule at stcroixoffbroadway.com

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hudson House Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hudson House Grand Hotel

Address: 1616 Crest View Drive, PO Box 146, Hudson, WI 54016
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Hudson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 hotels in Hudson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Hudson House Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hudson Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hudson House Grand Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.