We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hudson House Grand Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save Saved
You added Hudson House Grand Hotel to your Saves list
Hudson House Grand Hotel
1616 Crest View Drive, PO Box 146, Hudson, WI 54016   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Hudson
Elm Grove, Wisconsin
1 review
“Nice Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

My husband and I stop here on our way home from dropping the kids off at college in Minneapolis every year. Love the wood ceilings in the older wing. Very clean, comfortable and quiet with an up north vacation like feel to it. Lots of nice restaurants close. Like the made to order breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    7
    5
    6
    6
See reviews for
16
6
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

My son and I recently stayed here for 3 night while he was trying out for hockey.
Very clean and comfortable, especially the big recliner that I wanted to take with me!
Free breakfast, not the pre-made, but made to order!
Staff very friendly, priced right and great location.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson, Wisconsin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

It very nice to know that when it came to the wedding reception for my Daughter, It was all under control with working with Carla and her ideas ahead of time. The food, rooms and reception area was great. We had a number of guest that commented on how they loved the reception area and the food, and they spoke very highly of the service from the wait staff. Thank you Hudson House Grand Hotel for making apart of my Daughters special day a success with or your hospitably expertise and idea's.

I would and will highly recommend the Hudson House Grand Hotel,

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cook
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

The room was very nice and the staff was very pleasant and helpful. The breakfast included with the room was very good with excellent waitress.

This facility needs some soundproofing done yesterday. People in the next room talked all night long and we could hear them. Makes it hard to sleep. Also people actually running in the hallway. When in the hallway, light could be seen around the door to the room, so you know they don't fit tight enough to help with sound.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Osceola
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

We just held our 2nd rug hooking retreat at the Hudson House Grand Hotel. Breakfast was great, the lunches were great with awesome service, and the rooms were pleasant and very clean. It was a pleasure to work with the staff in coordinating this event for 36 women--I did not have a single complaint for the second year in a row. We especially appreciate the wonderful lighting in our work rooms. We also enjoyed the atmosphere and hospitality in the hotel's fireside lounge. We are looking forward to next year's rug school at the end of January 2014 at the Hudson House Grand Hotel.

Room Tip: The large suite room with the jacuzzi is a great space with vaulted ceilings and wonderful privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amery, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

This was our first time dining or attending a show at the St Croix Off Broadway theatre located in the Hudson House Grand Hotel.

We were sooooo pleased! Dinner was excellent! The appetizer was great and large enough for two. We both had prime rib, cooked differently, and they were both cooked perfectly. We had a bottle of wine recommended by our wait staff and she got that perfect too!

The show was funny and exactly what we expected it to be. Then after the show, they had a live band (Function Junction) set up in a banquet room just for us. They handed out the party hats and noise makers and gave us each two full glasses of champagne to toast in the new year.

We stayed till it closed down. We didn't stay overnight as we had doggies to get home to, but I wish we would have. The place is awesome. We will definately be back next year for this event!

Oh, you can find the dinner theatre's schedule at stcroixoffbroadway.com

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Bear Lake, Minnesota, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

I'm a pianist who has spent a few nights at this hotel after gigs in the area. Not wanting to drive home after an exhausting evening, the front desk set me up in a room away from some of the families who were also staying for the evening. The rooms (I was informed that they were recently remodeled the previous year) were clean, accommodating, and set up with a desk table with an ethernet cord so I didn't need to worry about Wi-fi connection issues. The internet was free (something I'm not used to in the twin cities) and there were plenty of outlets for me to charge up my mobile devices and even plug in my keyboard to rehearse a bit.

The front desk greeted me with a smile and asked me about my stay in the morning. After breakfast (eggs, toast and hashbrows with juice and coffee), I told them that I would definitely be staying again.

If this place has had any sort of bad reputation in the past, they've definitely taken steps to vastly improve it.

Room Tip: Second floor rooms have new bathrooms and showers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hudson House Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hudson House Grand Hotel

Address: 1616 Crest View Drive, PO Box 146, Hudson, WI 54016
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Hudson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Hudson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hudson House Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hudson Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hudson House Grand Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.