We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding Reception AAA+” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hudson House Grand Hotel

Save Saved
You added Hudson House Grand Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hudson House Grand Hotel
1616 Crest View Drive, PO Box 146, Hudson, WI 54016   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 8 hotels in Hudson
Hudson, Wisconsin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Wedding Reception AAA+”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

It very nice to know that when it came to the wedding reception for my Daughter, It was all under control with working with Carla and her ideas ahead of time. The food, rooms and reception area was great. We had a number of guest that commented on how they loved the reception area and the food, and they spoke very highly of the service from the wait staff. Thank you Hudson House Grand Hotel for making apart of my Daughters special day a success with or your hospitably expertise and idea's.

I would and will highly recommend the Hudson House Grand Hotel,

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    12
    6
    4
    6
    6
See reviews for
14
6
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
cook
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

The room was very nice and the staff was very pleasant and helpful. The breakfast included with the room was very good with excellent waitress.

This facility needs some soundproofing done yesterday. People in the next room talked all night long and we could hear them. Makes it hard to sleep. Also people actually running in the hallway. When in the hallway, light could be seen around the door to the room, so you know they don't fit tight enough to help with sound.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Osceola
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

We just held our 2nd rug hooking retreat at the Hudson House Grand Hotel. Breakfast was great, the lunches were great with awesome service, and the rooms were pleasant and very clean. It was a pleasure to work with the staff in coordinating this event for 36 women--I did not have a single complaint for the second year in a row. We especially appreciate the wonderful lighting in our work rooms. We also enjoyed the atmosphere and hospitality in the hotel's fireside lounge. We are looking forward to next year's rug school at the end of January 2014 at the Hudson House Grand Hotel.

Room Tip: The large suite room with the jacuzzi is a great space with vaulted ceilings and wonderful privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amery, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

This was our first time dining or attending a show at the St Croix Off Broadway theatre located in the Hudson House Grand Hotel.

We were sooooo pleased! Dinner was excellent! The appetizer was great and large enough for two. We both had prime rib, cooked differently, and they were both cooked perfectly. We had a bottle of wine recommended by our wait staff and she got that perfect too!

The show was funny and exactly what we expected it to be. Then after the show, they had a live band (Function Junction) set up in a banquet room just for us. They handed out the party hats and noise makers and gave us each two full glasses of champagne to toast in the new year.

We stayed till it closed down. We didn't stay overnight as we had doggies to get home to, but I wish we would have. The place is awesome. We will definately be back next year for this event!

Oh, you can find the dinner theatre's schedule at stcroixoffbroadway.com

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Bear Lake, Minnesota, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

I'm a pianist who has spent a few nights at this hotel after gigs in the area. Not wanting to drive home after an exhausting evening, the front desk set me up in a room away from some of the families who were also staying for the evening. The rooms (I was informed that they were recently remodeled the previous year) were clean, accommodating, and set up with a desk table with an ethernet cord so I didn't need to worry about Wi-fi connection issues. The internet was free (something I'm not used to in the twin cities) and there were plenty of outlets for me to charge up my mobile devices and even plug in my keyboard to rehearse a bit.

The front desk greeted me with a smile and asked me about my stay in the morning. After breakfast (eggs, toast and hashbrows with juice and coffee), I told them that I would definitely be staying again.

If this place has had any sort of bad reputation in the past, they've definitely taken steps to vastly improve it.

Room Tip: Second floor rooms have new bathrooms and showers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gypsygirl1129
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

We had our wedding reception here on September 29th and Carla and the Hudson House Grand Hotel staff couldn't have done any better!

We were able to get into the room and decorate the day before and that saved me a huge headache and the room turned out perfect! They had all of the tables set and ready for our finishing touches. We were doing our own flower centerpieces from bulk flowers and the staff was very helpful with carts to put the vases on while we were filling them.

The day of the wedding, was amazing and as far as I know there were no problems at all (which is perfect coming from my experience of working wedding banquets for 4 years) I totally trusted Carla and the staff to make the decisions if there was anything that came up and they were awesome!

At the end of the night, they allowed us to leave most of the centerpiece decor in the room rather than having to load it into either our cars or hotel rooms. We just went and picked it all up the next morning.

As far as the rooms go, they were nice and roomy. We didn't hear a single complaint and I know I slept just fine that night :) And many of our guests were pleasantly surprised with how affordable the rooms were.

Overall, I am very happy with our choice and wouldn't do anything differently!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BEMIDJI
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Not sure what others have experienced but my stay was very nice. I thought the room was quite nice. Clean, comfortable bed, everything was in good shape. The only thing I can say could be changed was the comforter and curtains the floral pattern was a bit dated, but that really doesn't affect a stay at all. AC worked well, tv wasn't the newest but worked just fine. Desk staff was very nice. Room was large, king sized bed, fridge, microwave, table and chairs to use as a desk. It also had a nice big comfy chair, didn't check if it relined had my feet on my bed when I used it. Super comfortable pillows. I reviewed another hotel that was very close to this and recommend the Hudson House Grand Hotel highly over the other place. You will have to read my other reviews to know which one though. Very satisfied with this stay. Free breakfast is included at what appears to be a very nice little cafe in the hotel but I wasn't able to try it out. Wish I had the time.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hudson
Free Parking, P...
Show More
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hudson-I-94
Quiet, Free Par...
Show More
0.9 mi away
Comfort Suites Hudson
Free Parking, R...
Show More
0.1 mi away
Royal Inn
Royal Inn
#3 of 8 in Hudson
4.0 of 5 stars 23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pool, Free Brea...
Show More
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#6 of 8 in Hudson
4.0 of 5 stars 35 reviews
Budget, Pool, F...
Show More
0.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn Hudson
Fairfield Inn Hudson
#7 of 8 in Hudson
3.5 of 5 stars 41 reviews
Free Parking, B...
Show More
7.1 mi away
Crossings by GrandStay Inn & Suites Stillwater
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hudson House Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hudson House Grand Hotel

Address: 1616 Crest View Drive, PO Box 146, Hudson, WI 54016
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Hudson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 hotels in Hudson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Hudson House Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hudson Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hudson House Grand Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.