We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Cut Above The Rest In Hudson” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hudson House Grand Hotel

Save Saved
You added Hudson House Grand Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hudson House Grand Hotel
1616 Crest View Drive, PO Box 146, Hudson, WI 54016   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 8 hotels in Hudson
White Bear Lake, Minnesota, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A Cut Above The Rest In Hudson”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

I'm a pianist who has spent a few nights at this hotel after gigs in the area. Not wanting to drive home after an exhausting evening, the front desk set me up in a room away from some of the families who were also staying for the evening. The rooms (I was informed that they were recently remodeled the previous year) were clean, accommodating, and set up with a desk table with an ethernet cord so I didn't need to worry about Wi-fi connection issues. The internet was free (something I'm not used to in the twin cities) and there were plenty of outlets for me to charge up my mobile devices and even plug in my keyboard to rehearse a bit.

The front desk greeted me with a smile and asked me about my stay in the morning. After breakfast (eggs, toast and hashbrows with juice and coffee), I told them that I would definitely be staying again.

If this place has had any sort of bad reputation in the past, they've definitely taken steps to vastly improve it.

Room Tip: Second floor rooms have new bathrooms and showers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    12
    6
    4
    6
    6
See reviews for
14
6
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
gypsygirl1129
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

We had our wedding reception here on September 29th and Carla and the Hudson House Grand Hotel staff couldn't have done any better!

We were able to get into the room and decorate the day before and that saved me a huge headache and the room turned out perfect! They had all of the tables set and ready for our finishing touches. We were doing our own flower centerpieces from bulk flowers and the staff was very helpful with carts to put the vases on while we were filling them.

The day of the wedding, was amazing and as far as I know there were no problems at all (which is perfect coming from my experience of working wedding banquets for 4 years) I totally trusted Carla and the staff to make the decisions if there was anything that came up and they were awesome!

At the end of the night, they allowed us to leave most of the centerpiece decor in the room rather than having to load it into either our cars or hotel rooms. We just went and picked it all up the next morning.

As far as the rooms go, they were nice and roomy. We didn't hear a single complaint and I know I slept just fine that night :) And many of our guests were pleasantly surprised with how affordable the rooms were.

Overall, I am very happy with our choice and wouldn't do anything differently!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BEMIDJI
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Not sure what others have experienced but my stay was very nice. I thought the room was quite nice. Clean, comfortable bed, everything was in good shape. The only thing I can say could be changed was the comforter and curtains the floral pattern was a bit dated, but that really doesn't affect a stay at all. AC worked well, tv wasn't the newest but worked just fine. Desk staff was very nice. Room was large, king sized bed, fridge, microwave, table and chairs to use as a desk. It also had a nice big comfy chair, didn't check if it relined had my feet on my bed when I used it. Super comfortable pillows. I reviewed another hotel that was very close to this and recommend the Hudson House Grand Hotel highly over the other place. You will have to read my other reviews to know which one though. Very satisfied with this stay. Free breakfast is included at what appears to be a very nice little cafe in the hotel but I wasn't able to try it out. Wish I had the time.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blaine, Minnesota, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

I'm a musician who has stayed a few nights when I have passed through. I'm always recording and told them I would be doing so and didn't want to bother any of the other guests. The hotel was pretty full and they moved me to the other side away from the other guests and I ended up getting a free upragde. They have a full free breakfest menu for all guests and a bar. some of the employee's are musicians as well so there's plenty of friendly converstion to had. Well worth the money.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbury, Minnesota, United States
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

This past weekend, my family and I stayed at the Hudson House for our third time. I am not typically one to post comments on sites like these, but after our previous visit, I truly feel the need to share just how pleased we are with this wonderful find.

The Hudson House is honestly one of my favorite places to stay anywhere, and I travel a great deal staying in hotels all over the country for work. But, this place, is one of the very few places I feel completely comfortable taking my entire family. It is the only full service hotel in the area and this, by itself, far and away separates them from any other hotel in or around the Hudson area.

From the moment you walk in the lobby, the open, expansive, vaulted ceiling with the giant chandelier hung in grand fashion overhead, you know you are in a special place. We are always immediately welcomed by the friendly staff at the desk and instantly treated like we are their best customers. That experience continues throughout the hotel with any and all of the staff we encounter over the course of the weekend.

The hotel has its own full service bar and a cafe which provides you a free, full breakfast. I'm talking hot, good food too - eggs, bacon, hash browns - not this continental donut and muffin thing that you find everywhere else. And, again the breakfast is FREE as a part of your stay!

The pool and hot tub area is clean and well-kept and fully stocked with towels so you don't need to use up the towels in your room. The first time we stayed we were not aware of the full size towels they had available at the pool, so we'd taken the towels from our room. Upon returning to the room, we had then exhausted our supply of towels and wanted to shower before heading out to dinner that night. A quick call to the front desk, and once again a friendly voice assures us that they can send up new towels right away. Less than three minutes later, another friendly face was at our door with 5 new towels and she even took our old ones so that they weren't just sitting around our room.

The rooms are very nice, incredibly clean, well laid out and are fully equipped with microwaves and refrigerators. With three daughters, all of whom seem to be hungry and / or thirsty every 2 hours, the fridge and the microwave are wonderful amenities. We stopped at the grocery store down the street and stocked up on food, drinks and snacks to keep the natives content. And having the ability to pop something in the microwave to tide us over until our next meal, instead of having to run to a gas station twice a day, is a huge blessing.

The Hudson House is also home to a small dinner theater that stages four shows per year. On our last visit, we were fortunate enough to be able to attend the show they had going on at the time. It was called "Righteous!" and was the story of the Righteous Brothers. Talk about amazing. Here we are having a formal dinner and seeing a Broadway caliber show and we never had to leave the hotel. Everything from the dinner itself to the incredible music and performance was spectacular. It was a wonderful treat and a very exciting evening for my entire family.

All things considered, this is truly one of the best places we have ever stayed. If you are looking for an upscale, ultra-modern, contemporary hotel with stainless steel fixtures, random abstract art work on the walls and stuffy, two-dimensional staff . . . then this is not your place. But, if you are looking for a comfortable, "homey," clean, all-encompassing, pleasant place to stay where, honestly, you would never need to leave the hotel if you didn't want to . . . the Hudson House Grand Hotel may just be the perfect place for you. It is truly a Grand experience and an honest-to-goodness diamond in the rough.

Thank you, Hudson House and all of your staff. We will certainly be back again.

Joe K.

Room Tip: We have stayed in three different rooms, each in a different area of the hotel and have been extraor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

That's right. I said bed bugs. We basically threw all of our luggage, clothes and shoes away. What does a traveller have to fear more? How about diarrhea from the "fine cuisine" served there. This place was also dark, dingy, cold and it smelled bad. I called my credit card company and had the charge reversed. It was disgusting!

Room Tip: This facility was very old and poorly maintained
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brittany S, Manager at Hudson House Grand Hotel, responded to this review, June 1, 2012
Kevin – Thank you for taking the time to post a review on your recent stay at the Hudson House Grand Hotel. Do you have additional information, such as the date of your stay and registration name, we cannot find you as a registered guest that stayed at our hotel, are you sure you have the correct hotel? The issues of concern were not brought to our attention during your stay or mentioned when you checked out.

We take these kinds of issues seriously; inspecting our hotel rooms regularly and have not come across the issue you have referred to. My head housekeeper and staff have been trained to look for signs of this particular issue and do inspect as part of their daily cleaning routine.
I apologize for the problems that you encountered. Please respond with the additional information requested. Thank You.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waukesha, Wisconsin
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2011

On December 2, 2011 we attended our aunts 90th birthday party here. The hosts reserved a block of rooms for the event. We were concerned when we could find nothing about this hotel.

The hotel was easily found from the Interstate. The desk clerk was friendly when we checked in.
Instructions to our room were excellent.

When we entered we were surprised to find a fresh, newly remodeled room. The bathroom had quartz tops and quartz shower surrounds! A tall shower head!.

The bedding was fresh and comfortable. With two double beds in the room, there was still room to move around.

The free breakfast was excellent

The room for the party was adequate for the number of guests present.

Would stay again when in the area.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hudson
Free Parking, P...
Show More
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hudson-I-94
Quiet, Free Par...
Show More
0.9 mi away
Comfort Suites Hudson
Free Parking, R...
Show More
0.1 mi away
Royal Inn
Royal Inn
#3 of 8 in Hudson
4.0 of 5 stars 23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pool, Free Brea...
Show More
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#6 of 8 in Hudson
4.0 of 5 stars 35 reviews
Budget, Pool, F...
Show More
0.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn Hudson
Fairfield Inn Hudson
#7 of 8 in Hudson
3.5 of 5 stars 41 reviews
Free Parking, B...
Show More
7.1 mi away
Crossings by GrandStay Inn & Suites Stillwater
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hudson House Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hudson House Grand Hotel

Address: 1616 Crest View Drive, PO Box 146, Hudson, WI 54016
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Hudson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 hotels in Hudson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Hudson House Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hudson Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hudson House Grand Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.