We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FABULOUS!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mama Maria's Italian Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Mama Maria's Italian Restaurant
800 6TH St N, Hudson, WI 54016-7170
(715) 386-7949
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 79 restaurants in Hudson
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Rogers, Minnesota
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“FABULOUS!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

OMG! Where to start? If you love italian, this is the best around. Fresh homemade pasta to die for and their alfredo sauce is the bomb! Whenever I'm in town it is a "MUST GO"! Staff is always pleasant and servers are always on top of things.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

77% Recommend
    33
    23
    7
    8
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Woodbury
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Our favorite lunch spot!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

This has been my husbands and my favorite lunch spot for about 5 years. We try to go at least once a month. Their specials are super and their soups are the best any where. Paula is the best hostess in Wisconsin!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MN
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Happy New Year!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Five of us have made it a tradition to have a 7 PM dinner here on New Year's Eve for many years. Mama Maria's did not disappoint us in 2012. The special menu for holidays is always full of special variety as well as traditional standbys. Our great meals and excellent service promise to keep us coming back.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosemount, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Not Worth The Drive Twin Cities Residents”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

niente di speciale is Italian for nothing special and for those of us in the metro area who include Hudson as a little piece of the metro area, non vale l'unità can be translated to, not Worth the drive. The Gnaw Blog paid a visit to Mama Maria's in North Hudson after several readers asked us to do so. I'm going to be perfectly honest with my readers... It's not that great!

The first thing I noticed was that the place looked identical inside to an Olive Garden, not so original if you ask me. It wasn't a complete duplicate, but too many similarities. As I started to read through the menu, it was apparent that there wasn't much thought put into the menu. There just wasn't a lot of things that popped out at me to make me think, "man do I want to try that!" I did find something that I thought may taste good called, Canneloni Classico - fresh pasta sheets rolled around seasoned pork, spinach, ham, ricotta and mozzarella cheese then baked and topped with our rich tomato meat sauce or our parmesan cream sauce (I mixed the two sauces). To my surprise, it was actually pretty good, but here comes another complaint...

For the money, the portions are far too small and I've been to plenty of Italian restaurants and have never left without leftovers, but for the first time, I did! For some people that's not a big deal, but for me it is, because leaving and feeling unsatisfied and still hungry isn't always a good thing. My wife ordered their Spaghetti Salsicci - spaghetti topped with our rich meat sauce, onions, mushrooms, mild Italian sausage, basil and garlic then baked with mozzarella cheese. I'm sorry, but I've made better sauce myself at home and I'm not even a chef at a restaurant and describing your sauce as a rich tomato meat sauce is not even close! I however would describe it as a, bland and water downed meatless flavored sauce. Thankfully, they put some seasoned pork into the dish, otherwise I would have probably told her to send it back and to please find a bottle of Classico or Trader Joe's Rustico Sauce instead!

I think I'll wait for August and September to roll around to get the all-you-can-eat special at Olive Garden or make a trip to Inonni so I can have one of the, if not the best spaghetti dishes I've had. Maybe make a trip to my Alma mater for their famous sgedd's... That's right, my old stomping grounds made some of the best spaghetti known to man kind and anyone who has had the privilege of eating this stuff knows just how good it really is.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Richmond, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“After many years of wonderful...a bit worrisome..”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

We have been eating at Mama's on a regular basis for the past twenty years, since it was located next to the laundromat! We have never been disappointed with the service, the ambiance, or the the quality of the delicious dishes we've tried there, which makes us return again and again in anticipation of enticing aromas and wonderfully familiar choices. Last week, my husband and I went there to celebrate my birthday. We were looking forward to ordering one of our favorites, the Champagne Chicken. When it arrived, we were surprised at the very small portion sizes. The chicken was delicious, but it looked to be about a 2-3 oz. portion, which quite frankly, was less than we expected. We were a little disappointed at this, and though we experienced the same great service and quality of food, we would appreciate the larger portion sizes we have always experienced at Mama's.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mama Maria's Italian Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Mama Maria's Italian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mama Maria's Italian Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.