We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost all very good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hudson-I-94

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Hudson-I-94 to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Hudson-I-94
1200 Gateway Blvd., P.O. Box 719, Hudson, WI 54016   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Hudson
Iowa
Top Contributor
173 reviews 173 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 97 cities Reviews in 97 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Almost all very good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Just spent two nights at this property while attending meetings in the area. The check-in was easy, had a newspaper saved for me, and an ice cream nitecap. Room was very modern, internet worked fine, good refrig, and TV was DirecTV with channels just like home. Shower was great and a/c worked fine. Bed was comfortable, and breakfast in the morning was above average. I do wish they would turn the public TV's (lobby, breakfast area) to something other than CNN (can't stand biased news). Only problem was found on the second day, a persistent 'itching' on my legs. While I am sure there were no bedbugs, there was something that did trigger this reaction (perhaps the soap, or laundry detergent/softener). I would stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    25
    4
    2
    2
See reviews for
23
23
4
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Appleton, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We had been looking for a place near Minneapolis, but the rates were high near the city. We stayed just across the border in Wisconsin. We will never stay in the city again. This place was under $100.00 with AAA or AARP and we could drive to the far suburbs in less than an hour. Small things make an impression. They offer ice cream bars to guests. Nice touch.

Breakfast was standard HIE fare, but the scrambled eggs, sausage and gravy were just warm. Fortunately a microwave was handy. I like my food piping hot. Minor complaint. The coffee in the breakfast area was fresh and hot. Great! The coffee in the lobby was warm. Minor complaint.

Every employee was very friendly! Our grandkids had a great time in the pool. The water was clean, but not over-chlorinated. The temperature was very comfortable in the pool and the hot tub.

The beds were comfy with three sheets and four pillows on each bed. The room was clean when we got there. Not so much after we checked out! Our two four year old granddaughters left a mess behind. No damage, but messy! I don't usually tip the maid, but this time, she deserved it!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hurley, Wisconsin
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Arrived here later in the evening, really tired, and was grateful for the kindness and efficiency of the young man at the front desk. He provided menus for delivery food (and pointed out that the hotel itself offers free ice cream novelties in the evening - yum!).

The room itself was clean - really clean! No dust collection in the corners, no fingerprints anywhere, clean, fresh smell... The room itself was large (2 double beds), but the bathroom was wonderful and spacious, with an oval vessel sink, plenty of counter space and a walk-in shower.

There is access to many dining places (mostly fast food and casual) and stores from this hotel.

I don't get to this area of the state often, but when I do I will definitely stay here!

Room Tip: Ask for what you would like - I was tired and had lots of stuff to carry in. I voiced this and was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

I give this place 5 stars because for its class of hotel because it was clean, the staff was so kind (my wife thought Dominic was perfect!)

We were out for a night and were so pleased we stayed here. We had a jacuzzi suite, there are lots of places nearby to eat, shop, get a massage, haircut, pedicure, farm supplies or pick up home remodeling project supplies. Seriously, there is everything up here in this part of Hudson. It might be worth staying here to go to Fleet Farm alone, Man's Mall indeed.

Starbucks across the road is crazy busy so I suggest Caribou on the other side of the freeway... just saying.

As for the hotel staff, again, so nice. I asked for a late checkout because he had errands to run and she hooked us up nice. Breakfast was pretty good though there wasn't much for a gluten free diet (Rice Chex or something would be a nice option). The pool was clean and comfortable.

If we have another date night we would stay here for sure.

They DO have the no party policy, so it is quiet!! Obviously a problem if you are a wedding party or something, but pretty nice if you are there to sleep. I warned the ladies checking into the hotel for their friend's 85th birthday but they promised to keep it down.

While there are a ton of chain places to eat around the hotel, do yourself a favor and drive the couple of miles to downtown Hudson, There are some really fantastic places down there and great shopping.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013 via mobile

This property is located close to the expressway and was convenient for my business needs. My room came with a refrigerator, so the supermarket across the street was nice.

I had a minor issue at check-in, which was resolved with a room upgrade on a full night. I was very happy with my service. The room was spotless, with a king bed, couch, and decent desk. The adjustments on my desk chair were a bit off, but I liked the work space. There were an unusually high number of cable channels, with a lightning quick directv menu. The bathroom was large, with a walk in shower only, for those who might miss a bath.

The pool and workout areas seemed to be well appointed and in good shape, but I did not have time to enjoy them.

I will certainly stay my next time in town.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We will most definitely stay here again. Hotel was very clean, our room was very comfortable. very friendly staff, and most important to us it was quite! Unlike other reviews we appreciated the no party sign posted at the front desk. when I stay at hotel I want to relax not listen to your party and music. There is a nice pool and hot tub area, and the complimentary breakfast was a nice mix of hot and cold foods.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WI
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Nothing fancy, but a professional environment. Very helpful & friendly staff, they go the extra mile.
Nice breakfast too. No birthday parties in the pool area too! The pool area is clean & quite. Close to most Hudson Businesses and restaurants.

Room Tip: All are fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hudson-I-94? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hudson-I-94

Address: 1200 Gateway Blvd., P.O. Box 719, Hudson, WI 54016
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Hudson
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Hudson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hudson I-94 Hotel features an exercise room, wheelchair access, jacuzzi and living room suites, as well as connecting rooms. We are a 100% Smoke Free Hotel. Each guest room has 3 phones with 2 lines in each room. A voice mail message service is available as well as a work desk with data-port outlet. All rooms have in-room coffee makers, irons, and hairdryers. We now also provide high-speed wireless Internet access, as well as a business center, fully equipped for all your business needs! Visit Hudson, WI and stay smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Priceline, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hudson-I-94 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hudson-i-94 Hotel Hudson
Holiday Inn Hudson
Hudson Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hudson-I-94, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.