We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty hike to the waterfalls.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Willow River State Park

Willow River State Park
1034 County Road A, Parking for the Willow River Waterfalls is a 1/2 mile past the ranger office, Hudson, WI 54016
(715) 386-5931
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 16 things to do in Hudson
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
Amery
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Pretty hike to the waterfalls.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

It's a short but steep trail to the waterfall which is worth the hike there. The trail is paved down to the river and then a dirt trail to the falls. You can cross a bridge near the falls over the river and hike up the stairs to see a nice view of the river valley. This is a popular trail and there are ususally lots of people doing this hike and wading in the river beneath the falls.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    43
    7
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Osceola, Wisconsin
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“hiking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

I walked across the falls and behind it with my niece and nephew age 7 and 10. I think I had the most fun. slippery but so fun. One of my best summer days

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reedsburg, Wisconsin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Willow River State Park Campground”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

We camped in the 100 loop where the facilties are brand new: new playground, new toilets, new showers. Not much shade. The 300 loop had lots of shade. Nice short hike to a beautiful waterfall. The swimming area was bad: green slimy water. We chose not to swim in it. Nice play ground area at the beach, too. Campground was full on an August weekend, but not too noisy.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reedsburg, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
220 reviews 220 reviews
86 attraction reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Great State park for camping and hiking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

The camp sites at first may seem small as they have lots of foliage around them. I really liked this feature as it gave you a sense of privacy unlike most other campgrounds were it is left wide open. I also was pleased to see how much the park patrol was active and made you feel pretty safe. Even with all the foliage the bugs still were not all that bad. There are 3 camping lots. 100 lot is pretty open and is a location for showers rooms. This worked out great as my wife and I could go into the room together to shower the two year old. Just be careful around the busy times of day as the water can be cold. Lot 200 is a mix between being open yet still has a few trees, this one does not have a shower so you would have to go to lots 100 or 300 to shower. Lot 300 is smack dab in the middle of a forest area. If you want to sleep as close the trees as possible then this is the place for you. It also has a little park area that is rather nice.

The waterfall was really nice and was a rare waterfall were you can swim and wade in and around it. This was a wonderful location though the walk back from the waterfall is a rather steep walk.

If there was one thing that I was disapointed in it was the beach. The water looked murky and the beach itself was a pebble beach not a sand beach. Having a small child with us made this not a whole lot of fun as he likes playing in the sand. Also there were no trash cans anywhere near the beach. I understand that it is posted to take your trash with you. The problem is not everyone follows that so there was a fair amount of garbage laying around. It would seem it would be less work to have garbage cans around the area so people could at least pick up there own trash instead of it lying around. There even was watermelon rinds lying on a bench near the playground that was attracting lots of bugs and ants.

The staff was super friendly and seemed to enjoy being there. I would come back here and would recommend it.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Richmond, Wisconsin
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“I Keep Going Back!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

This park, being located so close to my home, is incredible. The waterfall is the main attraction, but also features a variety of other outdoor activities. Around the bend from the waterfall is a 27 flight wooden staircase walk up to a beautiful view of the river/waterfall. In the other half of Willow River, you can purchase a season pass to experience all the perks that come with it: camping, sand beach, and as many hiking trails as you could ever want.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Willow River State Park also viewed

 

Been to Willow River State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Willow River State Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.