We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Something has changed.....” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Keys Cafe

Keys Cafe
840 Carmichael Road, Hudson, WI
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #48 of 78 Restaurants in Hudson
Cuisines: American
Description: (715) 377-0004
Restaurant details
Description: (715) 377-0004
Hudson, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Something has changed.....”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

We used to enjoy coming here and have almost always had good food. However, something is really wrong with their service - they seem to be more interested in what is good for the server but not the customer.

The last few times we have stopped we have run into problems even getting seated. There's usually several employees standing around talking and when one does come to seat us they have to check their list first. OK, that's not unusual but this last time there was obviously a booth available in the window but we were told that since that server was busy we would have to wait for a booth. It was cleared off and we wouldn't have minded waiting a few minutes, however, looking around the restaurant it was only about 30% full at the time and there appeared to be several servers (standing around and talking). We asked if we could at least sit down, then the person led us to a different booth that was also open.

The previous visit was even worse as the person who was doing the seating was training someone and totally ingnored us for several minutes. When we politely spoke up he said he was training someone and continued to ignore us.

The food was good but not outstanding. We'll choose other places in the future.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    8
    7
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Jupiter, Florida
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Average”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

My salad was old, wilted, and pretty nasty. The soup was oily. The service was anything but good. Waste of money and time. Not going back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson, Wisconsin
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Will never be back”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

While the food and service at other Keys location is outstanding, I will not be coming to the Hudson location ever again. My veggie scrambler arrived with no eggs and instead of an apology and getting the right dish, the manager argued with me that there were eggs in it! I have never been treated so rudely at a restaurant before and I will be spending my money somewhere else!

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hammond, Wisconsin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Used to love to come here, not anymore!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

Stopped here for a late lunch today. Normally they have fantastic service and food but not anymore. Only a couple other people in the restaurant and had to get our server to let her know we were ready to order. The menu stated that all burgers are served well unless otherwise stated, so ordered a burger without letting them know we wanted it cooked well done. It came and was almost raw and had completely soaked the bun wet with blood-how disgusting! We had to go and get the waitress again. She took the whole plate and returned about three minutes later with the same burger recooked and at this point cold fries. Really? No new fries? We had to fetch the waitress again for drinks and then again for our bill. What to hell?
This really was a terrible day but one I will not forget. We do not plan on visiting again.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson, Wisconsin
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The best food ever!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

Our first time eating at Keys cafe , Best meal ever .. I had the Everything Omelet it was AMAZING !!!! it was loaded with veggies and meat the best Omelet i have ever had and you get your moneys worth will forsure be going back .....

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Keys Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Keys Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Keys Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.