We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“love the atmosphere!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Nova Wine Bar and Restaurant

The Nova Wine Bar and Restaurant
236 Coulee Rd, Hudson, WI 54016-2219
715-386-2545
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 78 Restaurants in Hudson
Cuisines: Contemporary
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Stillwater, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“love the atmosphere!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2012

very small space and a bit exspensive.
love how each table is unique and different,

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    19
    8
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Spring Valley, Wisconsin, United States
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Unique cozy restaurant with great wine!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2011

I ate her with 2 of my adult daughters last week for the first time and really liked it. You can order flights of wine (3 different types in a 2.5 oz glass) to try new kinds of wine. They bring them out with the wine name on a card so if you like one (or all) you can take the card next door to their liquor store and buy a bottle (or two!)
The setting reminded me of the cozy pubs in Ireland. The food is good- not your ordinary food- but decent prices. I will come back here again!

  • Visited November 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson, WI
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“A Nice Lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2011

If you're looking for a quiet place to have lunch in Hudson, Nova is a great choice. The atmosphere is somewhat distinctive but not off putting. Think old comfy chairs. The food is remarkable by Hudson standards. I had a greek sandwich that was delicious. Try getting that elsewhere in town.
Nova's popularity is well earned.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twin Cities
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Excellent once again!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2011

This quaint restaurant is situated on a steep hill rising above Hudson , WI downtown district. This was our second visit and I highly recommend dining outside when the weather permits. Have not been disappointed with any of their food, from appetizers to salads to main courses! If you like Malbec wine, they had one from Andeluna vineyards that was especially good and very reasonably priced. If you want to purchase some libations for later, Casanova's liquor store is in the same building and they have a huge selection of craft beers.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbury, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good food, long wait”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2011

My husband and I went to the Nova last night for dinner because we had bought a Groupon for there. We got there and was told that there was a 45 min to an hour wait. So we waited. As we were waiting though a few tables opened up and got cleaned right away, but no one was seated to them. I understand that they are busy, but the hostess was just standing around. She also was just standing around when we first came in and just looked at us. So we weren't quite sure if she actually worked there or not, until we said that we'd like a table for two. Once we were finally seated though the food was amazing. Totally worth the wait. We had the beef tips as an appetizer and it was a perfect amount before we got to sick of it. And for a meal we had the pasta of the day which was a penne pasta with grilled chicken, spinach, and mushrooms in a creamy white sauce. We also shared the soup of the day which was chicken wild rice and that was also very tasty. Their prices are tad extreme, but everything is freshly made which is why the wait is so long. But the food is very good and you get what you pay for. They probably could use the money that they are making to buy new menus seeing as mine was ripped, but it's fine. Overall it was a very nice restaurant with very good food with very high prices and a long wait. It was a nice date night for my husband and I but I think this restaurant will be a one time deal for us.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Nova Wine Bar and Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The Nova Wine Bar and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Nova Wine Bar and Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.