We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, good value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Royal Inn to your Saves list
Royal Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1509 Coulee Road, Hudson, WI 54016   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
TripAdvisor Secret Rate
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Hudson
Forbidden
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Clean, good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

This place looks run down from outside but room appears clean, remodeled. Even bathroom. New fridge. Right on 94 but very quiet and good sleep. Carpet, AC seemed new, large TV. Don't judge book by cover! $70 included tax, on a Tues. Easy access and < 30 min. to MSP. Applebees nearby also better than most.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hudsonroyalinn, Management at Royal Inn, responded to this review, June 28, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your sharing your experience with us on TripAdvisor. Glad you found your room to be clean, quiet, and the carpet to be new. You are absolutely right when you say "Don't judge book by cover!" We are so happy you gave us a try!

Hope to see you in the future,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    12
    8
    0
    2
See reviews for
11
7
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Colman, South Dakota
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

I would stay here again anytime. The room was very clean and uṗ to date, with a comfortable, firm bed, large flat screen TV, good Wi-Fi signal strength. Hotel staff was very friendly and the rates were great. Hotel was easy to find.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hudsonroyalinn, Management at Royal Inn, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us on TripAdvisor. We are glad to see you found your room to be very clean, up to date, and with good Wi-Fi signal strength; those are all very important amenities that can make or break your stay. We are really proud of our staff and how they provide service to our guests like you.

Hope to see you again in the future if you are in the area!

Warm Regards,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamestown, North Dakota
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

My sister and I were traveling together and wanted a quiet, dollar friendly place to stay. We had a very good night sleep, the room was dated but very clean. Check in clerk was very friendly. We would definitely stay here again. It was also close to several restaurants - highly recommend the bagel shop north on Carmicheal.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hudsonroyalinn, Management at Royal Inn, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience through TripAdvisor. We are happy to see you found a quiet, dollar friendly place in Hudson. Also glad to hear that you had a good nights' sleep and a very clean room. Hope you enjoyed your quick night in Hudson and hope to see you again in the future!

Warm Regards,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rice Lake, Wisconsin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

We enjoy this motel. This is not the first time and won't be the last to come here. The rate is reasonable, the folks are friendly & caring. It is a clean, maintained, independently run facility that is easy to get to. We feel that we receive good value here.

Room Tip: Rooms along the backside were not too noisy. You can hear the Hwy when near the entry door, but not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hudsonroyalinn, Management at Royal Inn, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience through TripAdvisor. Thank you for your kind words in regards to our property. It's guest like you who have stayed with us before who make us want to give the service we do. Glad to see you feel that yo receive "good value" with us; that's our goal! Hope to see you in the near future!

Warm Regards,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

We needed an inexpensive place to stay that was clean. This motel fit the bill. The exterior is older and needs some work, but the room was nice and clean. We were even given an upgraded room and I still don't know why. A simple place, but it fit our budget. Friendly employee at the front desk. He even called us to see what we thought of the room.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hudsonroyalinn, Management at Royal Inn, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback about your stay through TripAdvisor. We are proud to be a inexpensive place in the area who still offers a clean room with Free Wi-Fi.

We agree, our hotel is older and does need work, but just like our teachers used to tell us, "Don't judge a book by its cover."

Glad to see you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you in the future.

Warm Regards,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danbury, Wisconsin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

we must travel to hudson often and always choose royal inn because its excellent service the friendliest staff and meticulously clean rooms. we have stayed at the big chain motels in town for alot higher rates but royal inn has them beat on sevice and thier manner of making guests feel very welcome

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hudsonroyalinn, Management at Royal Inn, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Dear Guest,

Wow! Thank you for sharing your comments about your stay on TripAdvisor. Glad to hear the staff was friendly and the room was "meticulously clean".

As a 1-star underdog motel in Hudson, it's hard for guests like you to give us a try when there are many beautiful hotels in Hudson and we are so glad you decided to give us a try! It seems like it was worth the try!

Thank you again for your comments and hope to see you in the future!
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reedsburg, Wisconsin
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

This was a nice hotel. Like the other comments, when we pulled up, I wondered what I would find because it looked older, but certainly not run down. We were pleasantly surprised. Rooms are are somewhat outdated but have a nice coat of paint, were super clean and the staff is nice. At check in the person waiting on me asked what we were in town for and gave us information about the event we were there to see along with other helpful tips and clues. We were a little worried about the heater, but it had no problem keeping up with the negative temperatures outside. It was easy on/off the interstate and close to many attractions, shopping and restaurants. Downtown Hudson is just down the road making this a perfect spot if you plan to visit downtown. I also liked the fact that we could park right outside our door and didn’t have to carry our gear very far. The room is small, but really all we needed and the refrigerator and microwave were a nice addition as well. We couldn't beat the price! I would defiantly stay at this hotel again and would recommend to family and friends.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hudsonroyalinn, Management at Royal Inn, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. Like we say, "Don't judge the Royal Inn just by its exterior" and a similar quote "Don't judge a book by its cover" is definitely true in all aspects of life. Glad to see my staff was helpful in providing information for your weekend.

Guests wanting more room should opt-in for our deluxe room, featuring 1 King or 2 Queen beds and are more spacious than our standard rooms. All rooms do come with microwave and fridge so everyone can enjoy the convenience without paying extra, no matter what room they stay in at the Royal Inn unlike other hotel rooms in the area.

Hope to see you again next year!
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Royal Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Inn

Address: 1509 Coulee Road, Hudson, WI 54016
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Hudson
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Hudson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Royal Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Inn Hudson WI Hotel features a 2-story, exterior design hotel offering 30 guest rooms which all have standard amenities such as Sealy Posturepedic Series Beds, Satellite TV with premium channels ,Microwave/Fridge, FREE Wi-Fi & Local Calls, Print/Fax/Copy Services, and FREE Local Calls. In addition to standard amenities mentioned above, some of our rooms also feature Amana High-Efficiency Digital AC/Heating Unit, Hairdryers Bathtub/Shower, and Curved Shower Curtain Rods. With just 20 minutes from Minneapolis/St. Paul area, Hudson WI has many attractions to offer including Willow River State Park, variety of fast-food and sit-down restaurants, and the beautiful historic downtown near the St. Croix Marina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and T4B so you can book your Royal Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.