We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was just Okay...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Royal Inn to your Saves list
Royal Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1509 Coulee Road, Hudson, WI 54016   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
TripAdvisor Secret Rate
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Hudson
Kenosha, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“It was just Okay...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

If you are looking for a bed extremely close to the freeway and want to save a dollar. This hotel is fine. We found the room clean, the bed comfortable and the staff friendly. Wi-fi worked well and the room had a nice Refridgerator and microwave. The couple complaints my wife and I had was the water pressure in the shower was real bad, and the room had no coffee pot supplied for a hot cup in the morning. So you have to walk over to the hotel office to get one. However, coffee is always on and free of charge. Also there was no continental breakfast offered although there was some snacks supplied next to the coffee. Would I stay here again? Sure, but would ask for an upstairs room for the noise issues we had.

Room Tip: If freeway noise bothers you, turn on the fan on the air conditioner...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hudsonroyalinn, Management at Royal Inn, responded to this review, May 16, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience online with TripAdvisor. It’s great to hear that your room was clean and the Sealy Posturepedic beds were comfortable, as guest satisfaction is one of our goals. It’s also great to hear that the staff was friendly and the Wi-Fi worked well. We hope you also took advantage of the free micro/fridge we have in all rooms.

However, it seems that we were not performing to our usual standards for the shower experience, and we do regret that we did not meet your expectations. I just want to let you know that we are taking action from your experience you had to ensure guest satisfaction for all guests. Feel free to call the hotel directly or email one of us if you would like to know how we are progressing, or to see if we actually taking action or not.

In regards to coffee, we are glad guests like you take advantage of the free coffee and snacks in the office. In addition, we will take your feedback and comments into consideration to have a coffee pot supplied in our guestrooms in the future.

Again, thank you for your sharing your experience, hope you give us a second chance to serve you better, and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Hudson.

Thanks,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    12
    9
    0
    2
See reviews for
11
7
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012

I didn't think this is a hotel chain so it ended up being better than what I expected. It's right next to I-94 so the traffic noise might be an issue for someone people, but it ended up helping me sleep (like white noise). I had my dinner delivered from "Green Mill" which was excellent! The staff was very happy and helpful. The view outside my window was of a small neighborhood street which was nice as opposed to many other corporate hotel types. Great for someone passing through, but it also seemed to be close to some great places Hudson has to offer as well.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the back if you think the highway noise is too much.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hudsonroyalinn, Management at Royal Inn, responded to this review, May 12, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your comments on Trip Advisor. It’s great to hear that your room was better than what you had expected, which is what we like to hear since we are not a hotel chain! It’s also great to hear my staff was helpful to make your experience enjoyable in Hudson, recommending a few places to eat like Green Mill.

Since we do have easy access to the I-94, the slight traffic noise may an issue for some travelers, but hopefully our Sealy Posturepedic Beds gave you a good night’s sleep for your long trip. Like you said, we try our best to accommodate guests on the back side, so guests have a quieter experience, but we can’t always do that, especially when it’s busy.

We will use your feedback to continue implementing the standard you’ve received with all of our guests. Again, thank you for your comments/feedback and look forward to travelers like you who make our job an enjoyable one.

Warm Regards
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inver Grove Heights, Minnesota
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2011

A group of 20 people were being picked up by a party bus at the park & ride down the street. With 4 of us in our early 30's in the room drinking our first beers of the night waiting to go down the the park & ride the management called and threatened to call the police if we didn't "TAKE THE PARTY ELSEWHERE" There was no noise no drunken wild behavior. They were watching out of a window to see how many people were in the room to justify charging an extra $10 per person. regardless of how many actually stayed in the room (2).

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hudsonroyalinn, Management at Royal Inn, responded to this review, January 29, 2011
Dear Guest,

We welcome all constructive criticism, but our management and staff feel that your review is dishonest and misleading even though honesty is the best policy.

To provide a safe and secure environment, it is not uncommon to see security camera systems at hotels all over the country to watch out for guests and their vehicles.

On behalf of the management, please accept our apology if we “threatened to call the police.”
For the comfort and safety of all hotel guests, the Royal Inn enforces a No Party Policy. We kindly request all hotel guests to be responsible to themselves as well as other guests because our intent is to provide you with not only an enjoyable and comfortable stay, but also a safe one.

The employee saw that there were more people than what you had reserved. The employee gave you a heads up about the extra person charge and you said your friends were not staying. The following morning, the staff saw the unregistered vehicle (which was your friends) still there and during check-out you were told to pay for the extra person charge. You threatened the employee that you will write a bad review if we charged $10 and left without paying.

We have not and will not charge $10 for the extra person charges but your statement “THEY WILL CHARGE IT AFTER YOUR GONE” unfairly suggests we have charged you even though we clearly haven’t. If we have charged you, please fax a copy of the charges and we will be more than happy to refund you the amount, no questions asked. Although customer service is important to us, we feel we have the right to investigate any claim and pursue legal action that is dishonest and misleading before responding.

Thanks,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Nebraska
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2010

The Royal Inn was clean and neat. Not a new place. Our room had the nice room set up where the shower and stool are in a room with a door and the sink is right outside - which is very handy. It's located just off I-94. We were in the back row of rooms and the traffic noise was just noticeable - not bad at all.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hudsonroyalinn, General Manager at Royal Inn, responded to this review, July 9, 2010
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your willingness to review and address your problems online which sometimes eliminates those awkward moments of truth telling face-to-face. It’s great to hear you did find your accommodations clean and neat. In addition, I’m also glad you liked the shower and sink setup in different sections; it does come in handy especially in the morning!

Since we do have easy access to the highway, the slight traffic noise may bother travelers from time to time, but hopefully our Sealy Posturepedic Beds did gave you a good night’s sleep. On my behalf, please accept my apologies for any disturbance the traffic noise may have caused you, if any and using your feedback, I'll try my best to make the Royal Inn a little more quieter in the future.

Again, I appreciate your comments and feedback and would appreciate if you keep us in mind the next time you visit Hudson, WI. We look forward to serving you as well as other guests better in the future!

Thanks,
G.M.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Inn

Address: 1509 Coulee Road, Hudson, WI 54016
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Hudson
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Hudson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Royal Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Inn Hudson WI Hotel features a 2-story, exterior design hotel offering 30 guest rooms which all have standard amenities such as Sealy Posturepedic Series Beds, Satellite TV with premium channels ,Microwave/Fridge, FREE Wi-Fi & Local Calls, Print/Fax/Copy Services, and FREE Local Calls. In addition to standard amenities mentioned above, some of our rooms also feature Amana High-Efficiency Digital AC/Heating Unit, Hairdryers Bathtub/Shower, and Curved Shower Curtain Rods. With just 20 minutes from Minneapolis/St. Paul area, Hudson WI has many attractions to offer including Willow River State Park, variety of fast-food and sit-down restaurants, and the beautiful historic downtown near the St. Croix Marina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, T4B, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Royal Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.