We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm in Winter” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Honeybee Inn Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Horicon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Honeybee Inn Bed & Breakfast
Save
You added Honeybee Inn Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
611 E. Walnut St., Horicon, WI 53032   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Horicon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Maine
1 review
“Warm in Winter”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2007

My husband and I spent my birthday in February at the Honeybee Inn. The inn is absolutely beautiful in every detail. Barb and Fred were the most gracious of hosts and shared with us the history of the well-restored, grand old house. Our room was wonderfully comfortable and we we able to enjoy our own private fireplace fire while it snowed outside. Breakfast the next day was absolutely delicious! Even in winter, this inn is warm and welcoming - my favorite of all the places we stayed on a 4,000 mile trip.

  • Liked — Perfect decor; utterly clean; warm welcome; wonderful food; historic location
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    8
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
5
119
5
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, WI
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2007

Celebrating our 20th wedding anniversary and needing a relaxing weekend, the Honeybee Inn looked like a nice and relaxing place to stay. The Honeybee Inn was more than what we expected. As soon as we walked up to the front door, we felt welcomed. The Inn was imaculate with beautiful decor throughout. Staying in the Country Nector room, we couldn't have asked for a better room. From the comfort of the bed to the fabulous jet tub, it was outstanding. The Honeybee Inn is a must stay.

  • Liked — The little details
  • Disliked — Can't think of one
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Allis
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2006

I mean it when I say that you won't be disappointed. This was our first time staying at a B&B, so we were a bit apprehensive. All of those thoughts completely disappeared almost immediately upon arrival. You enter the Inn with your personal names on a welcoming board, and then greeted by the Inn keeper, Barb, who then gives you a tour of an absolutely lovely home. It is decorated in Victorian flare, but not overdone. The foyer, sitting room, and dining room are simply gorgeous. Then you embark upon the stairs and are overwhelmed with a beautiful stained glass window that reaches completely to the ceiling. The woodwork is awesome. Fred and Barb have thought of everything. A Flavia machine is outside of your room, along with soft drinks, popcorn, bottled water, movies (CD's and Videos), laptop with DSL internet, and even extra toiletries in case you forgot anything from home. And this is all absolutely free! I should also mention that the guest suites are completely separate from the families section of the home, so it's really quiet. They have their own personal quarters on the third floor, and their entrance to the home is completely different from the one for guests. My husband and I stayed in the Queen Bee Victorian suite, and it was so well prepared, we never wanted to leave the room! The shower with multiple shower heads was a favorite, including a rain shower. They even have plenty of games and books to read just in case you want a little diversion.

Words can't express how wonderful the gourmet breakfasts were. And you can tell that Barb prepares them with all of the love she can put into them. We never once left her table wanting for more. In fact, we had a hard time finishing the breakfast - it was so hearty!

You can't go wrong with this Bed & Breakfast. You'll only wish you could stay one more night.

  • Liked — Amenities
  • Tips/Secrets — Stay in Queen Bee Victorian
  • Stayed November 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago suburbs
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2006

Staying here was a treat from beginning to end. Barbara, the owner, warmly greeted us at our arrival, and showed us the features and amenities of the Inn. She was very gracious, and helpful with hints about trails, restaurants, etc. The Inn itself was beautiful – especially memorable was the main staircase, made of lovely polished wood, leading up to a landing with a towering stained glass window overlooking all.

The guest rooms were gathered just above on the second floor, with all kinds of nice (and free!) amenities just outside your room – a great hot beverage machine stocked with a big variety of coffees and teas, a little fridge stocked with water and pop (and perfect for chilling a bottle of bubbly – the other guests won’t mind), a laptop with Internet access (very handy, especially for checking the weather before a hike), and a fully stocked collection of videos and DVDs (and probably more I forgot).

And the room … ! We had the “Country Nectar” room, and it was just awesome – fireplace, deluxe hot tub, bed piled high with feather bedding and down quilt, a bay window seat overlooking the Inn front yard, and many other nice touches - TV / DVD player, CD player, big fluffy his n’ her robes and slippers, bath oil for the Jacuzzi, soaps (you have the option of ordering other special touches as well).

And the Breakfast was just as good as the Bed here. What a treat it is to stroll downstairs at the leisurely hour of your choice, and have Barb come out to serve you one of her special breakfasts – with delicious fare like blueberry brulee’, baked apples, home-made quiche, great stuffed French toast, maple sausages, choice of juices – I could REALLY get used to that!

No kidding, we hated to leave. The best part was the owner herself – you could tell she really cared about her guests, and wanted to do as much as possible to make yours a happy and memorable stay. There’s more – I’ll try to post some pictures – but, really, you need to see it yourself – you’ll be charmed.

  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2006

October 28, 2006: My husband and I loved our stay at this beautiful inn. Our room was so well appointed and truly relaxing. The bed was SO comfortable with its featherbed, down pillows and down comforter. We loved the in-room fireplace and whirlpool too! The complimentary refreshments, movies, and mood music were an unexpected touch! Barb cooked a wonderful breakfast and tended to our every need. If you enjoy B&B's, this one is a must-see!

  • Liked — The beautiful accommodations and friendly innkeepers
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Tips/Secrets — Book the whirlpool and fireplace rooms!
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Milwaukee, WI
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2006

My husband surprised me with a weekend stay here for our 2nd wedding anniversary. I loved the fact that you don't check in at a "front desk". It felt just like being at home.... 'cept this was much more beautiful.

The entire Victorian home was decorated gorgeously with special attention to detail. We stayed in the Queen Bee Victorian suite. The comforter had bumble bees embroidered on it along with the window treatments. I was even impressed by the little bumble bee impression made on the triangle fold of the toilet paper.

Everything was spotless... I've never seen a bathroom more white before. Breakfast was absolutely delicious. The staff was very helpful in choosing area restaurants and attractions. My husband and I plan on making a return trip.

  • Liked — I like the fact that it had a "like at home" feeling.
  • Disliked — None.
  • Tips/Secrets — None.
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Bend, Wisconsin
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2006

My husband surprised me with an evening at the elegant
Honeybee Inn Bed and Breakfast. Fred and Barb have established a truly beautiful inn. It is a classic victorian home filled with character, turn-of-the-century style furnishings, and gracious hospitality. Their attention to guest comfort is incredible. They have gone the extra mile to provide their guests with those little details and make for a truly memorable lodging experience!

Wait until breakfast!!! WOW! Barb is an incredible cook! We enjoyed the most wonderful breakfast : fresh pineapple chunks with maple cream sauce, fluffy pepper jack cheese strata with thick sliced bacon on the side, a freshly baked raspberry muffin and fresh squeezed orange juice. I can't remember the last time we had such a delightful breakfast.

We recommend this bed and breakfast wholeheartedly!

Stayed October 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Honeybee Inn Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Honeybee Inn Bed & Breakfast

Address: 611 E. Walnut St., Horicon, WI 53032
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Horicon
Amenities:
Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Horicon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Honeybee Inn is a Queen Anne/Craftsmen style home built in 1902, with 5000 sq. ft. Four individually decorated guest rooms have gorgeous fireplaces, whirlpools, feather beds and shower spas. Delectable, gourmet multi-course breakfasts, are served every morning. Honeybee Inn is located a few blocks from the Horicon Marsh National Wildlife Refuge, the largest freshwater cattail marsh in the US. People come from all over the country to birdwatch, canoe, bike and hike in this natural wonderland. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Honeybee Hotel Horicon
Honeybee Inn Bed And Breakfast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Honeybee Inn Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.