We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular old world in Hayward” 5 of 5 stars
Review of McCormick House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hayward
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
McCormick House
Save
You added McCormick House to your Saves list
10634 Kansas Avenue, Hayward, WI 54834   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 9 Hayward B&B and Inns
England
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Spectacular old world in Hayward”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

All the other reviews are correct and the photos on the website say it all. The gardens are gorgeous, with a pond and fountain and outdoor seating. The house has been restored and decorated beautifully with Asian antiques and befitting of an earlier age. Rooms are clean, beds wonderfully large and comfortable. Bathrooms equally nice. I cannot imagine there is a better place to stay in northern Wisconsin if you are looking for a bit of old world charm. Oh, and the breakfast is a gourmet feast!

Room Tip: The McCormick room was amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
42
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lake Mills, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

We spent a few nights here during July. What makes it so great is that this is obviously a labor of love for the hosts. The attention to detail and immaculate grounds wrap you in a peaceful and relaxing sense , the type that is often evoked in a really good museum. It is a true contrast to find such a European feeling to a north woods destination! Read all the reviews and then book your stay. You will not be disappointed. You can even choose what you want for breakfast and where it will be served.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are great, if you need a sense of space to move around in or have a lot of gear, up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo Grove, Illinois
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

We returned again this summer to the McCormick House for a short vacation. Like last year, we were upgraded to a larger room (this time the Hayward). The Inn is spotless, relaxing, and breakfast was delicious. We enjoyed a glass of wine in the lovely gardens. The artwork, furnishings and ambience make for a lovely, peaceful experience. It's only a couple of blocks from the shops on Main Street, so we left our car and walked to the shops!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

Beautifully manicured lawns are what strike you when you first arrive at this beautiful mansion (they are striped just like in England). We entered via a beautifully appointed porch with a mahogany daybed and chairs with white linen cushions. Inside the place is beautiful, some exquisite antiques, a 250 year old grandfather clock, original European antiques throughout but expertly mixed with some modern furniture and comfortable appointments such as high speed wifi, digital phones (in our room anyway), flat screen hi def TV's and DVD players. Our bed was so plush and comfortable, we had silk bed covers and wonderfully crisp white sheets. I loved the heated marble floors in the bathroom and high end faucets and appointments in the bathroom. We sat in our plush toweling robes eating our made to order breakfast together (go for the Vanilla french toast and side of fresh fruit - delicious). There is a huge clear pond (full of ornamental koi) in the huge formal English garden behind the house and my husband and I sat in the lounger drinking wine watching the sun set. What an experience, we'll definitely be back.

Room Tip: We had the Hayward room, it was large and had three large double windows on 3 sides. It overlooks th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbury, Minnesota
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

Jeff did an awesome job in the decoration of this beautiful house.The dark wood furniture, with the modern touch create a very relax enviroment that you enjoy. The breakfast is excellent, the bedroom was beautiful and the location is perfect to visit Main St with all of the great store and restaurants.We really recomend this place and we are plannig to come back.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edina, Minnesota, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

You will feel like you are in an English garden instead of Wisconsin! The room was very well done & clean. I love how much thought went into our experience, from little things like fresh water to breakfast served to order. You will want to come back! PS...pack a swimsuit for the hot tub :)

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

We just got back from spending two nights at the McCormick House. It was our first experience at a B & B and we loved it! The home is beautifully restored and modernized and the decor is lovely. Jeff prepared delicious breakfasts and was a wonderful host. We highly recommend a stay at the McCormick House.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to McCormick House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about McCormick House

Address: 10634 Kansas Avenue, Hayward, WI 54834
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Hayward
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Hayward
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Mccormick Hotel Hayward

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage McCormick House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.