We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staff made a positive decision that impacted our stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Pines Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Hayward
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Grand Pines Resort
Save
You added Grand Pines Resort to your Saves list
9993 N Grand Pines Lane, Hayward, WI 54843   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Hayward
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Staff made a positive decision that impacted our stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

Our thanks to the check in person, Kim, who went beyond to make a difference in OUR vacation. The unstated check-out time policy is 8:00 AM, which is very early when you are not on the working clock. Understandable, kind-of, for week long house/cabin rentals, not for short term motel rooms. We were there for one night only and were very sour on the early check out for our quick "getaway" to pick up our son from nearby Camp Lake Owen. Upon our return from dinner, Kim had posted a note that she got approval from mgmt for a later 10:00 AM checkout; this 2 hours made all the difference in our short stay, from disappointment, to "we hope to be back again (if we get the later check out in advance)".
We stayed in one of the motel rooms offered for only one night. Great setting to feel like you've really gotten away, even for the night. The all pine motel room was like a mini condo/hotel suite in one room. The jet tub/shower was great, and while not much sink counter space in the bathroom, there is plenty next to the full wet-bar sink in the main room. There is a back door with a nice semi-private deck with a table and chairs. The surrounding grounds are spacious and there is a dock and small beach area to the lake.
After what Kim did, I would definitely go back to Grand Pines and enjoy a few more days there with a longer stay next time. If the mgmt cannot accommodate you while you are on YOUR vacation, there are many other places in the area. This is a place where the staff made the difference for us.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    12
    4
    2
    2
See reviews for
21
13
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Corcoran, Minnesota, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

This was our first time at the Grand Pines resort and had a wonderful time. We shared cabin 29 with by brother and sister in law and their 3 kids and the cabin was more than spacious enough to handle 10 people. The staff is warm and attentive, driving with us to the cabin to get us settled in and then giving us a tour of our surroundings and the amenities. We made a last minute decision to fish, (it was no-license weekend in WI) but didn't have any bait or tackle. Mike outfitted us phenominally with poles and bait giving us lots of tips for catching fish. Despite the fact that there was a pontoon docked for our personal use, the kids (and adults) had more fun fishing off the dock! The cabin was clean and we enjoyed the fire pit outside. The pontoons probably need to be updated, but were otherwise a terrific amenity to either peruse the beautiful lake or to go over to the Original Famous Dave's for a great meal. The staff were more than accomodating with our need for two kayaks and had them ready and waiting. We wouldn't hesitate to return!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edina, Minnesota
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

This place came highly recommended from friends of our (however, they did warn us that there is a major war going on with new and old ownership). We arrived and found our cabin to be beautiful, but not clean. We were excited to use the pontoons, but from the looks of them, they weren't clean and quite frankly, didn't even look safe. We wondered why you would even have them out in their current condition. YUK! It seemed like the staff were probably just filling in, because they really didn't know what they were doing! Very expensive for what you get. We won't be back, and neither will our friends...

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosemount, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

Worked with the owners directly, and they are great people. They're attentive to requests, details of the cabin and especially maintenance. The screened in porch is perfect for eating all your meals, tie a hammock to the tree and enjoy the breeze. Comfortable beds, adequate space for a family and great atmosphere. Must stop at Poor Richards Antiques- the big red barn in Spooner right before you turn into Hayward. Thanks Cabin #21 for great memories!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Wisconsin, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2011

I stayed at the resort in October, the cabin was nice but we started seeing mice and mice droppings. Our daughter ended up with a serious asthma attack. Plus to add to the experience, over two months later we get an email stating that our credit card was never charged. I looked into my statement and was charged three days after our visit. Poor management!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2011

Cabin #6 granted us the great escape from the hustle of the city; total tranquility! The screened in porch allowed us to enjoy the sounds of nature while playing backgammon with friends in the evening. The cabin was everything we imagined and so much more. The view overlooking Round Lake is breathtaking. Our days on the pontoon boat or kayaking on clear Round Lake was enjoyable. Highly recommend this rustic cabin if you’re looking for a place to relax and reconnect with nature.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2011

This was our fourth trip to Grand Pines. We had a great trip! The cabin was wonderfully appointed and very comfortable. Six of us stayed very comfortable There was a full kitchen (no dishwasher) and it was well equipped. We loved the full screen porch - where we enjoyed our meals and the view of the lake. The Grand Pines maintenance staff takes great care of the grounds and cabins. Every morning the fire pits and grills are cleaned out, garbage is collected, and your pontoon boat is wiped down. It is a great plus to get the pontoon with the cabin rental. We spent many days touring beautiful Round Lake. Great fishing on our last day... topped off with ribs at Famous Dave's. Would love to go back again!

Room Tip: Be sure to stay on Big Round (not little Round)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Pines Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Pines Resort

Address: 9993 N Grand Pines Lane, Hayward, WI 54843
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Hayward
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Hayward
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Pines Resort Vacation Rentals are located on beautiful Round Lake in Hayward, Wisconsin. Our accommodations include 20 cabins and ten motel rooms. Reminiscent of the days of the lumberjack! Luxurious cabins uniquely combine nostalgia with a touch of class. Rustic cabins are nestled in the woods and feature cozy interiors with stone fireplaces to take away the evening chill, whirlpool baths to soothe the soul, central air, a full kitchen and a pontoon boat available with some rentals. Grand Pines Resort also includes 10 motel rooms, located on Little Round Lake. They include two queen beds, a small refrigerator and sink, a coffee maker, Flat Screen TV, central air and whirlpool jets in the tub.Grand Pines Resort is an ideal destination to hold a wedding, family reunion, corporate retreat, business seminar, executive conference or convention. Our year-round conference facilities are designed to accommodate groups of various sizes. And the Hayward Lakes resort community offers all kinds of recreational opportunities, dining experiences, and shopping for your whole group to enjoy. Grand Pines Resort has 10 motel rooms, 22 cabins, flexible meeting and banquet space, on-site catering service and onsite restaurant and bar. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Grand Pines Resort Cabins Hotel Hayward

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Pines Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.