We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must do if you have kids that love animals.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wilderness Walk

Wilderness Walk
9503 N St. Rd. 27, Hayward, WI 54843
715.634.2893
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 15 attractions in Hayward
Type: Zoos
Attraction Details
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“A must do if you have kids that love animals.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

We had a great day here with our 4 yo, he loved the nursery with all the baby animals. As he put it, "petting and feeding the animals was super cool“.

I was surprised at the amount of animals that were roaming free. My son's other favorite thing was a fawn that came up to him and started licking his hand. The animals are very friendly and seem to be well cared for.

The grounds are nice and well kept, no excessive bad smells and droppings are quickly cleaned up. Walking through all the different areas made for a nice relaxing day.

Prices, I think, are pretty reasonable for everything including the gift and snack shops. Here in Illinois, we're used to $6 hot dogs, $3 sodas and $20 to park just about anywhere, so this was a pleasant change from our normal.

Nice, clean and reasonable prices. I definitely recommend spending some time here. We spent about 3 hours here and felt like we saw and did everything we wanted. Great time.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    14
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Frankfort, Illinois, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Northwoods Zoo Time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

We took our 4 grandchildren ( two 1-year olds and two 4-year olds). It was adorable to see all the animals walking along with us. One little goat even jumped into a stroller ... that is how tame they are!!! Great photo ops and a great time for adults as well as children. Feeding the goats is fun, panning for gold, viewing many different animals, and walking along with the animals (dangerous animals are adequately caged). Purchase the tickets in larger numbers and receive a greater value if you are coming with a family of more than 10 or plan to go there more than once in the season. A must for the kids... a delight for the adults.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoughton, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great value for a fun day!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Every year we drive past this attraction on our way to Hayward to pick up some groceries and fishing supplies and yesterday we had some extra time, so decided to stop and check it out. We were glad we did! They have baby animals to pet in the nursey and deers, lambs, peacocks, and geese roaming around. The deers are super friendly and come right up to you. They have other animals in fenced in areas with an informative note telling about them. They also have a wild west town with a "fun house" which made my boyfriend and I dizzy. We are 2 adults who had a great time here and we will come back. Well worth the $12.50.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayward, Wisconsin
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great family park”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

This is a great place to take young children. It's set up really nice and run well. There is food, for both you and some of the animals. Go early before it gets hot.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, Minnesota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nice little zoo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

This was a great little zoo with lots of opportunities to interact with the animals. I even got to pet an young deer's antlers - warm and fuzzy!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wilderness Walk also viewed

 

Been to Wilderness Walk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wilderness Walk, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Wilderness Walk to your Saves list