We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent walleye!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ranch

The Ranch
10590 N Ranch Road, Hayward, WI 54843
715-634-2090
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 70 Restaurants in Hayward
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Supper Club
Alexandria, Louisiana
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Excellent walleye!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Always make a stop at The Ranch when in Hayward to eat the walleye. Being from the south, getting good walleye is a treat. They do a very good job. Great beer and full bar. Atmosphere is rustic and down to earth. Servce is always good.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    19
    6
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wisconsin
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Excellent”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

The staff is friendly, the drinks are excellent and the food is delicious. Homemade soups, great homemade cheesecakes. Salads are a bit lackluster but the relish tray is great fun. Definitely worth a stop!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnwood, Illinois
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“This is one of the few very good restaurants in Hayward”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Wish I could rate The Ranch excellent because we love going there. We had a 6:30 reservation at the height of the tourist season, Labor Day weekend, and arrived to a very crowded bar, all waiting to be seated. We finally nabbed the owner/bartender and let her know we were there. We still were not seated until after 7 pm. The drinks were top-notch. Wisconsin Brandy manhattans and an old fashioned. We were brought the relish tray and the fresh veggies, pickled herring, etc were quite good. The salads accompanying our dinners were merely OK, iceberg lettuce and a garnish. There were 5 of us and 2 ordered the walleye scampi and it was quite good, the ribs were good, and the tenderloin steaks were thin, but perfectly done. The blue cheese sauce excellent. Service after we got our salads was too slow. The staff was working very hard, so can excuse some of this. The prices are very good compared with The Fireside which is outrageous. We'll go back definitely either earlier than 6:30 and not on a holiday weekend. However we were celebrating a birthday. The atmosphere is north-woodsy; however it was loud with so many people.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Good WI supper club!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

We had an excellent dinner with outstanding service! So nice to have a place like this to enjoy the supper club experience with perfectly prepared and presented meals with relish trays and home made bread. Our new go to for this type of dining!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
165 reviews 165 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Great Steakhouse”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

This is a rustic place. It reminds me of many places in LA, like the Rainbow Grill, that all are welcome and a dress code is flexible. The food is great. The service is good. The drinks are strong.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Ranch also viewed

 

Been to The Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ranch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.