We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What might have been!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Club 77

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Club 77
12695 W State Road 77, Hayward, WI 54843
(715) 462-3712
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #42 of 68 Restaurants in Hayward
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
minneapolis
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“What might have been!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Club 77 used to be one of the "go to" places in the Wisconsin Northwoods. When we first bought our cabin almost 7 years ago some friends encouraged us to go there. We were disappointed. I decided to give it another chance last night by myself -- to see if things had changed.

Sadly, not at all. While the young woman who was my server was very attentive and friendly, the food was truly below average.

I ordered a caeser salad that was a glop of wet romaine lettuce with an overpowering anchovy dressing. While there was a TON of romaine on the plate, the food came out literally dripping from having been (I hope!) washed and the taste was both heavy and bland.

I ordered a 12 ounce horseradish encrusted ribeye. It was a ribeye. It was horseradish encrusted. And it was bland.

Given the pricing one would have hoped a higher degree of satisfaction with the food.

I hope they figure it out soon because I can't imagine that the place is much longer for staying in business as I was literally the only one in the dining room at 7:30 p.m. last night.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    9
    1
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Frankfort, Illinois
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Breakfast”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

I wasn't impressed by the food that was served to me. My wife liked what she got but found my breakfast less than okay.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Good Food and Cocktails!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We have dined at Club 77 several times. Overall, it is a very good restaurant. The bar area is great for cocktails. Our servers were always friendly and attentive. The food is very good, too. It's worth a visit!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Nebagamon, Wisconsin, United States
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Was once a favorite, now is absolutely terrible”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

This was once a favorite of ours for a nice supper-club experience. However our most recent visit showed that it has lost just about everything it had going for it. The problems started on arrival and went on through the bill. We arrived 10 minutes early for our reservation and they said they couldn't seat us even though the restaurant was completely empty(?!). We talked them in to it, but in hindsight, it would have been better if we walked out then and there.
There were only 1-3 other tables occupied when were there but yet service was spotty, at best. But this can all be forgiven if the food is good, and it was not. First of all you will notice that they now charge 'ala-carte' type pricing so if you want the traditional fondue or relish tray that will cost extra. Steaks where all in $20-$30 range. Again, not unreasonable if they are good, but again they were not. My prime rib was cold and I would suspect it was warmed over from a previous night. My wife's fillet was raw in the middle and when she sent it back it came still raw in the middle. My side was INSTANT potatoes -- INSTANT!!!! Both of our soups lacked flavor. There wasn't a single part of the meal we could say we enjoyed.
And then finally the bill. We were two families that arrived seperately but they never bothered to ask about splitting the bill and threw a bit of attitude when we asked to do this. I did tip, but only a little a little, and probably still more than they deserved.
There are many choices in the Hayward area. Don't waste your time and money at this one.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Crosse, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Club 77---Fablous Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Go there if you're hungry for great food,generous drinks, wonderful service. Don't forget to order the cheese fondue!!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Club 77 also viewed

 

Been to Club 77? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Club 77, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.