We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable and relaxing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ross' Teal Lake Lodge & Teal Wing Golf Club

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hayward
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ross' Teal Lake Lodge & Teal Wing Golf Club
Save
You added Ross' Teal Lake Lodge & Teal Wing Golf Club to your Saves list
12425 N Ross Rd, Hayward, WI 54843   |  
Hotel amenities
Roselle, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Enjoyable and relaxing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2011

I stayed at Ross Teal Lake lodge and found it very relaxing. Fishing package was very reasonable. The food, outstanding. I constantly talk about the morning table spread and the 'classic' french toast. I recommend this to anyone looking for a great quiet get away.

The kitchen staff were great too.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    5
    0
    1
    5
See reviews for
8
9
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glidden, Wisconsin
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2010

My husband and I have brought many different friends and family members to Ross' on many different occasions and this resort never fails to impress. It is a truly northwoods experience where you will never find yourself bored. The Golf course is beautifull and challenging enough for experienced golfers while My self being a novice can also get in a great game. The cabins are rustic in every good sense of the word. The food is amazing, and every meal reminds me of a family holiday meal. My favorite part is the evenings around the campfire sipping wine and roasting marshmallows with fellow guest and staff/ managment. I would reccomend this resort to anyone really looking to get away from it all and enjoy the company of there friends and family.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Saint Paul, Minnesota
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2010

Ross's Teal Lake Lodge is one of a small number of surviving classic north woods resorts. It includes log cabins by the shore; a gorgeous lodge for guest enjoyment dominated by a massive fireplace; a first-rate dining room serving classic breakfasts and outstanding dinners (don't miss the duck, the bluegill, the Sunday chicken); a well-stocked private bar overlooking the water; and various other amenities such as a pool (not really needed because the lake is great for swimming) and a challenging 18-hope golf course. We loved the combination of semi-luxury and old-fashioned semi-rustic resort living. The Ross family who run the resort are sharp, attentive, and efficient. The lake, the loons, the fishing, the walks, the quiet: all were outstanding. For us it was a perfect place. We'll go back again and again.

It would not be for everyone. It's not cheap. There still are places in northern Wisconsin where you can rent a basic cabin and a boat, be left alone for a week, and spend half the money you'll spend at Ross's. A place like that may not be charming, and the lake may not be so quiet (there's a 10mph speed limit on Teal Lake, and people obey it), but if you search you can still do the north woods for quite a bit less than a week at Ross's will cost. Or if you don't mind spending the money but expect for the price to get full, modern, luxury accommodations, cable television, internet, a business center, perfectly appointed surroundings that feel as if they were built or remodeled yesterday, and a saccharine staff attending to all your whims, well, you'll be better off at the Wisconsin Dells or an all-inclusive in Mexico. For us the appeal of Ross's is the combination of clean but classic (80-year-old) accommodations, solitude, the option of laid-back, intelligent sociability with the Rosses and interesting other guests, good food, good fishing, good golf, sunsets over the lake from the bar, and the loons calling out in the night over the silence. A great place for us, that's all I can say.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2009

We were very disappointed with our stay at this resort. The cabin was old and had a very moldy smell. The manager was unfriendly, and we felt everything was overpriced. We would never return and we would not recommend this resort.

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ross' Teal Lake Lodge & Teal Wing Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ross' Teal Lake Lodge & Teal Wing Golf Club

Address: 12425 N Ross Rd, Hayward, WI 54843
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Hayward
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Hayward
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional lakeside resort, with full facilities: outdoor pool, lake swimming, full service dining room and daily maid service. Pampering you for those special few days for a true vacation! We also welcome your four legged friends! We have an 18-hole golf course on the property. Enjoy a wonderful day of two favorite sports: fishing and golf. All in a superbly natural environment reminiscent of a relaxed by-gone era. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ross' Teal Lake Lodge & Teal Wing Golf Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.