We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great food, service is lackadaisical” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Angry Minnow Brew Pub

Angry Minnow Brew Pub
10440 Florida Ave, Hayward, WI 54843-7112
715-934-3055
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 68 Restaurants in Hayward
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Doing business, Local cuisine, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“great food, service is lackadaisical”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

The menu at the Angry Minnow is creative and well-executed and the beers are very good. My only complaint is that the service can be haphazard. The staff seem to assume they are the only game in town and act accordingly.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    53
    22
    18
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great Place for Lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

The Angry Minnow is a pleasant surprise in Hayward, WI. The menu is creative and the food is delicious. Great beer options as well as cocktails. The staff is friendly and attentive. It's a sure bet!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hatley
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Big city atmosphere in a tiny town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Was in Hayward for business the last couple of days and stopped in for a light dinner with my husband. What a beautiful surprise. Historic building with cool furnishings, friendly staff. Lovely selection of microbrews on tap, unusual and interesting menu - entirely different than anything in the area. We shared the crawdad salad, wish the dressing was on the salad instead of the plate edge. It was delicious with a nice balance of spiciness; the sweet potato appetizer over spinach was crispy and full of flavor; the marinated raw beef tenderloin slider was a great idea, the bun would have been better had it been toasted or warmed, the beef was tasty. Will be back soon.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mpls./St.Paul
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Awesome spot for beer-lovers and non-beer lovers alike!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

My husband enjoys a great beer and I really could care less-I was just hungry! My husband tried two different brews available that night as well as a pulled pork sandwich that was excellent. I had the bacon, lettuce, tomato and avocado sandwich along with the soup of the day which was bean. The sandwich was good but the soup was fabulous! There is no doubt in my mind this soup was homemade. It was full of big chunks of ham and it was thick with beans, carrots and other veggies. To die for on a cold winters night! The atmosphere was very warm and inviting, we had a great evening sitting by the fire, enjoying our meal. We will be back-gotta check out that patio once warmer weather comes around.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayward, Wisconsin, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Laid Back and wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

When people come to Hayward this is where I send them for good food. The kitchen their has daily specials (the tacos are to die for) and they have a menu that is as ecofriendly and local as possible. The beer is fantastic and I would know since I brew beer also. Try the River Pig pale ale and the Rye IPA if you like hops and whatever is seasonal is always good! If you are into the usual american light lager they have a Mnnow light that is for a domestic beer drinkers taste with more of a refined twist. The ambiance and ecor are nice and laid back. Subdued lighting (also eco friendly) and low key music with not TV's to destress a persons afternoon. This is where you take friends and family to relax and enjoy WOnderful food, beer, and conversation!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Angry Minnow Brew Pub also viewed

 

Been to Angry Minnow Brew Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Angry Minnow Brew Pub, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.