We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not impressed” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Cedar Lake Inn

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Cedar Lake Inn
4919 State Road 144, Hartford, WI 53027
+1 262-297-1660
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 35 Restaurants in Hartford
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
St. Joseph, MO
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Not impressed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

My family is on vacation and we decided to go here as it looked like a more-than-casual dining experience. My son had the all-you-can-eat ribs for $16 and he said with each plate (he had 3) the quality continued to go down. I had the salmon and it was VERY small, no dill sauce (as the menu stated) and was burnt on the outside. I would not spend the extra money for the view.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    4
    4
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great view, service is a joke!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Went here for an early mothers day lunch. The restaurant was pretty empty, nice enough, we were seated right away with a really nice view of Cedar Lake. Service was so weird. The waiter had not heard of Zinfandel! He couldn't didn't know specials or soup, and spent way too much time in our conversation.Food was okay. I would say if it was not for the view, there would be no redeeming value to this place.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midwest USA
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Cedar Lake Inn - Could Be Better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We stopped in on a late winter's Friday nite, for a couples dinner.

Staff were very friendly and courteous. Nice setting, overlooking the lake, and there is a three view fireplace in the middle of the dining area, which is very nice.

-Wine. My wife ordered Lambrusco, which was modestly priced, very good, and an ample glass was served. I had the Cabernet Savignon Blanc, also modestly priced, very good, and an ample glass was served.

-Service. Very courteous, very prompt, not in your face too much, not too far away if something was needed.

-Food. Oh well....we had a scallops appetizer, which was a little pricey for 5 small scallops, but it was very good, and to be honest, the appetizer was the highlight of the food served.

I had some fresh perch, 5 small portions/filets, and they were OK, but just OK.

My wife had fish and shrimp. Her fish were deep-fried, we think it was Pollock, but she gave up after the first piece, no flavor, and a little greasy inside She loves shrimp, but these shrimp were crunchy..and some were crunchy all the way through...I tried a couple, and agreed..

-Setting. The setting and view at Cedar Lake Inn is impressive, warm, and very relaxing.

If the kitchen can take its game up a notch, this could be a pretty nice place for a quiet dinner, with an excellent view, and relaxing ambiance. We would come back if this could happen..

Mahalo

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cascade, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

While the wait staff was very nice, we were disappointed in our dinners. The half-rack of ribs was more like a 1/3 rack, and the meat was very dry. The large prime rib was tender and juicy...but again, not a very generous portion. Both of our soups weren't hot enough, and the onion soup was sub-par. I also thought that a restaurant of this caliber and price range - and on a Saturday night - should have cloth napkins and tablecloths vs. the sheet of paper and small paper napkin that we experienced. Can't say that we will make the effort to return any time soon.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Bend, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“Our new fish fry place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

Last night my wife and I stopped at Wegners Cedar Lake Inn for dinner. Our first challenge was eating inside or on the patio. We choose inside at a table overlooking Cedar Lake.

We were seated quickly and greeted by our waitress within a minute. She reviewed the specials and asked if we'd like something to drink. We ordered a cocktail and studied the menu. Not a big menu but the items on the menu sounded good and may be homemade. We both choose the perch fish fry special with potato pancakes.

Although the restaurant was busy with several groups the food arrived in less than 10 minutes. The portions looked small but looked tasty. The first bite of fish confirmed it was hot and tasty. Lightly breaded with flour and cooked to perfection. The potato pancakes were homemade and very good tasting. Perhaps the best I've had in a long time. Even the Cole slaw was well prepared. We finished every bite of food.

Soon the waitress was back with a desert tray. We opted to share a piece of cheese cake with chocolate and Carmel topping along with hot coffee. Both were good.

The price was a bit higher than a usual fish fry but well worth the price. We'll be back may times!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cedar Lake Inn also viewed

 

Been to Cedar Lake Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cedar Lake Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.