We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great disappointment for a couples get away.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Heidel House Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Heidel House Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Heidel House Resort & Spa
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   643 Illinois Avenue, Green Lake, WI 54941   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Green Lake
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A great disappointment for a couples get away.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Having looked for a 4-5 star resort in Wisconsin to spend our Labor Day weekend, we were greatly disappointed in the Heidel House. The rooms are very outdated and dark. We had bugs, spiders and spider webs on our carpet, sliding doors and in the bath. The room smelled very musty and it took over 12 hours to eliminate the smell. We requested our room be made up the first morning at noon and was told "we have a schedule to follow and it will later". It was finally cleaned around 4pm. When purchasing coffee we were told "this isn't Starbucks" when we asked for a double latte and the staff had great difficulty making change from a $20 for a $14.22 coffee bill. Having paid about $1100 for a 3 day stay( and that was with a manager discount after complaining) we don't recommend. The grounds are nice, bar ok and with one exception we found staff very unfriendly. Very much needs an update if it is to be considered an exceptionally nice resort unless you are looking for something from the 70's. the town of Green Lake is nice and had some cute restaurants and shops. Next time we plan to rent a house on this lovely lake.

Room Tip: Suites on lower level very outdated, a/c units run all night and loud.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    84
    60
    25
    12
See reviews for
75
141
7
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lake in the Hills, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

We have stayed @ Heidel House for many, many years and it's become a summer ritual to return there each year. The staff,,,,everyone from front desk to housekeeping.... is ultra friendly and helpful. We generally stay at HH on golf trips but sometimes have taken our boat and enjoyed the best of both worlds. Just returned from a 3-day stay and wish we had planned to stay longer. There is much to do on the property but also fun to visit the town of Green Lake and sample the many other places in town.

Room Tip: The Lakeview rooms are super!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wadsworth, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Stayed here for the first time on a work trip to Ripon, from Ohio. I normally stay in Oshkosh, but we wanted to change things up. The Heidel House is an awesome resort, nestled up in Green Lake, WI. I had a standard room, and it was up to date, clean, with a very comfortable bed. The only thing outdated in my building was the carpet in the hallways. Other than that, the place seems newer.

We dined at the Boathouse downstairs, and we ended up staying there for 3 hours. The pizzas we ordered were outstanding, and the service was excellent. They even lit a fire for us.

We were only here for one night, and we will be back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
union,il
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

We were celebrating anniversary and look for a resort on a lake, so we can take the boat and fish. But I also like to have a pool to relax in, not just a cabin. We were very pleased with the Heidel House. The grounds, the lobby and the smiling, pleasant staff were all very inviting. We were early, so they took our number to call us when the room was ready. We put the boat in and then returned when called, to get our room. We were able to dock the boat at their docks during the day but not overnight, which would have made the weekend perfect. Our room was very nicely decorated, clean and we had a balcony that looked out at the lake. The bed was comfortable, we had a couch, table and chairs and nice flat screen TV. We enjoy having a refrigerator when we travel. We had breakfast in the Sun room , buffet style and everything was tasty, and we had a window table looking out at the lake. All of the staff are very friendly and helpful. Our only complaint would be the parking availability. Sat. there were wedding and parking spots were hard to come by and we had the boat and trailer, people parked in front of our trailer and we needed to get the boat out for the night and getting around the parked cars was very difficult. Designated trailer parking was marked but people still parked there because there is not enough parking near the entrance. Also we would be really happy and return frequently if they allowed us to leave the boat at dock overnight. The pools are clean and warm and we enjoyed both the indoor and the outdoor pools and the hot tubs. We saw people playing yard games, bag boards etc. We didn't go on the tour boat but it looked like fun. We would definitely recommend this resort and we do plan to return. My husband really likes the lake and caught fish.

Room Tip: Lake view and Val Verde have balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lombard, Illinois
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

First off, it was summer in Wisconsin, and we had perfect weather. The grounds are lovely. We almost forgot we were in the upper Midwest. We booked a standard room, which we knew upfront would not have a lake view or a balcony. However, it did have large windows that let in the natural light. Luckily, with the weather we had, we were hardly in the room. However, and I want to make this very clear. If we had been stuck in the room due to heavy rain or any other reason, it would have been just fine. Really. The room was SPOTLESS and well-maintained. The furnishings are not the latest style, but they are well-made items without a scratch on them. The bed linens were luxurious. The towels were okay quality, but certainly clean and white. The carpet was clean, intact and thoroughly vacuumed. The bathroom was VERY clean and in working order. I would've liked a minifridge and a DVD player, but I understand that a standard room is just that. The staff throughout the resort was very friendly and accommodating. Service was always with a smile. If you have decent weather, do book the cruise around the lake. It was wonderful and interesting. The towels at the pool were plentiful. I didn't get to Evensong Spa as that was a Plan B if the weather had not cooperated. The Boathouse restaurant was perfect for a quick meal, and the beer is always ice cold. My 9-year-old had a ball and wants to go back next summer. Both the indoor and outdoor pools were attractive and well-maintained. There are a lot of quiet, semi-private places throughout the resort to sit and/or picnic.

Room Tip: If you get a standard room in the white building and you want to sleep in, close the drapes at night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wauwatosa, Wisconsin
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Heidel House is in a perfect, serene location. We have been visiting for a few years, some things have changed, and some need to be changed. The lady at the front desk was cold and unfriendly. She rarely made eye contact with us, studying her computer intently. I asked her about golfing in the area, of the three, which she would recommend. To our surprise, she couldn't give us an answer, saying rudely, "I have no idea, I am not a golfer." Hello. If you work at a resort that attracts clientele who golf, would you not have a SINGLE recommendation, perhaps from other visitors, for ONE course? She told us we were free to look at the brochure display across the room. There was one brochure. Not much help. That was not the only disappointment.
We visited the gift shop after checking in at the desk. A minute into my browsing, the older woman working rudely asks me if I need help finding something. (I am clearly minding my own business, enjoying my time with my husband, browsing.) I tell her, no, I am just looking. She says to me in an irritated voice, "well... I am closing now and you can come back tomorrow."
We did not go back.
The rooms are very nice, they do need some updated furnishings, carpet, and bathtub tiles need replacing and fresh caulk. The bed was comfortable with fluffy pillows. However, the outside windows, chairs on the deck, and walls need washing. The railings are peeling with rust showing underneath, the awnings are filthy. Who wants to be covered in bug skeletons and spiders? A daily washing with a bucket of soapy water would greatly improve!
The grounds need work. The staff could use some briefing meetings on customer service. This resort could still be the gem it once was.

Room Tip: The lakeside rooms have a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitewater, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

Just stayed at the hotel for a business meeting and found the location to be beautiful. The convention facilities are adequate and the lobby and other facilities are very nice. The hotel rooms need lots of work. The carpet, furniture and wallpaper are all quite outdated. If they put some money into the rooms the place would be great.

Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Heidel House Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heidel House Resort & Spa

Address: 643 Illinois Avenue, Green Lake, WI 54941
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Green Lake
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Green Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Heidel House Resort & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the shores of beautiful Green Lake, Heidel House Resort & Spa offer an oasis of relaxation complimented by impeccable service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Heidel House Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heidel House Hotel Green Lake
Heidel House Resort And Spa
Heidel Resort Green Lake
Heidel Hotel Green Lake
Heidel House Green Lake

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Heidel House Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.