We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Out of this world meal!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Big Tomatoes - CLOSED

Big Tomatoes
1244 Main St, Green Bay, WI 54302-1307
920-432-1036
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean, Vegetarian, Bistro
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Chesapeake, Virginia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Out of this world meal!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

We met RC through our friend and were told at how wonderful the meal and atmosphere is at the restaurant. How true, the meal and service were out of this world. The fact that the chef handles every plate that goes out of the kitchen assures a perfect meal, no matter what you are eating. I have never had such an amazing Hanger steak...it was prepared perfectly. Great job!!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    13
    6
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Shawano
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Slipping...over time.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Big Tomatoes has been our restaurant of choice for special occasions since it opened. The last two visits have been a disappointment. We called for a reservation and were not on the list. The server recalled my husband calling and her excuse was that our reservation was not transferred to the new type of seating list. The server, while nice, was not professional. We ordered 2 iced teas which took forever. The house salads had been in the cooler too long and were not as fresh as I expect. The main disappointment was the steak. All 4 of them were over cooked (2 different cuts). The mashed potatoes were a thin layer of sticky substance. The risotto (with an up charge- was excellent). When we were leaving the staff was by the side of the building smoking. In general the servings are very small, the service is slow and the quality is mediocre. I gave it a second chance because I have enjoyed it in the past but for us it is time to move on. I know there is better food in the Green Bay area. than we are getting here.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“A top 5 choice in GB”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Several visits to this restaurant - nice atmosphere, fantastic cuisine, excellent service. Never a bad meal or experience. Highly recommended!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Wonderful meal and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We hadn't been to Big Tomatoes in a while so decided it was time for a visit. The food and service were so good we wondered why we waited so long! Excellent tempura battered asparagus as an appetizer. My husband had a fish special that he loved. I had pasta with tomatoes, basil and garlic - outstanding! Plus, I love their Bellinis (especially the peach). Ambiance is upscale but comfortable.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appleton, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Delicious Tomatoes!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

We were in Green Bay for other reasons, and we needed some dinner. We made the right choice by going to Big Tomatoes! Everything was amazing. Our server was so nice and helpful. The wine was just what we wanted. The mussel appetizer was great. I had the halibut and scallops, and both were out of this world. We ended our meal with creme brule, and it was fabulous. The only negative aspect was the extremely cold air blowing from the vents under our table by the window, but it was not bad enough to request a new table. We would definitely go back and recommend it to others. Enjoy!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Big Tomatoes also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Big Tomatoes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.