We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Rating for a chain restaurant, that is friendly like a local” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dickey's Barbecue Pit

Dickey's Barbecue Pit
895 Lombardi Ave, Green Bay, WI
920-884-2800
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #94 of 424 Restaurants in Green Bay
Price range: $5 - $15
Description: Dickey's Barbecue Pit prides itself on authenticity, innovation and barbecue sauce, one store at a time. With roots in Dallas, Travis Dickey set out to perfect Texas-style barbecue.In 1941, Travis Dickey opened the first Dickey's Barbecue Pit in Dallas, Texas. Space on the restaurant's sign was rented out to help pay the start-up costs for the restaurant and the menu was limited to beef brisket, pit hams, barbecue beans, potato chips, beer, bottled milk and sodas.
Restaurant details
Description: Dickey's Barbecue Pit prides itself on authenticity, innovation and barbecue sauce, one store at a time. With roots in Dallas, Travis Dickey set out to perfect Texas-style barbecue.In 1941, Travis Dickey opened the first Dickey's Barbecue Pit in Dallas, Texas. Space on the restaurant's sign was rented out to help pay the start-up costs for the restaurant and the menu was limited to beef brisket, pit hams, barbecue beans, potato chips, beer, bottled milk and sodas.
GREEN BAY
Top Contributor
406 reviews 406 reviews
225 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 145 cities Reviews in 145 cities
178 helpful votes 178 helpful votes
“Excellent Rating for a chain restaurant, that is friendly like a local”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

I have actually been to other Dickey's down south and would say this is my favorite. Their pulled pork (especially the Friday plate special with 2 sides and a drink) and smoked turkey are both very good and their other meats are above average - and for a southerner living in Green Bay it certainly keeps me satisfied. Their sides, in particular the fried okra and onion teasers, are well done as well. The counter staff is friendly and helpful and keep the line moving and the tables and overall restaurant clean. Then there is always a little room at the end for free ice cream.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    3
    4
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Green Bay, Wisconsin, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Why did they have to put this close to my house.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

Like it wasn't bad enough the Joe's Texas Barbeque was within walking distance, now this place opens up. Ok, I love Joe's which is right around the corner, but Dickey's is so much more family friendly and has a more complete meal than Joe's. It is a franchise chain but it is locally owned by a couple of guys who actually care about customers employees, and their community, rather than most of the chains around here which are owned by some big "restaurant group" and couldn't give a dang about anything but a fast buck. The daily deals are $7.99 with a drink, Wednesday, Friday, and Saturday probably being the best deal.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wausau
Top Contributor
165 reviews 165 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“I ate the entire menu.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

This is my 54th review. I travel for a living and use trip advisor to find places to eat, things to do , and where to say. I have grown confident in the reviews. BUT, as I am always suspicious I wondered about the first two reviews for this place as perfect. But I can not deny. So here it is. Service was personal and perfect. Started with a greeting when I walked in and culminated with support for my in depth interest with this menu. See pictures, I ate the entire menu. The food was very good and some parts were excellent. But in the end I have to just say very good. I reserve excellent for the local pits that I frequent around the south. The value is excellent for this place, can;t wait until they build one near me. And for atmosphere it was excellent, a TV with something worth watching (unlike the doctor offices) MUSIC that was very comforting, a neat and comfortable dining area. But I have to say that the atmosphere at this location was with an advantage as you could view the World famous Lambeau field from the seating area. Lastly don't forget the free ice cream and pickles. I will return to this location and now be quicker to try this franchise around the country.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darboy, Wisconsin, United States
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great food...mouth-watering experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Stopped for lunch...first time to Dickey's. As soon as I walked in the door, the smells caught my attention. It reminded me of a BBQ place in El Paso. Plenty of options on the menu with a number of sides. I had the pulled pork and the beef brisket. Delicious! A nice assortment of sauces to fix it up the way you want. A return ... for sure!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Authentic Texas style good food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Lunch was fast, sides made to order. Beef brisket as good as the south gets. Free pickle spears in a barrel. Northerners get mad because the sauce is on the side but that's so you can flavor it the way you want it. Very nice option for Green Bay casual food in nice atmosphere.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dickey's Barbecue Pit also viewed

 

Been to Dickey's Barbecue Pit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dickey's Barbecue Pit, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.