We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best ribs in town ” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Joe's Texas BBQ

Joe's Texas BBQ
1800 S. Ashland Ave, Green Bay, WI 54304
+1 920-430-1404
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 394 Restaurants in Green Bay
Cuisines: Barbecue
Restaurant details
Green Bay, Wisconsin, United States
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best ribs in town ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

Very small place, but amazing food.
The staff is very helpful, just ask when ordering.

If you get a chance, you should really try this place.
It is truly hidden treasure.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    7
    0
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Phelps, New York, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Don't Let the Size of the Place Fool You”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

The exterior looks sort of like a cross between a shack and a food truck. It's small but has a charming Western themed interior. The food is absolutely fresh and delicious! The portions are a bit small but the prices are very reasonable. We were a group of four and had the ribs, the pulled pork and the tacos. All very yummy! The pico de gallo was fabulous with the lovely taste of fresh cilantro. A must visit when in the area!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clintonville, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
“Good stuff!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

I had a nice lunch there the other day. The service was good and the place is small, but nice. I ordered a plate with one meat(brisket) and 2 sides. I wasn't asked if I wanted moist or lean nor did I ask, so I got lean. It was pretty good. The lean part of the point is not supposed to be super juicy, so I was satisfied with that as well as the taste. It could have been a little smokier tasting for me, but probably just right for most people. I asked about buying a few ribs to buy and they gave me one. It was a tiny bit dry, but was right on with the taste and needed no sauce at all.

The Boracho beans are always a favorite dish of mine when I can find them. Joe's are pretty good and have fresh ingredients that you can tell made a difference. The potato salad was also very good and appeared to be scratch made with skin-on red potatoes.

The sauces that I tried were very good as well. I'm a native Texan, so I am not in love with the vinegar based sauces used in the southeast. The regular sauce had great taste, but the spicy sauce was what I would call a good Texas style sauce that is a bit sweet and tangy with some kick.

Overall pretty good, Ya'll

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
182 reviews 182 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Great Smoked Meats”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Hard to find but well worth it. Not much space and decor but the food makes up for it. The wonderful aroma greets you in the parking lot and pulls you in. No alcohol is served. Decent serving sizes. Very friendly staff. Can see why it's a "locals" hangout.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sun Prairie, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“The best BBQ I've had outside of Texas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

I stumbled across this place on a whim last year, while in Green Bay for a work conference. It was great then, and great now when I went back for another work conference this year. The rip tips are off the hook, the texas tacos amazing, and the brisket is to die for. The service here is lacking, but it's walk up and they deliver, like Culver's...so not much is needed. The real star here is the food. You can't go wrong with anything here, and I can't wait to go back next year.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Joe's Texas BBQ also viewed

 

Been to Joe's Texas BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Joe's Texas BBQ, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.