We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Polar Express” 4 of 5 stars
Review of National Railroad Museum

National Railroad Museum
2285 S. Broadway, Green Bay, WI
920-437-7623
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 21 attractions in Green Bay
Type: Specialty Museums
Attraction Details
Waunakee, Wisconsin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Polar Express”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

We had a great time. The kids loved the experience. My only negative would be the line for Santa at the end. They either need to move things along quicker or figure out a way for a second Santa. We stood in line for a little over an hour with tired kids and that got to be a quite annoying.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    41
    10
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Racine, WI
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Museum is Good - Polar Express is Lame”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

The train museum has a great collection of rolling stock - most under shelter and easily accessible both instide the trains and out. We went to the Museum specifically for the Polar Express program. It started well - the kids all were dressed in their pj's. A program before the train ride was held in a large auditorium that included train cars and locomotives that could be boarded, decorated Christmas Trees, and souvenir booths. A video of the Polar Express story and hot chocolate for everyone was a lot of fun. Then the train ride itself. We all boarded one of three railroad cars and the train headed for the "North Pole". The trip was three times around the grounds of the museum at a speed of about 15 mph. We saw poorly wood cuts of wolves (that the children thought were coyotes, and polar bears. We were "treated" to the Northern Lights whiich if you blinked you would miss. After going around in circles for about 30 minutes, we pulled into the North Pole station which looked suspiciusly like the departure station, The show ended with a visit with Santa - if you wanted to wait an hour in line.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“if you like trains this is for you”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

ive always loved trains and this was all things trains took grandkids and they had lots of fun too! this is a place for whole family

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Polar express brought us but we will be back!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012 via mobile

Great place to take the kids! Loved the fact that you can hang out on and explore the old passenger trains! Kids had a blast, oh and the Polar express was worth the money, great family experience!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appleton, Wisconsin
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Fun for all!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

We went to the train museum with my children (age 6 and 8) and other members of my family. The kids loved being able to board numerous trains. (Actually we all did!) The trains are both indoor and out. There are plenty of trains indoor, but if you'd like to see them all, bundle up if it's cold outside! You can buy an annual membership for an affordable price and come again for events throughout the year.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed National Railroad Museum also viewed

 

Been to National Railroad Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage National Railroad Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added National Railroad Museum to your Saves list