We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very pedestrian” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Phin

Phin
2066 Central Drive, Green Bay, WI 54311
1.920.857.3696
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #181 of 417 restaurants in Green Bay
Cuisines: Sushi
Restaurant details
De Pere, WI
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“very pedestrian”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Stopped for lunch midweek. Nothing really stood out - either good or bad. I guess I was expecting more flavor from the special maki rolls. Very pedestrian. The nigiri was very good and fresh.

pros: decor
nigiri
service, she was very attentive

cons: flavorless specialty maki rolls, no standout flavor
over-priced

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

54% Recommend
    3
    9
    4
    0
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Great Sushi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

I have only been here for lunch, but we enjoy the selection. Staff is good, very attentive. The Harley Dynamite rolls are phenomenal!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Okemos, Michigan
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“If you go get a spicy roll...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

Ok, got the restaurant history from the sushi chef. Nice but who cares about the owner's issues? It's not part of the eating experience. Mid-week traffic was slow that day. The decor is nice and the atmosphere is very loud for a slow night. Wine bar or regular bar, who knows? But the beer is the way I like it - very cold! Ok to be fair the rookie did his best. The more experienced guy took over his place. I asked him to whip me up something not on the menu with lots of spice - and he did not disappoint! I ate at sushi bar and server ignored me the whole night. He gave me glass of water and didn't refill it until after I paid my bill. Really? Food is average, the service is almost non-existent. Over-priced for food quality and experience. Other choices in this plaza for dining. Will check it out.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, Wisconsin
1 review
“Some of the Best Sushi Ever!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012

I have had lots of sushi in the past. One of things that was good was the trust me roll. I was there with my parents and at first they did not think it looked so good. But then I made them try it. They were very suprised they thought it was awsome. Another sushi roll I had was the big O. It was a great starter. It had lots of raw fish in it. As the last small appetizer I had was the potstickers. The outside was crispy and the inside was full of meat and vegetables. Personally the outside was to crispy. Last but not least I had Green Tea ice-cream for dessert. It was wonderful. One thing I thought could have been better was the portion size of the ice-cream. The portion was huge. You better be hungrey if you want it.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
“I will return!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2011

We ate at Phin Sushi after purchasing a groupon for it. Phin replaced a previous sushi restaurant that was previously at the same location. The interior was updated and made to feel modern and open.

We had a variety of sushi and sashimi. All of it was very good and we will return!

  • Visited November 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Phin also viewed

 

Been to Phin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Phin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.