We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We like the Food and Mario Too !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Caffe' Mario - CLOSED

Caffe' Mario
1212 St, Stop 5, Green Bay, WI 54301-3052
920-400-0000
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Coffee Shop
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Romantic, Special occasions, Doing business
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Caffe' Mario is not under Mario Gallus italian cooking since march 2012.Caffe' Mario is sold to another type of cusine as south America.Sorry to all of the great customers that i can't let you taste roman italian cusine but I will come back in less then a year in Green Bay again, around july 2013Ciao I miss you all. Mario
Green Bay WI
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“We like the Food and Mario Too !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2011

Nice comfortable spot with good food and great wine. Local ingredients with a Roman twist.

  • Visited May 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    5
    1
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
“Was expecting better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2011

Went to Caffe Mario for the first time based on the great reviews found here. We made reservations for a Saturday night. When we arrived, we weren't sure we had found the right place. The outside of the building looks like a warehouse. Once inside, the atmosphere was quaint and low-key, if a little underwhelming. We had wine and the bruschetta del papa appetizer. The app was larger than we expected and tasted good, but a bit bland. For entrees, we had spaghetti and meatballs as well as one of the specials - large beef ravioli. Both were good, tasted homemade, but fairly average. For dessert, they were out of tiramisu. We had the cannoli. It was also just ok. The pastry portion was overcooked and dry, but the filling was good and rich. Prices were not bad, considering having wine, appetizer, two entrees and dessert.

Overall, I was expecting to be blown away and that's just not what happened. Maybe I came in with expectations that were too high? It's hard to find good Italian food so we will likely return, but we won't be running back tomorrow.

  • Visited February 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Caffe' Mario a hidden treasure in Green Bay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2010

Didn't know the place existed for all the years it's been there. But now that we've tried it, it was fabulous. Friendly people, excellent food.. We'll be back as regulars I'm sure! Excellent appetizers, entrees and desserts. Love it!

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good food, friendly service, for not a lot of money.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2010

I had one of the specials of lasagna, which was pretty good but didn't blow me away. My fiance had the grouper and that was absolutely delicious. I ended up eating half of that. We also had the tiramisu, and it was awesome. The wait staff was friendly. The only complaint that I would mention is that when our server took our order she went to the kitchen and found that they were out of it. That was a bummer, but when it came time for dessert the same exact thing happened. That was annoying. Overall, I would recommend the place.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful - Friendly - Best Italian restaurant in the area!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2010

Caffe' Mario is a special treat. Mario and Virginia greet everyone personally - and always make sure you have a delicious meal. This is true Italian food! The soups are sensational - our favorite is the cauliflower and sausage. Every pasta is excellent! If you have never been there - don't miss it. We love it!

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Caffe' Mario also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Caffe' Mario, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.