We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Downtown Green Bay

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Downtown Green Bay to your Saves list
Hotel Downtown Green Bay
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   201 Main Street, Green Bay, WI 54301 (Formerly Clarion Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 40 Hotels in Green Bay
Mauston, Wisconsin, United States
1 review
“Wedding Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

My Daughter and Son In Law had their wedding reception here this past weekend. I cannot say thank you enough for the exceptional time our guests were shown! Where do I start? We had a few special requests at the front desk, each guest I spoke with had nothing but good to say about the front desk staff, helpful with directions, wedding instructions etc.

Then the actual day .... we had appetizers on the patio ... This was so wonderful, it gave guests something to do, mingle, little snack with their beer and wine. People enjoyed being outdoors, seeing the water way and nice picture opportunities! This part of the day went way above and beyond what I had guessed it would be! The patio , tables and chairs were clean, well organized and the cheeze trays, spreads were perfect!

Then the family style meal. BBQ Ribs and Parmesan crusted chicken, garlic mashed potatoes, gravy , stuffing, buns, cranberry sause, veggies. I'm sure I'm missing something here....but you get my idea. It was so impressive, our guests continued to compliment us!

There was enough room for everyone to enjoy the wonderful DJ - it was Don from Elite Music - he was a great host for the rest of the evening. I'm not sure who provided the sound system for the speaches - Don or the Clarion but it was great also!

For all our reservations about families coming from 3+ hours away from G.B. the Clarion could not have treated our guests better-and this is exactly how we wanted it! Kirstin was a complete joy to work with during wedding planning and the couple of bumps that came-up. Her and her entire staff deserve a huge pat on the back! Thank you! Thank you! Thank you!

I would like to encourage anyone who is thinking about wedding planning-please consider the Clarion in Green Bay. I am so pleased my Daughter did!

Barb Weiland, Mauston, Wisconsin

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    27
    30
    14
    21
See reviews for
19
29
7
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

The service was excellent, the hall meet all our expectations, and the rooms were nice and clean. Our family from out of town were also very pleased with the service a well. Can't wait to stay their another night!!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

I stayed here years ago when it was Holiday Inn. Had another go at this place while I was in Green Bay with my wife. Everything was fine. Internet, parking, staff...nothing was problematic. Only stayed one night while driving back to Chicago. If the place got an update since the transition to Clarion, it was slight and barely noticeable

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, PA
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

I stayed one night at this hotel and found the front desk staff to be reasonably pleasant and the rooms to be very clean and reasonably comfortable, though not perfect.

Others have commented about the hotel being dated and in need of renovations...duh...this is a Clarion folks, not a Marriott -- if you're looking for thoroughly renovated rooms, you've come to the wrong brand. Clarion might as well translate to "formerly Holiday Inn" (as is the case with this property) or even "formerly Ramada, and Holiday Inn prior to that."

Without a doubt, the room had many battle scars including wallpaper that had minor damage here and there, wallpaper peeling a little at the seems, carpet serving as base molding that was pulled back in a major way, a discolored bathtub, outdated furniture and an old-school television. If these things didn't exist, the property would likely be flying a flat that's higher up the hotel totem pole than Clarion is. On the plus side though, everything appeared very clean; the beds had a pillow-top mattress with four pillows each, douvets and nice linens that appeared to be new; the WiFi was free and worked well; and the television had a good selection of cable channels.

If you keep your expectations oriented to what is is reasonable to expect from a Clarion, you'll likely be pleased. If you want better, stay at the Hyatt on the other side of the convention center, but be prepared to pay more.

My biggest complaint is the HVAC unit, an exterior one, which was set on high at a temperature in the low 60s and seemed to be working overtime to cool the room on what was a very cool evening to begin with. I suspect that if it were actually hot, it would have been a problem.

There's a restaurant and lounge off the lobby, but things were wrapped up well before midnight even on a Saturday evening. The nearby Hyatt had a bar open until 2 a.m., with pleasant bartender and very reasonably priced drinks.

Room Tip: While noise isn't a big problem, a few room away from elevators will help.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012 via mobile

We found the hotel to be clean, cheerful and a good value. There was entertainment in the lounge. Our meal was reasonably priced and delicious. We enjoyed the riverfront after dinner. The staff was friendly and responsive. Can't beat the price - rooms, drinks, meals. Would recommend to others.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012 via mobile

This hotel lacks basic creature comforts that some would like. Sure, when you first walk in you are greeted warmly at a nice front desk, but take a step around that desk and see the grimy, nearly black carpet that exists in your room as well. I wore my shoes the whole time when walking around the room GROSS! We could not figure out why, but there was a dehumidifier in the hallway, one of those stand alone ones you might stick in your basement. Perhaps they have a mold problem? The TV in the room is from the mid 90's, and I do not exaggerate here. Mildew everywhere in the bathroom. The bed is nice, if you don't mind a softer bed. Everything about this place just tells me that they haven't kept up the housekeeping for a while.

Enter at your own risk.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

This hotel is in desperate need of a renovation. Ended up here via Priceline and it would not have been my first choice as it wasn't really the location I was after. It was good enough for the money though. It was clean and comfortable but make sure your expectations are in check as it's very "old school". Even the TV in the room was a tube/CRT. However the bed was darn comfy as were the pillows. Also, the shower had above-average water pressure.

The pool was on the small side and the hot tub wasn't working. Probably a good thing because it was filthy. I liked how we could see Lambeau Field in the distance out our room's window. We rarely had to wait more than 30 seconds for an elevator but that could be because there were so few guests staying there. Front desk employees were very pleasant.

Room Tip: Keep your expectations low and you'll be fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Downtown Green Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Downtown Green Bay

Address: 201 Main Street, Green Bay, WI 54301 (Formerly Clarion Hotel)
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Green Bay
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 40 Hotels in Green Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Downtown Green Bay 2*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Get together at the pet-friendly riverfront Hotel Downtown Green Bay in Green Bay, Wisconsin, offering easy access to Lambeau Field, home of the Green Bay Packers. Other nearby points of interest include: Austin Straubel International Airport, Green Bay Botanical Garden, Bay Beach Amusement Park, University of Wisconsin-Green Bay, and the Northeastern Wisconsin Zoo. Hotel features include: Free wireless high-speed Internet access, Free airport transportation, Free newspaper, Indoor heated pool and hot tub, Exercise room and sauna, Complimentary "Grab & Go" Breakfast each morning. Guest rooms offer coffee makers, curved shower rods, hair dryers, irons, ironing boards, voice mail and cable television. Select rooms offer upgraded amenities like refrigerators and sofa sleepers. This 100% non-smoking hotel features a business center with high-speed wireless Internet access. The Hotel Downtown Green Bay in Green Bay, WI provides waterfront accommodations, close to all the best this thriving metropolis offers. Whether you are traveling for business or pleasure, this Wisconsin hotel has countless features and a friendly staff that is sure to make your next trip one to remember. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Downtown Green Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Green Bay
Green Bay Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Downtown Green Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.