We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best hotel I've ever stayed at” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Suites at Northshore

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Suites at Northshore to your Saves list
Suites at Northshore
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7275 N Port Washington Road, Glendale, WI 53217 (Formerly Residence Inn Glendale)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Glendale
Randolph, Wisconsin
1 review
“best hotel I've ever stayed at”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014 via mobile

Cathy and the other staff made me feel right at home. Arrived in a bad mood and after an effortless check-in, opened the door to my room 412. The room was extremely clean and inviting
Had a full kitchen with utensils and everything you would need for an extended stay. I was there for only one night but wished I could have stayed longer. I am in the construction industry and always look for flaws in
the design and build of places i staywhere I stay. The caulking around the bathtub looked a little rough but nothing to be really concerned about. Whenever I am working within 50 miles of this hotel I will go out of my way to stay there. The staff were AWESOME and the room made me ZFEEL welcome Thanks Cathy!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leanne B, General Manager at Suites at Northshore, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Dear dugansz,

Thank you for the kind words regarding your stay. We are always happy to hear that we were able to meet the needs of our guests. I will share your experience with the staff as they will be delighted to know what a wonderful stay you had. -Leanne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    25
    23
    7
    9
See reviews for
25
12
4
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Waco, Texas, United States
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

The evening included meal is only on Monday to Wednesday and is average in quality. The morning meal is average compared to other similar hotels. 2 requested wake-up calls were missed. Fortunately, I was awake. The reason for missing my wake-up calls was unknown. The pool and hot tub were clean and warm.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leanne B, Manager at Suites at Northshore, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Dear Mr. Kenneth,

We are always happy to have new and returning Marriott guests stay with us at our property. However, there are many other hotels in the area and perhaps you stayed at a different location as ours offers dinner Monday through Thursday and the pool and jacuzzi are closed for the season being as they are located outside. If you are ever in the area again, I would be happy to accomodate you and your family at the Residence Inn, please just contact us at the hotel directly. Safe travels. - Leanne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

I am currently staying at the hotel and just finished reading the review from Tinade41. She was clearly staying in the same room as I am. All of the statements and pictures are accurate. It is very disappointing to see that these concerns were pointed out to the hotel staff but were not addressed. The room is still in the condition described. I wish I had read these reviews before checking-in. Definitely not up to the standards one would expect at a Marriott.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leanne B, Manager at Suites at Northshore, responded to this review, December 24, 2013
Dear Jack,

I am sorry we have not been able to meet your expections during your stay with us. We do our best to always provide excellant service as well as a clean and inviting environment. However, this time we have fallen short of even our own expectations. We will do our best to correct these issues right away and if you would also like to contact me about your concerns I would be happy to discuss this matter with you further. - Leanne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

I was very disappointed to see the Trip Advisor sticker on their front door because I would not recommend this property due to the rooms alone. Front desk staff were friendly but the rooms are so dirty (will post photos). I stayed in their Penthouse I believe rm# 224. It looked like a party happened and the staff did not clean up properly. There was food on the walls and stove. The bathroom had what appeared to be nail polish on the door frame and cabinets. The shower head was very dirty and missing grout on the bathroom tiles made it very unsafe (tiles moved). There was also a "hole" right in the middle of the living room area. Almost looked like an old vent that they just covered with a piece of carpet. Upon checkout I shared this information and photos with the front desk person. She was upset about the cleanliness and got the manager. The manager didn't seem as concerned. I received no apologies about the room appearance or reassurance that she would talk to house keeping instead she stated that they knew about the tiles being loose and they are planning a renovation. So she knew it was unsafe and yet felt it was OK for people to stay in the room. The front desk person obviously cared more than the manger. Staff and breakfast were good. Room and lack of care by the management will keep me from coming back or referring this property to others.

Room Tip: I would ask to view the room first before checking in as the housekeeping staff is not thorough and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leanne B, Manager at Suites at Northshore, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Dear Tinade41,

I do apologize that we were not able to meet our brand standards during your stay and that your expectations were disappointed by the many flaws stated in your review. We do our best to try to maintain a professional, friendly, and clean atmosphere. Unfortunately, we fell short this time during your stay. I would be happy to discuss this matter further if you would like to reach out to me directly at the hotel. - Leanne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal Lake, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

We are staying here for about 10 days while our house is being remodeled. I knew the hotel was old and needed updating. What I did not know was in what bad shape it really was. Its just dirty and makes me lose my appetite. I can't even eat in the room, even though there is a kitchen. There are crumbs all over the place- not our crumbs, tile is all cracked, everything is broken, furniture is dirty and has holes in it. Curtains are torn, wallpaper and walls are in bad shape. The siding is falling off and the door barely opens. Walls are in horrible shape with dents and holes, windows are super dirty. We have been here 6 days and I don't think our room has really been cleaned once. They made the bed downstairs haphazardly, didn't make the one upstairs. Haven't cleaned our bathroom. I'm looking forward to the day we can go back home. The staff though, is the most friendly outstanding group of people! There is a full breakfast- anything you can imagine! Dinner 4 nights a week with a salad bar and warm dessert each night. Tonight there was a home made vegetable soup that was outstanding. The staff has been more than welcoming since we first walked in.

Room Tip: I gave Service 4 stars because the cleaning crew is a -1 and everyone else is a 10.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leanne B, Manager at Suites at Northshore, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Dear Erin S,

I sincerely apologize that you did not have a satisfactory stay and we fell short of your expectations and our own. We indeed are an older property and are working on getting some renovations soon. However, these minor renovations that are needed should not undermine our ability to still provide a clean and hospitable environment to every guest that stays with us. I have had a meeting with our housekeeping department to make sure these mistakes do not take place again. I would be happy to discuss this matter further if you would like to reach out to me directly at the hotel. -Leanne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire, Illinois
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

We recently stayed here for a wedding weekend, and was quite disappointed. While the room was spacious and included a kitchenette, and sleeper sofa, it was quite dirty! Construction dust in corners, torn bedskirt, peeling wallpaper, scraps of food on the floor from the previous guest, etc. I wouldn't come back and there has to be some better options in the area. The price was not cheap either even though it was booked as a block of rooms.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leanne B, Manager at Suites at Northshore, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your review following your recent stay. It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations at our hotel and your comments are very important to us. I am sorry our hotel was not able to meet your expectations. We strive to provide cleanliness as well as excellant service. We know you have many choices when it comes to lodging and we hope your future travel plans will continue to include Marriott. -Leanne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Have stayed here many times. Each time, the staff has been exceptional, especially Cathy S., Front Desk Supervisor. Some things need to be repaired/updated but the good far outweighs the bad. We like the location/neighborhood. Food is above average at breakfast and dinner (during the week).

Room Tip: Try to get a room away from the freeway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leanne B, Manager at Suites at Northshore, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again sometime. I will make sure to share your comments with our staff. -Leanne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Suites at Northshore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suites at Northshore

Address: 7275 N Port Washington Road, Glendale, WI 53217 (Formerly Residence Inn Glendale)
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Glendale
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Glendale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Suites at Northshore 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Short and Long Term Lodging that is the perfect "Home Away From Home". Reasonable rates with great value. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Suites at Northshore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Glendale
Glendale Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Suites at Northshore, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.