We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun Place To Go” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sprecher Brewing Co.

Sprecher Brewing Co.
701 W. Glendale Ave., Glendale, WI 53209
414-964-2739
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 6 Attractions in Glendale
Type: Breweries, Bars
Attraction details
Westminster, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fun Place To Go”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

We went on the tour, which was kind of minimal. The plus side is that you can sit all day drinking soda if you want and the beer is pretty good. Best cream soda I've ever had. Family friendly, cute gift shop.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    49
    23
    7
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Illinois City, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A great place to spend the afternoon!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Enjoyed the tour but paid the extra to do the reserve tasting and it was soooo worth it!!! If you are looking for an inexpensive way to spend the afternoon, this is a fun experience!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Warm and Welcoming - Fun Beer Garden”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Lets face it, you know how beer is brewed. Its water, its hops, it goes in the bottles. There are only so many brewery tours you can do in your travels. It is largely the same information everywhere you go. But, even if you know the drill - it is absolutely worth going to the Sprecher tour. This tinym homey brewery is like the Anti-Miller. There are no commercials or weird animatronics. You walk through a few modest brewing rooms with a very informative, and dedicated beer maker. And then you get to the Beer Garden – which is indoors and has a wood-paneled grandfather-brewing-beer-in-his-basement type feel. There are unlimited tastes of Sprecher’s many delicious soda varieties (including Blueberry!) There are chips and pretzels, and there is a very generous amount of tastes of Sprecher’s beers You’ll be surprised how many they have on tap – I think we counted well over 15. You won’t like them all – but there are some real gems – and its great fun to taste through. I don’t think the Sprecher beer has much distribution at all outside of the state – so its now or never to give them a try. Glendale was only about a 10 minute drive from downtown Milwaukee – so its absolutely worth the stop.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coppell, Texas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Very nice experience!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Oct 14, 2012: 12:00PM – 1:30 PM
Tour Duration: 25 minutes.
A very nice informative tour for any beer fan/enthusiast. The tour guide was James, who is a brewmaster there. And he talks about the history of beer, of Sprecher, and the fundamental processes involved in making & packaging beer in the actual facility. Got to know some interesting facts about brewing… difference between lager/ale, light/dark beers. The machines are never operational though during the tours.

After the tour is the fun part :-), where you get 4-8oz samplers of your choice among the 20 odd beers on tap. This is inside the manufacturing facility, a tented area, music and table/chairs, basics to munch: pretzels, chips, cheese. Though there is always a crowd and a line to get the samplers.

There are a lot of families visiting too, under 21 visitors get to tryout their root beer. Factoid: award winning, their largest selling product compared to all other (beer and sodas) 3:1!!!

All this for $5, good experience. Thoroughly enjoyed my very first brewery tour.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montrose, Co Usa
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“An Afternoon at the Brewery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

We stopped in for the tour because several members of my family love root beer. We called ahead to be sure we had tickets and was glad we did. After a short wait and checking out the gift shop the tour began. We entered the room the beer, root beer & soda (pop) were brewed up in tanks. Not a lot to see but our guide gave us an informed presentation on the company history and the process. We then passed through a cool room and into the bottling area. This is a small brewery and it doesn't take much time tour it. At this time we were allowed to sample a prize winning fall beer or root beer. This beer did deserve the prize. Then it was on to the tasting room. The glass each was given to keep was about 6 ounces and was used for all our samples. They would rinse it for you if you requested. Each adult was allowed four beers and all were allowed as much soda as they could hold. I enjoyed several types of beer and then like the rest of the family proceeded to taste the pop. Sprecher's cream soda and orange cream were my favorites. I don't care for root beer but was assured it was really good by those who did. This was a fun afternoon and fortunately they have clean restrooms so I didn't have to float home. I recommend it for an easy, relaxing afternoon and of course tasting all the drinks. I think most of us drank the price of the ticket.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sprecher Brewing Co. also viewed

 

Been to Sprecher Brewing Co.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sprecher Brewing Co., register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.