We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Busy but good food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cracker Barrel

Cracker Barrel
W. 176 N. 9778 River Crest Dr, Germantown, WI 53022-4649
(262) 253-4188
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 38 Restaurants in Germantown
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Top Contributor
273 reviews 273 reviews
140 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 103 cities Reviews in 103 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
“Busy but good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014 via mobile

Went here yesterday with friends. We had a party of 8. They called our name to be seated 45 minutes after arriving. But wait.... Never mind we meant to call the party of nine, not you... So back to waiting. Thankfully we had nice company and kept ourselves occupied. Once sat, our waitress was pleasant and patient as we had four boys ages 9 and below. Food was good as well. Spicy grilled catfish was excellent. Food arrived at the table quickly for how busy it was. We would go back.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    16
    7
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Elkhorn, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
201 reviews 201 reviews
136 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Why haven't we been here before?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

We have driven by this location hundreds of times, but did not stop until today. Boy, have we been missing out! The gift shop area was a delight with reasonable prices and plenty of employee available to assist with questions. We waited barely 10 minutes on a busy Friday night. Our server Jenny was wonderful and very patient with our first time visit.

The kids meals offered great variety for under $5. One child had blackberry pancakes and ate every last bite. One child had fried shrimp with macaroni and cheese and again nothing remained. The adults had trout and catfish. Each came with your choice of the sides. The dumplings, grits, and coleslaw were out of this world!

For dessert, we shared a coca cola chocolate cake and cherry cobbler. Yum!

Our total bill was less than $45! What a deal! The manager came to visit and asked the kids about their meal. Very impressed with the entire staff. We will be back!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waukesha, Wi
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“They are willing to make you happy......”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Today, we visited Cracker Barrel for lunch. The parking lot was full and I was afraid that we would have to wait. A pleasant surprise - no waiting required. I was with an elderly client and requested a seat that did not have alot of activity. I was quickly accommodated and the waiter could not have been better. I stated that my client did not eat very much and he suggested the child menu (stating that anyone could order from it) I had other simple requests and he was very quick at making those requests happen as well. The food was served quickly and was quite good. I ordered a reuben sandwich with a baked sweet potato. My friend had chicken strips and wedge fries. The quality for the price was more than fair. I would recommend Cracker Barrel.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
226 reviews 226 reviews
132 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 93 cities Reviews in 93 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
“The same as it ever was”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Only one Cracker Barrel trip this time and it was Germantown. It was quiet and so service was good. Food was as I expected and good as always. However after eating at a Perkins, I felt a little disappointed as Cracker Barrel always skimp on their meat. Sugar cured ham is a pretty small slice in comparison. But I love the atmosphere, which is even better in the winter with the fire lit and Christmas in the air.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sitko
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good food, attentive service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

About 1 pm on Memorial Day, I visited this Cracker Barrel. I only waited about 15020 minutes and relaxed walking around the gift shop -- interesting items! I will make that a stop on other visits to Milwaukee!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cracker Barrel also viewed

 

Been to Cracker Barrel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cracker Barrel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.