We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consumer Warning: False Advertising & Horrible Conditions” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Americas Best Value Inn - Fort Atkinson

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Americas Best Value Inn - Fort Atkinson to your Saves list
Americas Best Value Inn - Fort Atkinson
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1225 Janesville Avenue, Fort Atkinson, WI 53538-2701   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Fort Atkinson
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Consumer Warning: False Advertising & Horrible Conditions”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

After researching hotels in the Fort Atkinson, WI area I decided to book a room at the America's Best Value Inn as they had a King Size Jacuzzi Suite available and that's what I was looking for. As advertised on the ABVI's website and on hotels.com was a room with a King Size bed and a jacuzzi. To call this a "suite" is a big stretch of the imagination, but that's another issue. When I checked in and entered the room, lo and behold there was NOT a King size bed, but, rather, a Queen size bed (and a HORRIBLE one that had a 1 foot sink hole in the middle). I worked in the bedding industry for 12 years and know without a doubt the difference in sizes. And yet I measured it just to make sure (80 x 60 is a Queen). I spoke with the General Manager about this and said I feel like I'm being bait & switched as I paid for and legally agreed to a room that was explicitly advertised as having a King size bed in it. The GM told me that they do not have any rooms that have both a King size bed and a jacuzzi in them. He then lied to me and said the bed was "actually a little bigger than a queen" and when I told him I measured it and worked in the bedding industry he tried to steer the conversation to blaming "Expedia" for some reason. This is false advertising and taking money without providing what was agreed upon in the contract. The GM overall seemed more interested in blaming "Expedia" and the former owner of the hotel for the condition of the hotel.

About the condition of the hotel....oh boy. My room was dirty, dusty, dead insects were found behind the fridge, strange glittery decorative plastic plants were oddly hanging in the room, filthy & full of dust. I'm not sure if that was intentional or just left over from a previous guest and they didn't bother to clean the room. The TV armoire was dangerous, not secured to the wall as is legally required and nearly fell over just by opening the doors. All of the furnishings in the room were in horrible condition, filthy, stained, and dangerous. A lamp was set atop the TV armoire and nearly fell on my head upon opening the doors. Again, a serious code violation. The toilet was not bolted securely to the ground --risk of injury, there was no hot/cold indicator on the sink --risk of burning injury, and the exterior doors were all UNLOCKED and BROKEN 24 hours a day! Anyone could have walked in to the hotel at any point without a key. UNSAFE. The GM's response to that was "we've never had anyone robbed and if we did we would deal with it" and also that they couldn't do anything about the doors because "they didn't have the monies and the last owner left the hotel in bad shape." The GM seemed more interested in sitting and chatting in the lobby with his family members then actually working and running the hotel.

Posted throughout the hotel are various signs from the management essentially blaming the customers for why the hotel was in such disrepair and threatening people that if they didn't stop taking too much food to eat in the morning they would have to raise the rents. The hotel computer for guests to use had a sign that warned that you could only use it to check emails or get directions and nothing else. There was a sign that said there was no smoking near any of the (unsafe, unlocked, broken) doors or else there would be a $500 fine and yet this was NEVER enforced as smokers smoked right by the doors and that lovely death haze came right in to the hallways because the DOORS ARE BROKEN AND UNLOCKED.

The only positive thing I could say is that this hotel is right next to the famous Fireside Theater so you can use it as a landmark when driving into town.

I would never recommend this hotel to anyone and will never stay here ever again. I predict that the hotel will leave a reply saying something like "sorry, wish you would have told us" [which I did but was told it was "Expedia's fault"] "we don't have the monies to fix things and the past owners left us with this mess."

Yea. It's someone else's fault.

Room Tip: Choose a room that's in a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
courtyardinn, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Fort Atkinson, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
I'm sorry you felt we had false advertising because we do not. We have several online websites selling our rooms plus we sell them over the phone or by people walking in. We try very hard to give everyone the room they request on line but sometimes it just doesn't work. The room you were given past fire code inspection this spring and there has never been a complaint about that room in the past. I'm sorry you weren't happy with your stay. Hope to see you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    6
    6
    11
    16
See reviews for
11
11
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wheeling, West Virginia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

This hotel was very clean but it feels old and tired. Beds were good. Breakfast was standard continental. I was there for a school reunion andfollowed by a work trip so very convenient. Price was good. Might stay there again if I needed to be there but it could really do with a redo!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
courtyardinn, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Fort Atkinson, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay, we appreciate all comments. We are trying to redo the old décor but have to do as money is available. Please come see us again. Thank You again. Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freeport, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

This hotel is dirty to start with, a ledge in the bathroom still had hairs on it from a previous person, the security doors do not lock EVER, we stayed next to a door and asked about them and was told they have not work for years but we have never had a break in and if we have one we will deal with it. I tried to get extra blankets for my kids and the General Manager who I talked with at the desk complained about if he has to give a extra blankets out to me then he has to give them out to 120 other people and that cost a lot of money to clean. The hot tub was also broken during my stay. The next day I complained about the doors, the dirty room and asked for a refund for the next night we booked and he refused, we then just packed up and went to the Holiday Inn Express for more money but were much happier. I would avoid this hotel if possible, it was a terrible stay. The city of Ft. Atkinson itself was enjoyable.

Room Tip: Go to another Hotel even if it cost a little more, well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
courtyardinn, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Fort Atkinson, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Sorry you did not enjoy your stay and you felt unsafe. We have never had anyone try to break into any room and we have looked into repairing outside door locks but the expense was more than we can afford right now. We are trying to get this hotel back in shape after is was neglected for several years by previous owners. It is a work in progress and if you had told us about the room being dirty upon check in and were worried about your safety, we would have changed your room. Hope you will give us another chance. (And yes, extra blankets are available but limited as we don't have a lot of inventory.)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wausau, Wisconsin
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

When we got to the room the TV remote was nowhere to be found. Looking around it was easy to see that the room had not been vacuumed or mopped. Several scrapes of paper and bits of snack chip were seen that a vacuum would have picked up. The furniture also needed dusting. Under the bed, don't think it ever got cleaned. It also caused us to notice that the mattress was quite dirty. It took three trips form staff to get a remote that only changed channels. No apology was ever offered. It did not work the volume or on/off on this "vintage" TV. This place needs major upgrades and a lot more attention to cleaning. Will not stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
courtyardinn, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Fort Atkinson, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
I want to thank you for letting us know that the room was not clean, we try our best to inspect every room after it has been cleaned but sometimes, time doesn't allow but that is still no excuse for getting a dirty room. I also apologize for the remote problem. We are replacing all TV's with flat screens but it is a costly project and we can't do all rooms at one time due to fact business has been slow this past winter and we have many expenses in running a hotel. Also, we have been having problems with remotes we received from cable company after they went to all digital cable. Some of those remotes will not work properly with our older TV's. I hope you will come back and give us another chance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

The check-in was fast and easy. Room was very average, older television set, bed linens all had a hand-written"D" in the corner (at first I thought someone used a Sharpie and wrote on it, but now I think it was the hotel marking their property), very loud shower. Nice hot water in the shower/bath. The front desk staff was less than concerned about problems we had with the room. The family across the hall allowed their children to use the hallway as their person race track for hours. The four of us had been given hand-towels for the shower. Many of the other rooms in our party had similar problems. The continental breakfast was average. Make your own waffles, cereals, processed sweets, bagels (only one slot of the toaster worked), boiled eggs, fresh fruit and yogurt if you are early, bland coffee with powdered creamer and quartered pasties didn't make the stay any better. When I observed the manager catch (and repeatedly scold) a man trying to take two cups of coffee back to his room at 7am, I decided saving a couple of bucks was not worth it. The poor guy only wanted to take his wife breakfast. He didn't have a picnic basket! However the sign did say it was against their rules!.

Room Tip: It sounded as if some of the rooms may have been updated/modernized. I would definitely ask!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
courtyardinn, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Fort Atkinson, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
I am sorry your room was not clean. There is no excuse for an unclean room. We do check rooms after housekeepers are done and if we missed some, that is not acceptable. We try to make sure all rooms are cleaned and stocked properly. Yes, several are rooms have been updated and we are working on the rest. This hotel was in bad shaped when I took over and we redecorate and paint when money allows. There are many repair cost to getting a hotel updated that hasn't been cared for properly for several years and that is what has faced us since day 1. Again, I apologize for you and your friends not having a clean and comfortable stay and I want to thank you for letting us know. I hope you will give us another try.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, South Dakota
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

Pool broken. Outlets broken. Bed stained. Light bulbs a nice 40 watts. Toilet small. Caulking in bathroom cracked and moldy. Shower head with black gunk. Both rooms the same. Good location. Probably better off with longer drive for better value.

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
courtyardinn, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Fort Atkinson, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay and you did not find the room clean. We try to be thorough when checking the rooms but sometimes we get interrupted and we miss things and for that I do apologize, we should go back and recheck room and we will. As for the pool, we had a major mechanical failure and we had to wait for part and for professional to install it. However, pool and hot tub are now up and in good shape. We hope you will come back and give us another chance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin Rapids, Wisconsin
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

I made an error in my reservation but when I contacted the hotel - the Manager - Pat was extremely willing to help me correct my error! I work in a Customer Service job and really appreciate when I am able to experience exceptional customer service and when an individual goes above the expected to help the customer feel they are important! They easily could have just told me it was my mistake but instead they helped me to make it right!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
courtyardinn, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Fort Atkinson, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Thank you for your kind remarks. We do try to help everyone whenever possible and at times we know guest do make a mistake when doing on line reservations. If we can catch it as, unknowingly, I did with you, we do try to work things out so both sides are happy. Looking forward to seeing you in March. Pat, manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Americas Best Value Inn - Fort Atkinson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn - Fort Atkinson

Address: 1225 Janesville Avenue, Fort Atkinson, WI 53538-2701
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Fort Atkinson
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Fort Atkinson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn - Fort Atkinson 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel is 2 stories,(no elevator) with 50 rooms. Indoor corridors, heated indoor pool and hot tub. We are located right next door to Fireside Dinner Theater and within walking distance of several restaurants. We are a block away from bike/walking trail which continues into next city. We are also close to Jones Dairy Farm and the Hoard Museum. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , BookIt.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn - Fort Atkinson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Americas Best Value Inn - Fort Atkinson, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.