We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty and dated” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Americas Best Value Inn - Fort Atkinson

Save Saved
You added Americas Best Value Inn - Fort Atkinson to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn - Fort Atkinson
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1225 Janesville Avenue, Fort Atkinson, WI 53538-2701   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Fort Atkinson
Chicago
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Dirty and dated”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

The place used to be nice but in the last few years has become run down.
Room was dirty- hair on the bathroom floor- mold on the tub.
Free breakfast -HA - a banana was the safest choice.
Find a better place to stay

Room Tip: Find another place
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
courtyardinn, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Fort Atkinson, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
I am sorry you were not satisfied with you recent stay with us. We strive to give our guest the best possible experience that we can and when we fail, we are disappointed also. We hope you will give us another chance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    6
    5
    11
    16
See reviews for
11
11
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I went through our savings driving back and forth for his new job from Milwaukee...and we couldn't do it anymore. My kids and I were suffering because we had to stay in the parking lot of his work. We turned to St Vincent de Paul and they helped us with a week at this hotel until my hubby gets paid. Its mediocre at best, but we have been treated poorly. Jay and his wife give my children and I looks as if we are an intrusion, or from a third world existence. We shouldn't be treated this way just because we needed assistance.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
courtyardinn, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Fort Atkinson, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
We are very sorry if we gave you the impression that we thought less of you because you were getting help from St. Vincents. We take in guest from St. Vincents all the time and we do not treat them any differently then anyone else who is staying there. We know how hard this economy has been and that we all need help sometimes. Again, we Jay and Smita, truly apologize if we gave you the impression that we didn't want you here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012 via mobile

They were the cheapest price in town, also the cheapest period. The grounds were terrible, they are lacking rain here this summer, but somehow the weeds can grow to 14", cut your grass! Upon check in we were informed the hot tub was not working, not a big deal as it was 85 deg this weekend. We were on the second floor, so up the stairs we go, it stunk very bad in the stairs, like BO, very nasty. When we get to the hallway there are ocillating fans there and it is like 95 deg in the hall, no the a/c units in the hallway don't work. The room a/c works but isn't on when we get inside, room was clean and acceptable. We get back to the hotel around 11:30 pm and none of the outside entrance doors are locked, not a high crime area at all, but I lock my house doors and we live out in the sticks, just don't want people wandering around. We were woken up at 1am by the smoke detector beeping due to a low battery, we told the front desk about it it in the morning but it was still beeping when we came back later that day, I took care of it... we woke up at 5:30 to a well lit room, the drapes were closed, but did not stop much of the morning sun from coming in.
The breakfast sucked! I could have stayed home if I wanted cheap donuts, stale cereal and a bagel, do yourself a favor if you must stay here, plan on going down the road for breakfast.

I will not stay here again, nor do I reccomend it to anyone.

Until the owners put some money into this hotel to bring it back to a decent condition, there will be less and less people staying with them.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
courtyardinn, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Fort Atkinson, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
We are sorry that your experience with us was not good. I do not know from what part of the country you came from but as you were obviously aware, we had not had any rain for quite some time and unfortunately we could not mow the lawn for fear of killing the grass totally. The heat was intolerable for several weeks and many of our air conditioners discontinued to work and because of this problem in many areas, replacement units were scarce and we had to wait several more weeks to get them. Also, we have never had anyone who wasn't staying here walk in and wonder the halls. To repair the key lock doors is a very expensive project and right now we are more concerned with the rooms and lobby. As for breakfast, it is a continental breakfast--not a full breakfast.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grove City, OH
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

Stayed here one night while visiting family. Just from the outside, would not have stayed here if I knew there was a different hotel in the area. Weeds were in the "flower beds" and the outside did not look inviting at all. Once inside, I found the lobby a bit run down. The owners were in the breakfast area folding towels and sheets. The room was clean enough though. While at grocery store, saw owner in there buying next mornings free breakfast (danish). Breakfast was bagged donut holes, danish, cereal, and juice. Breakfast left us wanting more. Fitness room (placed in regular room across from their private quarters) had several pieces of out dated non working equipment. The pool was not easily accessed, and could use an update. Would not stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
courtyardinn, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Fort Atkinson, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Sorry your stay here was not good, we strive to give our guest the best possible experience we can and when we fail, we are disappointed too. We hope you will give us another chance to show you we are a good place to stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Richmond, Wi.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2012

Room had some random debris 'under the bed', but overall cleanliness was good.
My mattress felt a little 'used', but slept decent (again, for not being home in my own bed). Overall a very nice hotel.
Oh, btw, the owner went out of his way to be nice. Very nice guy. :>)

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
courtyardinn, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Fort Atkinson, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Thank you for your comments, all comments, good or bad help us to become a better place to stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2011 via mobile

My husband and I couldn't make it, so we had to cancel. Even though it was done a year ago, the Manager was understanding. Its not the greatest but very supportive in my situation, we both were ill. We will be back! Thank you!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
courtyardinn, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Fort Atkinson, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
We are glad we were able to take care of your problem in a way that was acceptable to both parties. Thank you, also for your comment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fond du Lac, Wisconsin
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2011

Don't waste your money...this place was a complete dump! The pool was as warm as the hot tub, the bathtub was gross, the staff was extremely rude and you can hardly call a few bagels and stale donut holes a continental breakfast...would NEVER stay here again!!!! But, the Fireside next door was phenomenal, just stay somewhere else!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
courtyardinn, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Fort Atkinson, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
We are sorry your stay here wasn't good, we strive to give all our guests the best possible stay and when we fail, we are disappointed also. Also, thank you for your comments, we can't improve if we don't know what we are doing wrong.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Americas Best Value Inn - Fort Atkinson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn - Fort Atkinson

Address: 1225 Janesville Avenue, Fort Atkinson, WI 53538-2701
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Fort Atkinson
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Fort Atkinson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn - Fort Atkinson 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel is 2 stories,(no elevator) with 50 rooms. Indoor corridors, heated indoor pool and hot tub. We are located right next door to Fireside Dinner Theater and within walking distance of several restaurants. We are a block away from bike/walking trail which continues into next city. We are also close to Jones Dairy Farm and the Hoard Museum. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , BookIt.com, Tingo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn - Fort Atkinson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Americas Best Value Inn - Fort Atkinson, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.