We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great camping experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jellystone Park of Fort Atkinson

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fort Atkinson
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Jellystone Park of Fort Atkinson
Save
You added Jellystone Park of Fort Atkinson to your Saves list
N551 Wishing Well Drive, Fort Atkinson, WI 53538   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Elkhorn, Wisconsin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great camping experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

This isnot our first stay,,, as in our first experience ,we had a great time. The halloween activities were very fun. Our grand kids had the time of their lives and as for the adult just as much fun,the seasonal campers are friendly as well. The campsites are clean and well taken care of, clean restrooms and showers,pool is big ,clean and warm.The store is stocked with everything you may have forgot. I will be back this spring and summer ....HAPPY CAMPING.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    35
    7
    6
    16
See reviews for
140
2
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago suburbs
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

We've stayed about 10 times over the years and it just keeps getting worse. Like many others have mentioned, the customer service is terrible. This campground just gets way overcrowded during the summer and they don't have enough staff to properly run the place.

Like many Yogi Bear campgrounds they rent golf carts then don't enforce any rules with them. Young kids race around all day and night and it can be very dangerous walking on the paths with the carts zooming by.

We try not to use the restrooms because they are almost always filthy. Again, they just have too few staff working in order to keep up with cleaning.

The small restaurant onsite actually has very good food but the service is slow and the prices are expensive.

We've only used the upper pool and it has generally been clean. But there's usually no lifeguards around so kids are running all over the place and jumping on top of other kids in the pool. So any expectation of having a safe fun time in the pool goes out the window right away.

The late night experience gets worse because far too many 'regulars' stay up past the quiet hours and end up getting drunk, loud, and obnoxious. It can get pretty scarey being their with your family when the rowdy drunks start getting wound up. Your best bet is to call the police at that time rather than relying upon the old lady who is their security person.

Our relatives own one of the permanent park models in the east section of the park and some sections of that area are actually quite nice. But their experience in dealing with the owners of this park have also been very frustrating.

All in all, if you are in the area and need a place to stay just for overnight then this place would probably do. But if you have plans to stay here for a weekend or longer then you'll probably be dissapointed and felt ripped off.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McHenry, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

After visiting friends a few times at their seasonal camp site and staying at Yogi as weekenders ourselves my husband and I decided that a seasonal campsite was the way to go! Our children ages 15, 10 and 5 always have a great time! They have meet new friends and participate in most of the activities that Yogi has to offer. I say most since there are so many to choose from each weekend! We are so happy to have become part of Jellystone and plan to be seasonals for years to come! Check it out! Whether you camp for the weekend or become a seasonal camper, you won't be dissapointed!!! :)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockton, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Well Friday started out raining. I thought this is going to be a cold rainy week-end camping and this weather sucks. The ride in to Jellystone park went quick and I noticed blue skies to the north. Well it cleared out and stopped raining. I set up in the heart of it all. I could watch my kids on the play ground and in the main pavilion. A bear welcomed them and it was on two full days of non stop activities. I could have had a quiet site but from me I enjoyed being in the middle of it all. 5:36 AM Saturday morning came a 30MPH guest of wind from the west that tried to tear my awing off but after a quick roll up everything was fine. Saturday started out with crafts, play ground, jumping pillow, pumpkin painting, skate park, trick or treating for the kids and we rented a golf cart and went on a poker run. Seasonal campers were great resources for where things are since the park is big. Megan was really cool at the main store counter and Bianca helped me out big time with my golf cart rental. It's nice to have someone that likes to be there rather than just doing a job. Around nine the dance party started at the main pavilion. This was alot of fun and something I don't normally attend. Sunday was warmer and sunny we packed up and called it a week end. The kids keep asking when we can go back for another weekend at Jelly stone. The camp ground was clean and modern. I will be another trip to see the bear.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockford, Illinois, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

It was our stay at Jellystone Ft. Atkinson Wi. this weekend, and I couldn't believe all of the things that they had for the kids and adults to do. It was an awsome the bathrooms and showers were clean the store had everything you could imagine, it made my husband want to buy a seasonal site there. We will visit there often. They had 2 workers there that were wonderful and went out of there way to help you, their names are Megan and Bianca.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roselle
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We have been seasonal campers at Fort Atkinson Jellystone for over 5 years and love it! Our grand kids are with us every weekend and love it. There are so many activities for them to do that they are never bored, we never hear " we have nothing to do." The bathrooms are kept very clean and the grounds are scenic. I would highly recommend this campground for seasonal as well as weekend camping to anyone. We have friends that come up twice a summer to visit with us and stay in the upper cabins. They have always been very pleased with the cleanliness of them. The staff here is great and the kids on activities give their all and make it fun for the kids doing them. Come and camp with us, I am sure that you will have a great time and will return many times.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pec
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

My wife and I have been avid campers for nearly 15 years. After pulling our camper for the majority of that time, we decided to try ““seasonal” camping. We had camped at the Jellystone in Fort Atkinson before as “weekenders,” and truly enjoyed ourselves, so it was our first choice in terms of experimenting with this idea of “seasonal camping.” Five years later our camper hasn’t moved, and “going seasonal” has easily been one of the best decisions we’ve ever made.

During our five year stay we have developed wonderful friendships with other seasonal campers. We potluck nearly every weekend, the park is very family-friendly and the owner does a fantastic job of maintaining the park. Each weekend is themed, with plenty of activities for children of all age groups, and new activities/amenities are added each year. The bathhouses are always clean, as are the pools, and the park staff is always extremely helpful.

If you’ve ever considered seasonal camping, or if you are simply looking for a fun place to camp over the weekend, you can’t go wrong at the Jellystone in Fort.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Jellystone Park of Fort Atkinson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jellystone Park of Fort Atkinson

Address: N551 Wishing Well Drive, Fort Atkinson, WI 53538
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Fort Atkinson
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Fort Atkinson
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jellystone Park of Fort Atkinson is a highly rated, award winning family campground and resort located in southern Wisconsin. With 569 sites and 13 cabins distributed over 80 acres, we are sure to accommodate your family for a weekend of fun. Our amenities include two heated pools, 18-hole mini-golf course, video game arcade, the Ranger's Kitchen and much more. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jellystone Park of Fort Atkinson, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.