We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First visit to the Lake Geneva area & to a B&B...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lazy Cloud Lodge Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Lazy Cloud Lodge Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Lazy Cloud Lodge Bed and Breakfast
N2025 No. Lakeshore Drive, Fontana, WI 53125   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Fontana B&B and Inns
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“First visit to the Lake Geneva area & to a B&B...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

First off, this B&B is in a rather obscure area with a very small sign, so be on the lookout or you will pass it up, like we did. The location did make it pretty quiet, except for the little unusual noises that kept waking me up that night. My fiance thought it was a little "creepy" there.
The room was very unique & charming (Hayloft suite) & there were nice little extras. The jacuzzi & fireplace were nice but we ended up turning the fireplace off because of a hot burning smell that wasn't normal (it's a gas fireplace). The little notes left by other couples were fun to read & we found a few items by the clues that were left (mostly wine corks). I get that this is meant to be a couples retreat but we actually got a little bored & would have appreciated a TV, but then we are TV people in the winter anyway. We did go out for dinner which i am sorry to say, was not very good (Mars Restaurant at Lake Como), but at least it broke up our evening some. Don't get me wrong romance is a beautiful thing but after awhile...if we were there during warmer weather there would be more activities so that would make a difference too. The breakfast was ok (make sure to try the sticky buns), and served right to our room, which was very nice, but would like it more if a couple of egg choices (besides cold hard-boiled eggs) were available...maybe a breakfast sandwich or a mini-quiche ?
All in all it was a very unique experience, but once was probably enough, prefer lodging with more amenities & activities. And it is a little overpriced, which is why we stayed on a weekday instead of a weekend...$235/night is a bit much.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    15
    5
    2
    2
See reviews for
1
59
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Waukesha, Wisconsin
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

I cannot thank you enough for such a wonderful experience. We don't get much time to spend together and enjoyed the relaxing environment without any distractions.

We selected the NORTHWOODS LOGDE!

The first thing we noticed is that there was NO T.V. and WE LOVED THAT!!!

The rib basket was wonderful... THANK YOU KIM and anyone involved... YUM YUM!!

THE BUBBLES SMELL HEAVENLY.

Electric Fire place was a PLUS++.

In the middle of the evening is when we discovered the games and hidden treasures. I loved the memory books from years past. We left our own little story with our own little hidden clues! Was awesome to see all the history and stories. Quite entertaining and such an amazing discovery! Loved playing along!

Then breakfast came . such a delight!! Everyone is so friendly and welcoming! Very comfortable!!

We will definitely be back soon! Can't wait to tell everyone about this little hidden GEM!!

Room Tip: We stayed in the NORTHWOODS LODGE!! I highly suggest this room!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

My husband & I started going to Lazy Cloud in 2002 and have been back at least a dozen times trying out different rooms. Lazy Cloud offers so much for your money. From the bottle of wine, chocolate truffles, caramel apple pie, candles, bath robes, bubble bath, fire place, hot tub, such a relaxing environment plus the amazing homemade breakfast...it is simply amazing sharing all of that with the love of your life! Can't wait to go back again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LakeGenevaLady, Owner at Lazy Cloud Lodge Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
The only thing better than receiving such nice comments from our guests is seeing their faces again when they return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013 via mobile

I was looking for a B&B not a romantic getaway so it was a very cute surprise. It is a lovely place. Wonderful scenery with gazebos and benches. The room is cozy with a fireplace and jacuzzi. Want a romantic getaway? Go here. If you are going with the family this is not for you. The staff is friendly. They are detail oriented. Your room awaits with wine, chocolates and apple pie compliments of them. All this for under $150. Like I said it was a nice surprise.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oconomowoc, Wisconsin, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

My boyfriend and I had been struggling on and off for more that 4 years. We had been broken up for nearly 6 months last year and came back together just after the holidays. He arranged this incredible romantic getaway...everything about the entire weekend was magical. We stayed in the Paul Newman Suite, February 24th and 25th. Roses, champagne, chocolate covered strawberries, a fireplace, a whirlpool bath for 2, a massage in our room, a picnic lunch with wine and cheese cake, an adorable teddy bear I have as a souvenir...hours alone making love to the love of my life. I was sure he was going to propose that weekend, but he didn't. We didn't stay together either, but I have to say...this place and the time we shared there was the most wonderful memory I have with him and I will cherish it forever. Our initials and his words of love are on one of the corks and on one of the dollar bills hidden somewhere.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

We went to the Lazy Cloud B&B to celebrate our anniversary. Nice, sweet, romantic touches in the room all the way down to the homemade bubbles for the double whirlpool in your suite. Previous reviews stated that this place was rundown? Not by my experience! I was impressed with everything they had to offer and the room was CLEAN and up to date in a rustic themed kind of way. Very cute and thoughtful ideas went into the decorating. Loved the fact that we had our own entrance to our room and we were not bothered by other guests coming in and out. We had a massage therapist come to our room for massages...paid through the B&B which was nice that they offered that service. She was so sweet and helpful with suggestions about places to eat and visit in town. We didn't want to leave our room at all and we didn't need to because they even had a fridge a microwave in the room! Very romantic time and we will definitely be back!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LakeGenevaLady, Owner at Lazy Cloud Lodge Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Your comments are very much appreciated, and we look forward to helping you celebrate your special milestones in the future!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hershey, Pennsylvania
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

Celebrated our anniversary at the Lazy Cloud. I would say the pros are: friendly staff, good size suite, double whirlpool tub, amazing apple caramel pie (or you can choose strawberries), bottle of bubbly, privacy, grounds with gazebos and hammocks, garden, unique experience. The cons would be: most bed and breakfasts offer a homemade breakfast with interesting menu items made from scratch ... lazy cloud does not. They do serve homemade sticky buns and if there are enough guests, they will have waffles. Otherwise you will get fruit, cereal, bagel, hard boiled egg, with your sticky bun. A nice place but don't expect first class. Decor could probably use some updating. I did love the little white lights over the bed and whirlpool tub-very romantic. Our room was an eclectic combination of country, victorian, rustic...all put in one room. Interesting. There were weeds in the gardens. Some things were rusty or worn out. It is set back off the road in a country location which is nice. If you want to just spend time alone with the one you love, this place is a good setting for that. You can get to town in about a 10-15 min drive with lots of restaurant choices, boat tour, beach etc. I drove into the parking lot of the Lazy Cloud Inn and I'm glad we chose the B&B instead. The Inn was right off a main highway. Cars pull right up to the door of your room. Gave me the impression of a small cheap motel from the outside. The B&B felt much more romantic and attractive when first driving in to it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lazy Cloud Lodge Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lazy Cloud Lodge Bed and Breakfast

Address: N2025 No. Lakeshore Drive, Fontana, WI 53125
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Fontana
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Fontana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lazy Cloud Bed and Breakfast is a perfect romantic getaway for couples. Every room and suite feature a whirlpool for two with a view of the fireplace. Our whirlpools are located in the sitting room - not in the bathroom. They also all have a private outside entrance for the utmost in privacy. We have several romantic amenities including candles, bubble bath, bathrobes, chocolates, and champagne and chocolate dipped strawberries. Fall in love all over again! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Lazy Cloud Lodge Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lazy Cloud Lodge Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.