We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Get alone time with your special someone” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lazy Cloud Lodge Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Lazy Cloud Lodge Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Lazy Cloud Lodge Bed and Breakfast
N2025 No. Lakeshore Drive, Fontana, WI 53125   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Fontana B&B and Inns
Hershey, Pennsylvania
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Get alone time with your special someone”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

Celebrated our anniversary at the Lazy Cloud. I would say the pros are: friendly staff, good size suite, double whirlpool tub, amazing apple caramel pie (or you can choose strawberries), bottle of bubbly, privacy, grounds with gazebos and hammocks, garden, unique experience. The cons would be: most bed and breakfasts offer a homemade breakfast with interesting menu items made from scratch ... lazy cloud does not. They do serve homemade sticky buns and if there are enough guests, they will have waffles. Otherwise you will get fruit, cereal, bagel, hard boiled egg, with your sticky bun. A nice place but don't expect first class. Decor could probably use some updating. I did love the little white lights over the bed and whirlpool tub-very romantic. Our room was an eclectic combination of country, victorian, rustic...all put in one room. Interesting. There were weeds in the gardens. Some things were rusty or worn out. It is set back off the road in a country location which is nice. If you want to just spend time alone with the one you love, this place is a good setting for that. You can get to town in about a 10-15 min drive with lots of restaurant choices, boat tour, beach etc. I drove into the parking lot of the Lazy Cloud Inn and I'm glad we chose the B&B instead. The Inn was right off a main highway. Cars pull right up to the door of your room. Gave me the impression of a small cheap motel from the outside. The B&B felt much more romantic and attractive when first driving in to it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    15
    5
    2
    2
See reviews for
1
62
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Most important note about this B&B is that it caters exclusively to couples looking for a quaint romantic getaway. That's what we were looking for, so it was perfect. The service staff were great (we got lots of good tips on things to do in the area), the place was very quiet in the woods, no TV in the room, you get sweets and a bottle of wine or spumante upon arrival and they leave you chocolates every day. Everything's set up to encourage romance, from candles around the whirlpool tub to a couples game on the couch. The breakfast had been advertised as "expanded continental" so we weren't expecting much but there was a big selection of pastries plus fruit, cereal, bagels and you could make your own waffles so we had more than enough to eat.

Other reviews have noted that the place is quite dated and they're right. Everything in our room worked and was clean, but there was some peeling paint, the towels were fraying at the ends, curtain tiebacks were falling apart. Nothing that affected our stay at all, but I was a bit surprised that with the room rates as high as they are (we didn't stay in a suite and paid almost as much) they don't fix some of the cosmetic issues.

Bottom line is that we had a really nice time and it was a unique experience but if we're lucky enough to get another weekend away with the kids we might try some of the other inns and B&Bs in the area before going back to see if we can get a bit of a better value for the price.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middleton, Wisconsin, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

We decided to stay at the Lazy Cloud B&B because it had such great reviews, but were a little disappointed. The owners and staff were very nice and friendly and the grounds were lovely, but the B&B itself needs serious updating. Our room was dingy and poorly decorated. We felt like the floor was going to cave in on us. With a little paint and some new decor, this place could be great. We felt like for the money we spent ($235 a night!) we should have had a much nicer place to stay. It's also quite a drive from Lake Geneva, so if you're looking for something close to the shops and lake, this is not it.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ephraim, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2012

This was our second visit to Lazy Cloud. We stayed at the Northwoods suite. If you go, order the RIBS Picnic Basket. It's reasonably priced for two. They bring it to you in a basket with a table cloth to spread on the floor. There was so much food, that we had supper and lunch the next day,... and there were still left-overs! The whirlpool bath for 2 is great. The complimentary wine, strawberries, chocolates, candles- all are designed for romance. The breakfast is also very good. The only reason this place doesn't get a full five stars, is the bathroom shower. The bathroom floods every time it's used. If you want to go to a place filled with romance, this is it! We will be back and we'll try another suite. To sum up- we first stayed at the Log Cabin suite, but we do like the Northwoods suite better (the shower issue is the same in both suites).

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fond du Lac, Wisconsin
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2012

First off I would like to say I'd rate this 3.5 stars. My husband and I stayed in the Gazebo suite at the B&B to get some r&r. We were able to accomplish just that!
The good: Awesome jacuzzi! Most B&B's don't let you have bubble bath or candles but this one did and it put the cherry on top. The first night we got the picnic basket with ribs. At first I was a little wary but it turned out to be the best meal we had while we were away (better than going out). We had a ton of food so we had leftovers for the next day. The location is also nice. It's in a small area but close to Lake Geneva. Also they give you lots of little 'extras'. The caramel apple pie was great!
The bad: Breakfast was a huge disappointment. It's nothing more than what you get at a regular hotel. When I go to a B&B I expect an awesome breakfast. Yes there was a lot of food but I'd rather have quality than quantity. Cold cereal on a get away is not my thing. The towels smell, most likely from bad water. Needless to say I ran around to get dry than pat off with smelly towels. Majority of the room felt clean but some areas were really neglected. The white blinds were caked with yellow dirtiness. Husband hated the small bathroom, but both agreed we'd sacrifice bathroom space for other features.
Overall we enjoyed our time and would probably go back if the prices weren't so steep; but we can stay at a lot nicer places for almost half the price.

Room Tip: Gazebo room has an amazing jacuzzi!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for two nights for our 19th wedding anniversary. The room itself is very unique, quite unlike anyplace we've ever stayed. You really do feel like you're in a log cabin. Someone mentioned on here that there's wifi at the lodge, and while it's true that there is wifi access in the Log Cabin suite, it is the only suite in which there's wifi access. The Log Cabin suite happens to be situated right next to the main office, which by chance is close enough for anyone in the suite to gain access. But the other suites do not have wifi.

The only downside to this particular suite, in my opinion, would be the bathroom...the shower, the bathroom sink, and toilet were all so small. The shower is a tiny stall with a very flimsy shower curtain. It wasn't possible to shower without flooding the bathroom floor, so make sure you have plenty of extra towels on hand. And the sink is one of those corner ones, but probably the smallest I've ever seen. No room for toiletries at all. And when you brush your teeth, if you're not careful, you'll hit your head on the mirror cabinet above it. And the toilet seemed miniaturized...the seat being one of the smallest I think I've ever seen. My husband in particular did not like it at all. Other than the bathroom issues, it was a wonderful place to stay.

Room Tip: I believe all rooms in the B&B have queen beds...versus at the Inn they're all king size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpine, Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights for our honeymoon. We had the enchanted tree house sweet, which was a bit smaller than I thought it would be but still lovely. The breakfast was very very good and my husband and I can't wait to come back for again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lazy Cloud Lodge Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lazy Cloud Lodge Bed and Breakfast

Address: N2025 No. Lakeshore Drive, Fontana, WI 53125
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Fontana
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Fontana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lazy Cloud Bed and Breakfast is a perfect romantic getaway for couples. Every room and suite feature a whirlpool for two with a view of the fireplace. Our whirlpools are located in the sitting room - not in the bathroom. They also all have a private outside entrance for the utmost in privacy. We have several romantic amenities including candles, bubble bath, bathrobes, chocolates, and champagne and chocolate dipped strawberries. Fall in love all over again! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Lazy Cloud Lodge Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lazy Cloud Lodge Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.