We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good food but pricey” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fontana Grill - CLOSED

Fontana Grill
269 Fontana Blvd, Fontana, WI
262-275-1815
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Hwy 67
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very good food but pricey”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at The Abbey so for the first night after arriving we ate at The Grill. I have some food intolerances and they were very helpful. I had a fish special with tilapia, flash fried spinach & risotto & my companion had the spinach salad with grilled chicken. The food was great. The views of the marine & grounds were very nice. However it was quite a pricey meal especially at the end when a scoop of vanilla ice cream cost us $6. I would suggest this as a treat for 1 meal while vacationing but not to try to eat there daily while at the resort.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

72% Recommend
    13
    8
    3
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lebanon, Tennessee
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good service, good food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Very nice!!! Wonderful food on the outside patio, overlooking Lake Geneva.... What could be better!!!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Do not eat here”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Prime rib at buffet was undercooked. They ran out of crab legs so we didn't get any. The baked potato bar was ok but the potato I had was undercooked. Totally over priced for the quality of food you will be served. The desserts tasted like they came straight from a box from the frozen food aisle.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington Heights, Illinois
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Nice Sunday brunch.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

Everything that you desired it was there,starting with huge fresh shrimp,I absolutely enjoyed it,all kind of carved meat,eggs,fresh fruits,cheeses of all kinde,and of course the Mimosas,that was a nic touch also.Server was great,and the ambience very festive.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Every Dish a Treat!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

My wife and I had an anniversary dinner at the Fontana Grill inside The Abbey resort in Fontana, Wisconsin, on Geneva Lake. We visited on a Monday, a slow time for many restaurants in this area, particularly in the Fall after the main tourist season has come to an end; there were perhaps at most four other tables occupied. Neither the Fontana Grill or The Abbey's other restaurant, The Waterfront, are actually on the water front, which was a disappointment to my wife. We had a seat by the window which provides a view of the adjoining marina, still water but not what she had imagined. Just the way it is.

Anyway, we received a warm welcome by the staff, including a "Happy Anniversary" as we were seated -- when I called I had mentioned it was our anniversary and obviously a note had been made with the reservation; the server also mentioned it.

The menu changes periodically, from the appetizers to the main courses to the deserts. We enjoyed an appetizer of seared tuna sashimi - excellent. Following the appetizer we were served a palate cleanser, the name of which escapes me. Main courses came with either a salad or soup du jour. My wife had a wonderful green salad and I had crab bisque soup, which was simply outstanding. For dinner, my wife had baked salmon which she truly enjoyed. I had beef tenderloin with crimini mushrooms and pasta. Fresh steamed asparagus spears were on the side; best I've ever had. Several different types of breads and rolls were also served, along with a sweet butter and freshly made cheese spread that was smooth as butter. We were so full after finishing these courses that we had no room for any of the desert choices...but we ordered a piece of chocolate cake to take home with us for later; the slice was HUGE, drizzled with a raspberry source and topped with a dash of whipped cream and a flower garnish. Really a nice surprise when opening up the standard styrofoam container when we got home.

The cost for each of these main courses ran in the neighborhood of $25 each. If memory serves, the sashimi appetizer was $13. With a couple bottles of Pelligrino mineral water and tax (they comped the cake slice for our anniversary, nice touch!) the total tab came to about $85. Tip was on top of that, of course.

It was a very wonderful fine dining experience, although it was almost too much for us to eat. But what a great problem to have in this case! If you're looking for a top-notch food experience in the Lake Geneva area, make sure you check out the Fontana Grill inside The Abbey. You won't regret it.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fontana Grill also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fontana Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.