We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average Resort Food” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Waterfront

The Waterfront
269 Fontana Blvd., Abbey Resort, Fontana, WI 53125
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The Waterfront is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #5 of 9 Restaurants in Fontana
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Highway 67
Longmont, Colorado
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Average Resort Food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

Fairly high prices and an uninspired menu start the experience. Typical resort food with a little something for everyone: salads, burgers, wraps, and sandwiches. Very young servers make up for their average service with a great attitude and smile. I dine here 3-4 times per year for lunch with 4-8 people per visit. Something is always messed up with the order. They just don't seem to care which is sad considering the location in the resort and the fine views.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    25
    12
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dana Point, California
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“BAR SCENE AT NIGHT WAS ENJOYABLE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

So, I need to start off saying that I rarely drink - ever. I had a conference at the Abbey and we stayed 3 nights. The food at the Waterfront restaurant wasn't great, I can't lie. My colleague had a BBQ chicken quesadilla at the Waterfront BAR and loved it. I had a few gin and tonics, he had whiskey. Jayne was our bartender and she was awesome. Nice, genuine, not pushy and not showing tons of cleavage to get a tip. Her personality was great. We listened to a live band that wasn't too loud and before I knew it, it was 2am.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shorewood, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Good BBQ”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

I didn't like the fact this place is connected to the Abbey. That hotel is TERRIBLE! The hotel staff is unprofessional. Do not stay at the Abbey Resort and Spa. It's loud.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Limited menu”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

The menu semed somewhat limited. The smoked ribs and chicken were delicious. Their BBQ sauces were worth buying a bottle to take home. They needed more steak options on the menu.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington Heights, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Food Okay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

The food was average. I would suggest burgers or sandwiches. The steak left something to be desired. Wasn't able to participate in the evening when they had a band; however, on our next trip would like to try that.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Waterfront also viewed

 

Been to The Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Waterfront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.