We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loud and good food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gordy's Boat House Bar & Restaurant

Gordy's Boat House Bar & Restaurant
336 Lake St, Fontana, WI 53125
(262) 275-6800
Website
Menu
Update restaurant details
Ranked #1 of 8 restaurants in Fontana
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Osage Beach, Missouri
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Loud and good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

If you like loud restaurants where most people yell and not talk - this is your place. Food was good and service excellent.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

75% Recommend
    26
    19
    12
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lake Geneva, Wisconsin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“good food...fun atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

this restaurant has GREAT service everytime...
food is above average for a bar/restaurant.
Great view.
We eat here all the time and it is always consistant in
service and food.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

This bar and grill is right on the water. It is a fun atmosphere and has a nice little night life crowd. Great food and service too.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Ok food -great beer selection”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

My ribs were a bit dry, food with our group looked ok. Chicken Marsala was fab. Server was very nice, I liked the atmosphere

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Bring your coat”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

As another reviewer stated, the AC is turned up so high in this place, you literally need a coat. It's freezing. This is one of those places that looks like it will be great when you walk in, but the experience is just so-so. I ordered a Bloody Mary, which they promote as being their own mix, and was disappointed. Way too much Worcestershire sauce, IMO, but I guess everyone likes theirs a little different. The beer chaser is always a welcome Bloody addition. We ordered the cheese curds, which were fine, but not memorable, and split a salad, which was ok. We ordered the pasta and the fish tacos for entrees. The fish tacos were very dry, and the fish tasted like perhaps it was yesterday's re-purposed special. We had to order more sauce for the pasta because it was also very dry. I'm giving Gordy's three stars because when it comes to restaurants in Midwest lake or river towns, we have yet to find any really good ones. Gordy's is pretty much the same as all the others we've encountered. Just make sure to bring your coat to this one.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gordy's Boat House Bar & Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Gordy's Boat House Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gordy's Boat House Bar & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.