We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic, Beautiful, Relaxing, and fun!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Abbey Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Abbey Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Abbey Resort & Spa
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   269 Fontana Blvd., Fontana, WI 53125   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Fontana
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Chicago
1 review
“Romantic, Beautiful, Relaxing, and fun!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2011

My husband and I chose to stay in a suite for our 20th anniversary at the Abbey. We loved it! The suite was spacious and beautiful. We used the pool and hot tub in the Avani spa it was very relaxing.
We are not normally interested in buffet style dining but we tried the dinner and breakfast and both were fantastic. The food was fresh with a great variety of food to choose from. The view from the Fontana Bar and Grill is beautiful!
Service was great too.
The employees are very friendly and professional.
I will recommend this hotel to friends and family.
It was a perfect romantic getaway for two and I saw so many families enjoying the faciliaty too. I think it would be a great place for a family reunion as well... So much to do even in the winter.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnatTheAbbey, Manager at Abbey Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 6, 2011
Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you very much for sharing with us your comments on your recent stay at The Abbey Resort and Avani Spa. There is nothing that gives our team of associates more satisfaction than to read a glowing report such as yours. We share each and every review with our team members.

I am delighted that you enjoyed our award winning Spa so much and were able to sample the delicious food at the Fontana Grill. It will be our pleasure to serve you on your next visit to our resort.

Sincerely yours,
John Morris
Avani Spa Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

680 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    320
    189
    96
    42
    33
See reviews for
169
259
11
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Morris, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2011

Great place, would like to see it in the summer also.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Allis, Wisconsin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2011

We had our Sorority reunion here during the weekend of Feb 25th - 27th, and we were so impressed with the beauty of the Resort. There was much to do, including Avanti Spa, swimming, and shopping. The beds were so comfortable, and the housekeeping of the rooms and grounds was spectacular. All of the girls who attended (about 50 in total), raved about the accomodations and the wonderful weekend we had. We are planning to have next year's reunion there as well, and if the Abbey continues to provide such excellent service, we will be having it there for many more years to come!!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnatTheAbbey, Manager at Abbey Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 6, 2011
Dear Guest,

I would like to express our appreciation for your taking the time to share with us and others your thoughts on your recent stay at the Abbey Resort and Avani Spa.

We specialize in hosting Sorority Reunions and it gives us immense pleasure to observe life long friends reconnect here at our beautiful resort. We take great pride in our housekeeping service and I will be sure to pass on your compliments to our hard working and dedicated team of associates. We agree that the Avani Spa is the perfect location to relax and unwind and we look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely yours,
John Morris
Avani Spa Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2011

My friend and I have a 2 day get away every year for 20 years to the Abbey Spa and we love the surroundings, services, and the hotel! Highly recommend it!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnatTheAbbey, Manager at Abbey Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 20, 2011
Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for sharing with others how happy that you were on your recent stay at The Abbey Resort and Avani Spa. Our associates take great pride in delivering outstanding customer service to our guests and we will be sure to share your comments with them. It is particularly gratifying to receive such a glowing review from someone such as yourself who has been visting us for over 20 years!

Every year we continue to make improvements to The Abbey Resort and Avani Spa. We eagerly anticipate making your 21st visit even more special.

Sincerely yours,
John Morris
Avani Spa Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois USA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2011

The Abbey was wonderful. The room was very updated, flat screen TV, great appointments in the bathroom, great view, a Paul Bunyan bed! and a lovely room. We had two 80 minute massages which included use of the spa for two days and the spa pool. Our room was included. We ate at the Waterfront Grill and food was pretty good. We felt like we were "cocooned." The staff couldn't have been nicer or more accomodating. If you like a quiet beautiful place for a winter getaway........The Abbey is the place to go!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnatTheAbbey, Manager at Abbey Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 20, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind comments on your recent stay at The Abbey Resort and Avani Spa. On behalf of our wonderfully talented and dedicated team of associates it was our pleasure to be your host. There is nothing that gives us more satisfaction than to read how pleased you were with your vacation here.

The Avani Spa contiues to receive rave reviews and we are told what a great antidote that it is from all the stress of everyday life. We look forward with great anticipation to your next visit.

Sincerely yours,
John Morris
Avani Spa Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2011

Overall a good value. Four friends had a great time. We enjoyed having 2 rooms adjoining. Beds are very high so if you are old and can't jump up, you might have a problem or bring a step stool with you! Rooms are quaint, very clean and nice. Don't wait until you get there to decide what spa services you might want. Should call ahead and talk to spa people about scheduling services. if you don't like Starbucks coffee, best to bring your own because that is all that is available at the resort.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnatTheAbbey, Manager at Abbey Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 6, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing The Abbey Resort and Avani Spa for your recent stay. We are delighted that you had an enjoyable experience and that you took the time to share your thoughts on Trip Advisor.

We do have step stools available at our front desk to help guests who need a little extra assistance with our ultra deep pillow top mattresses. We will place a note in your files to make sure we remind you of this on your next visit. We are proud of our association with Starbucks but we also have a delicious French Roast brand available in each room and suite.

It was our pleasure to serve you and we eagerly await your return where we hope to exceed your expectations again.

Sincerely,

David Lindelow
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2011

My partner and I had a gift certificate for a one night stay which also included one hour in the Avani Spa Suite. We took the opportunity to schedule a couples massage before enjoying the whirlpool in the private spa suite. Our room was charming and extremely comfortable. The service at the spa was top notch. Everyone, from the woman at the front desk to our masseuses were wonderful. The amenities can't be beat. The only down side was that we were not thrilled with anything on the menu that evening at the Fontana Grill. We had to travel to the next town to find an establishment opened and serving food at 8:30 at night.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnatTheAbbey, Manager at Abbey Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 20, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your thoughts with us on your recent stay at The Abbey Resort and Avani Spa. I am delighted to hear that you received such great service at the Spa. We receive many comments from guests just like yourself on how wonderful the treatments are and how luxurious our private spa suite is.

I am sorry to hear that you found the menu at the Fontana Grill to be lacking. I do have some exciting news to relay regarding our Food and Beverage options. We recently revamped our menu with some incredibly delicious selections. I believe you will be very happy to sample these on your next visit. We look forward to serving you again soon.

Sincerely yours,
John Morris
Avani Spa Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Abbey Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbey Resort & Spa

Address: 269 Fontana Blvd., Fontana, WI 53125
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Fontana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Fontana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Abbey Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 334
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to the lake at one of the Midwest's most iconic destinations. Whether you are vacationing on a girlfriends' getaway, business retreat, romantic escape or fun filled family vacation, The Abbey Resort brings you the best of the Lake Geneva experience. The Abbey Resort, on the shores of beautiful Lake Geneva, features 90 acres of manicured grounds. This Lake Geneva resort features lodge inspired accommodations with contemporary conveniences and facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Abbey Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbey Resort And Spa
Abbey Hotel Fontana
Abbey Hotel And Fontana
Abbey Resort And Fontana
Abbey Wisconsin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Abbey Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.