We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“spa treatment” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Abbey Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Abbey Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Abbey Resort & Spa
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   269 Fontana Blvd., Fontana, WI 53125   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Fontana
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
“spa treatment”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

excellent customer service especially Gaby very personable and knowledgeable also recommended future treatments got pedicure very satisfied also enjoyed Amy in the bar area apple martinis were the bomb and she was very friendly and the piano man was good also enjoyed the sunday brunch food and atmosphere by the fireplace

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sara S, Guest Relations Manager at Abbey Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Renettaq,

Thank you for your recent review and your very kind comments about the outstanding customer service you received from Gabby and Amy. I will be sure to share your comments with their managers. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Kind regards,
Sara Schmitz
Guest relations manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

587 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    270
    160
    85
    40
    32
See reviews for
144
228
9
44
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Northbrook, Illinois
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

Stayed here for a couple of days around Thanksgiving. Would give this place a much higher rating except for the following.

Depending on your room location, you may have to take a very long hike to get to your room. if you are mobility challenged, be sure to get an accessable room - this place is not the easiest place to navigate - lots of strairways, elevators are available, but not where you always want them. I don't see an issue with the hotel placing you in a better location, but be prepared to walk no matter where you stay.

Biggest issue are the walls and ceiling. The walls between rooms are paper thin. Our neighbors were not noisy in the pure sense of the word. But the fact that they enjoyed singing Jingle Bells and other carols and it was loud enough for us to participate says a lot. We were also able to participate in their general conversation because it was so clear through the walls. Did not make for the best sleep. The ceiling has the same problem - don't know what was above us - a herd of elephants, or just normal walking by children but it was loud and very intrusive, making for a lousy night of sleep.

I suppose you can demand a second floor room so at least you won't get the stomping - but it won't help the noise from the walls.

These issues alone would prevent me from going back.

On the positive side: Staff was very welcoming. Rooms have been updated and were very comfortable. Guests as a group were very polite. We had Thanksgiving dinner - and they ran a first class shop. it was well organized - plenty of great food and lots of options. They limited the reservations at different times so as not to crowd the buffets - just shows a well thought out plan.

Bottom line -can probably enjoy The Abbey more during the summer, or after a nice snowfall and Geneva Lake is frozen. Try to get a second floor room. Can't handle the room noise - don't go.

Room Tip: Second floor room - end of hall to avoid at least one noisy wall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sara S, Guest Relations Manager at Abbey Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Mchud,
Thank you for your comments. I am pleased to hear that you found our staff welcoming, the rooms comfortable and our Thanksgiving dinner top notch. I do apologize that you found it difficult to navigate our resort. Also, while it does not change your experience, we do have plans to increase our signage throughout the property making it easier for guests to find through way around our 90 acre property. We hope you will return for a future stay.

Kind regards,
Sara Schmitz
Guest relations manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

we were able to get a view of the lake and enjoyed sitting on the balcony much more than the courtyard/pool view. we also enjoyed hanging out by one of their fire pits. However, they are not burning real wood so there is not much heat put out. You lounge by the fire pit for the ambience not the warmth. We dined at the onsite breakfast spot. I purchased the breakfast buffet...I was hungry. I regretted this decision as my wifes eggs and hashbrowns were much better. However, i let my appetite get the best of me. I think the buffett is fine, i'm just not a huge fan of buffett's...not sure why i went that route!

Room Tip: pick a lakeside room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sara S, Guest Relations Manager at Abbey Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Derek1005,
Thank you for your 5-star review of The Abbey Resort and Avani Spa. Relaxing on the balcony and taking in the beautiful lake views sounds like a great way to spend an afternoon. We look forward to your return visit.

Kind regards,
Sara Schmitz
Guest relations manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

I recently stayed at the Abbey Resort & Spa and couldn't be more pleased. What a perfect getaway from the city. Hotel ammenites, cozy rooms, and an amazing staff that were always incredibly heplful and friendly at ALL times throughout the Abbey Resort as well as in the Avani Spa. I will definitely return in the warmer months! Thank you Abbey Resort for making a weekend getaway peaceful and relaxing.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sara S, Guest Relations Manager at Abbey Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Blutang,

You are very welcome and thank you for your 5-star review. I am delighted to hear that The Abbey was the perfect escape from the city, and that you found our staff helpful and friendly. As you stated that you will be returning in the warmer months, might I suggest you follow us on Facebook to stay appraised of activities and promotions. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Kind regards,
Sara Schmitz
Guest relations manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Forest, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

Our family had a wonderful time attending my nephew and new niece's wedding at the Abbey Resort and Spa. What a gorgeous setting and all the amenities, we really enjoyed our stay. Our beautiful breakfasts next to the grand fireplace, while we enjoyed talented musical treats from Mr. Stanfield, really made our day. The Harbor Ballroom was exquisite for the wedding and the dinner was delicious. We are still savoring the entire experience, thank you all Abbey Staff.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sara S, Guest Relations Manager at Abbey Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Linda B -

I am delighted to hear that the wedding for your nephew and new niece was a 5-star experience. Thank you for your review and for the kind comments about the rooms, food, views and entertainment. We hope that we will have the opportunity to host you once again.

Kind regards,
Sara Schmitz
Guest relations manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

Have visited The Abbey & Avani Spa several times. We so enjoy the peaceful surroundings and welcoming staff. Have never been disappointed in fact are happier each time we visit. Comfortable quiet rooms, love the nautical touch.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sara S, Guest Relations Manager at Abbey Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Geo V,
Thank you for your review. I am delighted to hear that you continue to select The Abbey when visiting the Lake Geneva area, and that we continue to provide you with exceptional service! We greatly appreciate our return guests, and we look forward to your next stay!
Kind regards,
Sara Schmitz
Guest relations manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois City, Illinois
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

We just returned from a relaxing 2 nights celebrating our anniversary at our favorite resort. The snow was falling as we arrived making the grounds even more beautiful. After unpacking and a quick trip to downtown Lake Geneva - we settled in with a glass of wine by the fire in the main lobby. We had a King harbor view room - which was perfect. The rooms are immaculate, the bed comfortable. The bathroom is large with plenty of counter space. A sofa and coffee table were perfect for enjoying our evening appetizers ordered and quickly delivered by the Fontana Grill. Each spacious room has a fridge/microwave and coffee maker.

We absolutely love the Abbey. The building and grounds are beautiful and well kept. It seems they are always updating or sprucing up some area of the resort. I have never seen cleaning staff tackle a room as this staff does. We saw rooms with dressers pulled away from the walls for vacuuming/cleaning. The halls always look freshly vacuumed.

The staff are the most efficient and friendly of any place we have stayed. Sarah is always so helpful when making arrangements for us and ensures a wonderful stay whenever we visit. She made our anniversary visit so special of which we are very grateful. Chelsea was warm and welcoming when we arrived and check in was quick and efficient. Alex at the front desk was always accommodating and friendly. There are so many wonderful staff members at the Abbey, each one friendly, efficient and professional - Greg and Paul who helped us with our luggage, Chris in the Fontana Grill who served us breakfast each morning - she is the waitress that you hope to have wherever you dine. Friendly, informative and efficient! Without exception, every staff member greeted us warmly at every encounter. We were sorry not to see Jose. I don't think you will find a nicer resort in the Lake Geneva area and we have stayed at most of them. I spent several hours at the Avani spa relaxing by the most beautiful pool. The fitness room is great and available to all Abbey guests. The gift shop has a great selection of wines and snacks as well as clothing, books, jewelry and gift items. We always enjoy perusing and have never left empty handed.

Since our first visit to the Abbey just over 2 years ago, we have visited many times, and each time we leave refreshed and anticipating our next visit.

Room Tip: We enjoy Harbor view rooms/villas
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sara S, Guest Relations Manager at Abbey Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Illinois1,

Thank you for your 5-star review of The Abbey Resort and Avani Spa. I appreciate you sharing your comments about the outstanding service you received from our staff, and for specifically naming those who made your stay extra special. We greatly appreciate our return guests and thank you for noticing all the little things we do to enhance the guest experience. Happy anniversary and we look forward to your next stay!
Kind regards,
Sara Schmitz
Guest relations manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Abbey Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbey Resort & Spa

Address: 269 Fontana Blvd., Fontana, WI 53125
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Fontana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Fontana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Abbey Resort & Spa 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to the lake at one of the Midwest's most iconic destinations. Whether you are vacationing on a girlfriends' getaway, business retreat, romantic escape or fun filled family vacation, The Abbey Resort brings you the best of the Lake Geneva experience. The Abbey Resort, on the shores of beautiful Lake Geneva, features 90 acres of manicured grounds. This Lake Geneva resort features lodge inspired accommodations with contemporary conveniences and facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your Abbey Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbey Hotel Fontana
Abbey Resort And Spa
Abbey Hotel And Fontana
Abbey Resort And Fontana
Abbey Wisconsin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Abbey Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.