We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“go for the view of the lake” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Abbey Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Abbey Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Abbey Resort & Spa
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   269 Fontana Blvd., Fontana, WI 53125   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Fontana
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“go for the view of the lake”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

we were able to get a view of the lake and enjoyed sitting on the balcony much more than the courtyard/pool view. we also enjoyed hanging out by one of their fire pits. However, they are not burning real wood so there is not much heat put out. You lounge by the fire pit for the ambience not the warmth. We dined at the onsite breakfast spot. I purchased the breakfast buffet...I was hungry. I regretted this decision as my wifes eggs and hashbrowns were much better. However, i let my appetite get the best of me. I think the buffett is fine, i'm just not a huge fan of buffett's...not sure why i went that route!

Room Tip: pick a lakeside room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sara S, Guest Relations Manager at Abbey Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Derek1005,
Thank you for your 5-star review of The Abbey Resort and Avani Spa. Relaxing on the balcony and taking in the beautiful lake views sounds like a great way to spend an afternoon. We look forward to your return visit.

Kind regards,
Sara Schmitz
Guest relations manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

548 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    257
    147
    75
    39
    30
See reviews for
132
217
9
42
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

I recently stayed at the Abbey Resort & Spa and couldn't be more pleased. What a perfect getaway from the city. Hotel ammenites, cozy rooms, and an amazing staff that were always incredibly heplful and friendly at ALL times throughout the Abbey Resort as well as in the Avani Spa. I will definitely return in the warmer months! Thank you Abbey Resort for making a weekend getaway peaceful and relaxing.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sara S, Guest Relations Manager at Abbey Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Blutang,

You are very welcome and thank you for your 5-star review. I am delighted to hear that The Abbey was the perfect escape from the city, and that you found our staff helpful and friendly. As you stated that you will be returning in the warmer months, might I suggest you follow us on Facebook to stay appraised of activities and promotions. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Kind regards,
Sara Schmitz
Guest relations manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Forest, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

Our family had a wonderful time attending my nephew and new niece's wedding at the Abbey Resort and Spa. What a gorgeous setting and all the amenities, we really enjoyed our stay. Our beautiful breakfasts next to the grand fireplace, while we enjoyed talented musical treats from Mr. Stanfield, really made our day. The Harbor Ballroom was exquisite for the wedding and the dinner was delicious. We are still savoring the entire experience, thank you all Abbey Staff.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sara S, Guest Relations Manager at Abbey Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Linda B -

I am delighted to hear that the wedding for your nephew and new niece was a 5-star experience. Thank you for your review and for the kind comments about the rooms, food, views and entertainment. We hope that we will have the opportunity to host you once again.

Kind regards,
Sara Schmitz
Guest relations manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

Have visited The Abbey & Avani Spa several times. We so enjoy the peaceful surroundings and welcoming staff. Have never been disappointed in fact are happier each time we visit. Comfortable quiet rooms, love the nautical touch.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sara S, Guest Relations Manager at Abbey Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Geo V,
Thank you for your review. I am delighted to hear that you continue to select The Abbey when visiting the Lake Geneva area, and that we continue to provide you with exceptional service! We greatly appreciate our return guests, and we look forward to your next stay!
Kind regards,
Sara Schmitz
Guest relations manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois City, Illinois
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

We just returned from a relaxing 2 nights celebrating our anniversary at our favorite resort. The snow was falling as we arrived making the grounds even more beautiful. After unpacking and a quick trip to downtown Lake Geneva - we settled in with a glass of wine by the fire in the main lobby. We had a King harbor view room - which was perfect. The rooms are immaculate, the bed comfortable. The bathroom is large with plenty of counter space. A sofa and coffee table were perfect for enjoying our evening appetizers ordered and quickly delivered by the Fontana Grill. Each spacious room has a fridge/microwave and coffee maker.

We absolutely love the Abbey. The building and grounds are beautiful and well kept. It seems they are always updating or sprucing up some area of the resort. I have never seen cleaning staff tackle a room as this staff does. We saw rooms with dressers pulled away from the walls for vacuuming/cleaning. The halls always look freshly vacuumed.

The staff are the most efficient and friendly of any place we have stayed. Sarah is always so helpful when making arrangements for us and ensures a wonderful stay whenever we visit. She made our anniversary visit so special of which we are very grateful. Chelsea was warm and welcoming when we arrived and check in was quick and efficient. Alex at the front desk was always accommodating and friendly. There are so many wonderful staff members at the Abbey, each one friendly, efficient and professional - Greg and Paul who helped us with our luggage, Chris in the Fontana Grill who served us breakfast each morning - she is the waitress that you hope to have wherever you dine. Friendly, informative and efficient! Without exception, every staff member greeted us warmly at every encounter. We were sorry not to see Jose. I don't think you will find a nicer resort in the Lake Geneva area and we have stayed at most of them. I spent several hours at the Avani spa relaxing by the most beautiful pool. The fitness room is great and available to all Abbey guests. The gift shop has a great selection of wines and snacks as well as clothing, books, jewelry and gift items. We always enjoy perusing and have never left empty handed.

Since our first visit to the Abbey just over 2 years ago, we have visited many times, and each time we leave refreshed and anticipating our next visit.

Room Tip: We enjoy Harbor view rooms/villas
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sara S, Guest Relations Manager at Abbey Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Illinois1,

Thank you for your 5-star review of The Abbey Resort and Avani Spa. I appreciate you sharing your comments about the outstanding service you received from our staff, and for specifically naming those who made your stay extra special. We greatly appreciate our return guests and thank you for noticing all the little things we do to enhance the guest experience. Happy anniversary and we look forward to your next stay!
Kind regards,
Sara Schmitz
Guest relations manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fox Lake, Illinois, USA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

We had a family trip with 3 generations and all three 1) Had fun, 2) Slept comfortably and 3) Ate well. We had a good seasonal rate and lots of Halloween extras. The hotel was not packed this time either, so we had our run of the nice salt water pool and arcade too.

Room Tip: 1st floor further down (14, 15, 16 banks of rooms) give you a great view of the marina if you are on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sara S, Guest Relations Manager at Abbey Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Sangshady45,

Thank you for your review. We are honored that The Abbey was be part of your family memories and that all three generations found plenty to do during your stay. We look forward to your future return.
Kind regards,
Sara Schmitz
Guest relations manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Florida
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013 via mobile

My husband, son and I spent 3 days at the resort for a business meeting. It was off season, so not all the amenities were available. Our room had a beautiful view, clean and fresh linens, very quiet and comfy. Equipped with TV, mini fridge, communication door (great for big families). Bathroom were carefully maintained, stocked daily. We had plenty off time for swimming (indoor warm pool), paid child care was available but we didn't really need. If you like game boards, you can spend hours in the area adjacent to the pool playing game boards. This area has a special elevator for handicap people to get down the stairs and right next to it is a small Arcade area. There are 2 restaurants and 1 Cafe. Unfortunately the hours were not so great. The Cafe was opened for just few hours (off season). The food was ok. We drove to Lake Geneva for most meals. The Spa is a nice option but very expensive. It was nice to walk on the property and sit outside in the evening to hear the sounds coming from the Marina. Overall I think it was nice, staff was very polite. The housekeeping lady in charge off our room didn't speak English so communication was a little odd :) still we managed well. I would like to go back during season and compare the service and amenities.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sara S, Guest Relations Manager at Abbey Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Llovetotravel211,
Thank you for your review. It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your stay. As you are looking to return again, might I suggest that you sign up for our online emails via our website to stay apprised of discounts and promotions we are running. We look forward to welcoming you again.
Kind regards,
Sara Schmitz
Guest relations manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Abbey Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbey Resort & Spa

Address: 269 Fontana Blvd., Fontana, WI 53125
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Fontana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Fontana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Abbey Resort & Spa 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to the lake at one of the Midwest's most iconic destinations. Whether you are vacationing on a girlfriends' getaway, business retreat, romantic escape or fun filled family vacation, The Abbey Resort brings you the best of the Lake Geneva experience. The Abbey Resort, on the shores of beautiful Lake Geneva, features 90 acres of manicured grounds. This Lake Geneva resort features lodge inspired accommodations with contemporary conveniences and facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Abbey Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbey Hotel Fontana
Abbey Resort And Spa
Abbey Hotel And Fontana
Abbey Resort And Fontana
Abbey Wisconsin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Abbey Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.