We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“November at the Abbey” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Abbey Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Abbey Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Abbey Resort & Spa
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   269 Fontana Blvd., Fontana, WI 53125   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Fontana
Illinois City, Illinois
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“November at the Abbey”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

We just returned from a relaxing 2 nights celebrating our anniversary at our favorite resort. The snow was falling as we arrived making the grounds even more beautiful. After unpacking and a quick trip to downtown Lake Geneva - we settled in with a glass of wine by the fire in the main lobby. We had a King harbor view room - which was perfect. The rooms are immaculate, the bed comfortable. The bathroom is large with plenty of counter space. A sofa and coffee table were perfect for enjoying our evening appetizers ordered and quickly delivered by the Fontana Grill. Each spacious room has a fridge/microwave and coffee maker.

We absolutely love the Abbey. The building and grounds are beautiful and well kept. It seems they are always updating or sprucing up some area of the resort. I have never seen cleaning staff tackle a room as this staff does. We saw rooms with dressers pulled away from the walls for vacuuming/cleaning. The halls always look freshly vacuumed.

The staff are the most efficient and friendly of any place we have stayed. Sarah is always so helpful when making arrangements for us and ensures a wonderful stay whenever we visit. She made our anniversary visit so special of which we are very grateful. Chelsea was warm and welcoming when we arrived and check in was quick and efficient. Alex at the front desk was always accommodating and friendly. There are so many wonderful staff members at the Abbey, each one friendly, efficient and professional - Greg and Paul who helped us with our luggage, Chris in the Fontana Grill who served us breakfast each morning - she is the waitress that you hope to have wherever you dine. Friendly, informative and efficient! Without exception, every staff member greeted us warmly at every encounter. We were sorry not to see Jose. I don't think you will find a nicer resort in the Lake Geneva area and we have stayed at most of them. I spent several hours at the Avani spa relaxing by the most beautiful pool. The fitness room is great and available to all Abbey guests. The gift shop has a great selection of wines and snacks as well as clothing, books, jewelry and gift items. We always enjoy perusing and have never left empty handed.

Since our first visit to the Abbey just over 2 years ago, we have visited many times, and each time we leave refreshed and anticipating our next visit.

Room Tip: We enjoy Harbor view rooms/villas
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sara S, Guest Relations Manager at Abbey Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Illinois1,

Thank you for your 5-star review of The Abbey Resort and Avani Spa. I appreciate you sharing your comments about the outstanding service you received from our staff, and for specifically naming those who made your stay extra special. We greatly appreciate our return guests and thank you for noticing all the little things we do to enhance the guest experience. Happy anniversary and we look forward to your next stay!
Kind regards,
Sara Schmitz
Guest relations manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

573 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    264
    155
    83
    40
    31
See reviews for
140
223
9
44
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fox Lake, Illinois, USA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

We had a family trip with 3 generations and all three 1) Had fun, 2) Slept comfortably and 3) Ate well. We had a good seasonal rate and lots of Halloween extras. The hotel was not packed this time either, so we had our run of the nice salt water pool and arcade too.

Room Tip: 1st floor further down (14, 15, 16 banks of rooms) give you a great view of the marina if you are on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sara S, Guest Relations Manager at Abbey Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Sangshady45,

Thank you for your review. We are honored that The Abbey was be part of your family memories and that all three generations found plenty to do during your stay. We look forward to your future return.
Kind regards,
Sara Schmitz
Guest relations manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Florida
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013 via mobile

My husband, son and I spent 3 days at the resort for a business meeting. It was off season, so not all the amenities were available. Our room had a beautiful view, clean and fresh linens, very quiet and comfy. Equipped with TV, mini fridge, communication door (great for big families). Bathroom were carefully maintained, stocked daily. We had plenty off time for swimming (indoor warm pool), paid child care was available but we didn't really need. If you like game boards, you can spend hours in the area adjacent to the pool playing game boards. This area has a special elevator for handicap people to get down the stairs and right next to it is a small Arcade area. There are 2 restaurants and 1 Cafe. Unfortunately the hours were not so great. The Cafe was opened for just few hours (off season). The food was ok. We drove to Lake Geneva for most meals. The Spa is a nice option but very expensive. It was nice to walk on the property and sit outside in the evening to hear the sounds coming from the Marina. Overall I think it was nice, staff was very polite. The housekeeping lady in charge off our room didn't speak English so communication was a little odd :) still we managed well. I would like to go back during season and compare the service and amenities.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sara S, Guest Relations Manager at Abbey Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Llovetotravel211,
Thank you for your review. It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your stay. As you are looking to return again, might I suggest that you sign up for our online emails via our website to stay apprised of discounts and promotions we are running. We look forward to welcoming you again.
Kind regards,
Sara Schmitz
Guest relations manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palatine
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Great amenities, services, good room. Loved the peaceful private court yard and other areas available to customers getting spa services. Location of hotel was very much opposite spot on lake from the downtown Lake Geneva area, but was surprised with just how far we had to drive to get there.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sara S, Guest Relations Manager at Abbey Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Anne L,
Thank you for your review. I am pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable stay. It sounds like you were also able to enjoy our spa and some R&R while you were here. While we are located 10 miles from the downtown area, we do offer a complimentary shuttle service to the downtown area. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again.
Kind regards,
Sara Schmitz
Guest relations manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

I spent several evenings searching for just the right place for a small get-away for our 26th anniversary, and finally settled on the Abbey Resort and Spa. It was a great choice as we experience great service, a very clean and nicely appointed room, and peace and quiet. We were not looking for tons of activities, just a restful stay. We were able to check in early which allowed us to unload our car before we took off to explore Lake Geneva, and the surrounding area. We decided to eat around 9pm and we went to the Waterfront for a light evening meal. Food was good and the waiter was attentive and offered great service. The king sized bed was very comfortable and that was a pleasant surprise, as I am picky about the beds I sleep in and don't always get good sleep when we travel. This place is great for couples.

Room Tip: If you go in the summer, then you may want to look over the harbor. If you have children and they w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sara S, Guest Relations Manager at Abbey Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear Easytoplease338,

Congratulations on your wedding anniversary! I am delighted to hear that we were the perfect getaway for your special weekend. Providing our guests with superior service is what we strive to do everyday, and I am pleased to hear that we delivered on that promise. We hope that you will have an opportunity to stay with us again.

Kind regards,
Sara Schmitz
Guest relations manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Bluff, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Perfect weather always makes for a good weekend but the Abbey Resort made it special with a bonfires, s'mores, caramel apples, a pool glow night and much more. Easy access to Geneva Lake and the walking trail was awesome. Nice on site restaurants and cozy rooms.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sara S, Guest Relations Manager at Abbey Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Organized_Chaos_69,
Thank you for your 5-star review of The Abbey Resort and Avani Spa. I am delighted to hear that you had such an enjoyable fall weekend, complete with bonfires, s’mores and of course, caramel apples. The shore path walk along Lake Geneva is definitely a must do when staying here. I am glad you were able to enjoy great weather and the beauty of the area. We look forward to your return.

Kind regards,
Sara Schmitz
Guest relations manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

We stayed for an onsite wedding. The customer service was fantastic. We were there at the start of off season. The staff opened the day care area whenever we asked so my 5 year old could play. They gave her access to art supplies and games. All the arcade games worked which pleased our 11 year old. Also the dining staff were friendly and attentive. Excellent staff at the complex. Our only disappointment was they were unable to accommodate our request for joining rooms for easier access to our kids. Also the indoor pool was warm and clean but the kids area was outdated and very dark. The outdoor pools and water play area were beautiful but it was too cold for us to enjoy. We had a great stately. Super comfy bed too. Would be worth trying the spa as well. Looked very professional and clean.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sara S, Guest Relations Manager at Abbey Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Rlentz7,

Thank you for the 5-Star review. I am happy to hear that you had such an enjoyable stay, and I appreciate you sharing your comments about the outstanding service you received from our staff. We hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you and your family again.

Kind regards,
Sara Schmitz
Guest relations manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Abbey Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbey Resort & Spa

Address: 269 Fontana Blvd., Fontana, WI 53125
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Fontana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Fontana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Abbey Resort & Spa 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to the lake at one of the Midwest's most iconic destinations. Whether you are vacationing on a girlfriends' getaway, business retreat, romantic escape or fun filled family vacation, The Abbey Resort brings you the best of the Lake Geneva experience. The Abbey Resort, on the shores of beautiful Lake Geneva, features 90 acres of manicured grounds. This Lake Geneva resort features lodge inspired accommodations with contemporary conveniences and facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Abbey Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbey Hotel Fontana
Abbey Resort And Spa
Abbey Hotel And Fontana
Abbey Resort And Fontana
Abbey Wisconsin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Abbey Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.