We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great fall Wkend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Abbey Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Abbey Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Abbey Resort & Spa
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   269 Fontana Blvd., Fontana, WI 53125   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Fontana
Lake Bluff, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great fall Wkend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Perfect weather always makes for a good weekend but the Abbey Resort made it special with a bonfires, s'mores, caramel apples, a pool glow night and much more. Easy access to Geneva Lake and the walking trail was awesome. Nice on site restaurants and cozy rooms.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sara S, Guest Relations Manager at Abbey Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Organized_Chaos_69,
Thank you for your 5-star review of The Abbey Resort and Avani Spa. I am delighted to hear that you had such an enjoyable fall weekend, complete with bonfires, s’mores and of course, caramel apples. The shore path walk along Lake Geneva is definitely a must do when staying here. I am glad you were able to enjoy great weather and the beauty of the area. We look forward to your return.

Kind regards,
Sara Schmitz
Guest relations manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

568 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    263
    152
    82
    40
    31
See reviews for
140
222
9
44
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

We stayed for an onsite wedding. The customer service was fantastic. We were there at the start of off season. The staff opened the day care area whenever we asked so my 5 year old could play. They gave her access to art supplies and games. All the arcade games worked which pleased our 11 year old. Also the dining staff were friendly and attentive. Excellent staff at the complex. Our only disappointment was they were unable to accommodate our request for joining rooms for easier access to our kids. Also the indoor pool was warm and clean but the kids area was outdated and very dark. The outdoor pools and water play area were beautiful but it was too cold for us to enjoy. We had a great stately. Super comfy bed too. Would be worth trying the spa as well. Looked very professional and clean.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sara S, Guest Relations Manager at Abbey Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Rlentz7,

Thank you for the 5-Star review. I am happy to hear that you had such an enjoyable stay, and I appreciate you sharing your comments about the outstanding service you received from our staff. We hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you and your family again.

Kind regards,
Sara Schmitz
Guest relations manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Spent a night there for a wedding and had a great time. The location is on the water with a marina and the grounds are beautiful. Although the outdoor pools were closed for the season, they have a good size one indoors. The room was clean and had a nautical decor to it. Bed was very comfortable too. I really felt I was a lot furter from home than we were. Staff was great and the food was good. We will definitely spend a weekend there next summer.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sara S, Guest Relations Manager at Abbey Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
ChiTownJo_Jo,

Thank you for your review. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and the beautiful harbor views. As you are looking to return again, might I suggest that you sign up for our online emails via our website to stay apprised of discounts and promotions we are running. We look forward to welcoming you again.

Kind regards,
Sara Schmitz
Guest relations manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013 via mobile

Spent 4 days 3 nights here. Never had a problem with anything! Service was great, food that was provided was very excellent selection. One of my top selections for hotels now in southern Wisconsin. The only down fall is they shut down the outside pools at 7pm :(

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sara S, Guest Relations Manager at Abbey Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Lewied9,

Thank you for your review. I am so pleased to hear that we are in your top selection for hotels in southern Wisconsin. We do look forward to your return stay.

Kind regards,
Sara Schmitz
Guest relations manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

We stayed at this hotel over the summer with friends. We had a great time. It is right on the water (if you are bringing a boat they have easy parking and boat lauching), and has beautiful views. The rooms were comfortable but not huge. The bathrooms were large, updated and clean. Comfortable beds too. The main bar & grill on site was nice. The food was good and the live entertainment was fun both Friday & Saturday night. Being a lake time and otherwise sleepy little town at that, the mix of people was very interesting. It was a very diverse crowd, the the live band was playing a little bit to everyone. The spa in the resort was gorgeous, albeit expensive as hotel spas generally are. Fontana is a great little place to visit, but lacks many choices for accommodations. The Abbey is a little expensive for what it has to offer, (with little competition I guess it can be), but we would stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sara S, Guest Relations Manager at Abbey Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Kbernaske,

Thank you for your review of The Abbey Resort. It sounds like you took full advantage of our resort’s offering including our spa, restaurants and nightly entertainment; and thank you for your comments about our rooms and views. You are correct it that we do have easy boat launching and docking – perfect for enjoying the Lake Geneva summer experience. We hope that you will have the opportunity to visit us again – maybe in the fall or winter to experience a different – but still very fun – time.

Kind regards,
Sara Schmitz
Guest relations manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Il
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

We had a wedding to attend at the Abbey and decided to go up for an extra day to enjoy. And enjoy, we did. The room was comfortable and cozy. Right outside was a bean bag game and the pool What more can you ask for :)

Room Tip: There are rooms on the Harbor side and the pool side. If you have kids opt for the pool side - you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sara S, Guest Relations Manager at Abbey Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Nicki001,

Thank you for your review. I am delighted to hear you had such an enjoyable stay. We hope that you have the opportunity to stay with us again.

Kind regards,
Sara Schmitz
Guest relations manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niles, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

A most memorable and enjoyable weekend. The spa, the room, the restaurants were all top-notch. We will be going back as soon as possible. If you are using the spa, ask for a room near the spa. It is quiet and you are able to go to and from the spa very easily.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sara S, Guest Relations Manager at Abbey Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Tom768,

Thank you for your review. I am pleased to hear that you were able to escape and find the R&R that you were seeking and that you are looking to return as soon as possible. To help with planning your return trip, we have just launched a great mid-week spa special -- Autumn Escape Spa Package. You can book your package online or via our 800 number (800-709-1323). Looking forward to seeing you soon.
Kind regards,
Sara Schmitz
Guest relations manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Abbey Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbey Resort & Spa

Address: 269 Fontana Blvd., Fontana, WI 53125
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Fontana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Fontana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Abbey Resort & Spa 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to the lake at one of the Midwest's most iconic destinations. Whether you are vacationing on a girlfriends' getaway, business retreat, romantic escape or fun filled family vacation, The Abbey Resort brings you the best of the Lake Geneva experience. The Abbey Resort, on the shores of beautiful Lake Geneva, features 90 acres of manicured grounds. This Lake Geneva resort features lodge inspired accommodations with contemporary conveniences and facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Abbey Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbey Hotel Fontana
Abbey Resort And Spa
Abbey Hotel And Fontana
Abbey Resort And Fontana
Abbey Wisconsin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Abbey Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.